We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Inn at Occidental is a hidden gem. Very lovely B&B and close to the ocean as well as the wine country. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage. Spacious and rooms decorated in very unique styles. Excellent condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJES75225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
226
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We drove through the most beautiful county to arrive in a lovely 2 block town were everyone knows everyone. The room was delightful, food wonderful and the owners were extreamly helpful. We tasted wine, ate like royalty, walked in the Redwoods and lunched at the ocean. It was all wonderful we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I've been meaning to write this for ages - since we've stayed twice at the Inn. I've been putting it off because I wonder if I will do it justice. Firstly Occidental is a quirky little places with a couple of lovely places to eat and gift stores. The places nestles in the countryside and is a lovely base for surrounding the local countryside or nearby vineyards or spas. I love the inn because the rooms are beautifully decorated, complete with everything you need - ours had an amazing shower, even a music cd player, logs to burn in the stove. The hosts - Jerry and Tina are very warm and offer good advice without being intrusive. There's now free wi-fi in the hotel too. A free wine reception completes things - oh and the breakfasts are to die for! We'll be back...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farfromhomeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was our first trip to Sonoma and wine country and we wanted to make it special. Part of this was finding just the right place to stay on our trip. And we found it at the Inn at Occidental. Jerry, Tina, Marilyn, Victoria and jodie all made us feel right at home. Comfortable, quiet and one of the most beautiful settings we have experienced in our travels.

If you're going to Sonoma, you should definitely spend a night (or more) here. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here with a cycling group for one night of our tour. The town is tiny but lovely. The Inn is a delightful jumble of main house and building joined by walkways. We stayed in the Wine Country room which was lovely and spacious. The big jetted tub was just what we needed after our day of cycling. We enjoyed the wine and cheese before setting off for dinner. The hosts were very attentive. Breakfast was okay. The frittata served was quite a tiny serving and not super tasty but there were a number of other items at the buffet that were good and my appetite was satisfied. A lovely little place off the beaten track.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyWestKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Delightful inn, with charming rooms and a lot of comfort. The decor focuses on American folk art, filled with some amazing, beautiful and quirky pieces. Breakfasts were terrific; my only suggestion on that front is that an option for those of us trying to eat a little less would be nice. On the other hand, everything was so delicious and well prepared, it was totally worth it. The wine and cheese in the evening was nice and the innkeepers could not have been more gracious and helpful. Their restaurant recommendations were awesome. Will definitely send friends and relatives and, I hope, ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreland Hills, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I had multiple meetings in San Fransisco, and my wife and I decided to make a vacation out of it.

We stayed in the Sandwich Glass Suite. The room was very nice. It was clean, and everything was working. It was more than roomy enough for two people. The view from the windows where the whirpool was was nice. The view was over the garden. There was one thing you had to be careful of. The window also looked over a window over the hall outside the room. When using the tub, make sure the blind is drawn or you could give someone a free show. The other strange thing about the room is an open "window" that looks over the bathroom (the tub is at the highest part of the room and overlooks the rest of the bathroom, bed and sitting area.) Couldn't quite figure why that was there unless the designer loved to bug his/her spouse when they were on the toilet. This was definately a quirky (but fun) B and B room.

The hotel's setting is beautiful. I love northern California's natural aromatherapy from the cypress and redwood trees. You won't be dissapointed staying here.

Breakfast was delicious. There were plenty of things to eat. The hot dishes (pancakes one morning and a quiche the next day which I asked at got seconds) was delicious. No complaints at all.

The wine and cheese time was fun. The inn was full when we were there, so we had plenty of time to talk to different guests from around the country. The wine and cheese were local and good. Not bad for folks like us who love wine and cheese, and not too challanging for the average guest.

Tina did a very good job of finding resturants. We talked about a drive and eating on the coast--watching the sun set while dining. She mapped out a wonderful route for me (much to my wife's chagrin!) and got to drive my rented Camero through the winding roads to the coast. The resturant's setting was beautiful and had fabulous service, but the food was not the greatest. Tina asked about the restaurant, and we told her what we liked and did not like. She suggested Bistro 29 in Santa Rosa. That restaurant was fabulous. (She also suggested a couple of wineries and a route to get to them that reminded very much of Burgundy.)

The negatives: the coffee and tea stand always ran out of the daily cookies before I got to them. The hot tub's jets got weak on the second day. It would be nice to have an outdoor tub at the inn. The internet access was weak. The only reason this was important was my and my wife's cell service did not work in Occidental. Without our discount, the price would be too high.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
12.5 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,437 reviews
0.2 km away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
121 reviews
12.0 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
32.0 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
10.1 km away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing