We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
302
50
8
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
50
8
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine countryother guestsjacuzzi tubbed and breakfastquaint townwine tastingsummer roomwine hourbodega baywe've stayedgourmet breakfastarmstrong redwoodsfront porchrussian riversan franciscolocal wineriessanta rosa
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 369 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017

We passed through Occidental years ago and remembered it as being an interesting small village in western Sononma County, so we decided to stay there for a couple of days recently. Occidental has not prospered and is no longer very interesting, but that's another story. The Inn at Occidental was probably built when the village was more attractive. In and of itself the Inn is an attractive bed and breakfast kind of place. We stayed in room 9, which was quite dark and had no view, so I wouldn't recommend it. The upstairs rooms in the courtyard building look like they would have more natural light and some view. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts are good. The wine served in the late afternoon was better than one would expect. Three of the rooms are dog friendly. The wifi wasn't working on our visit.

Room Tip: Room 9 is dark and has no view. Try a 2nd floor room in the courtyard building. All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

My family and I recently evacuated Santa Rosa. The six of us along with 2 dogs needed a place to stay yet wanted to be somewhat close to check on our homes. We called several places and they were all booked. Proprietors Terry and Jerry were able to accommodate us. The four of us and our 2 dogs stayed in the cottage while the other 2 stayed at the inn.

There was a nice happy hour hosted by Marylynn. Chef John created great breakfasts along with mini scones and afternoon cookies. He even baked dog cookies for the dogs stating at the Inn. Rafael was our breakfast host and was very warm and accommodating.

I can't say enough about the wonderful proprietors and staff.

The Inn is located in the quaint town of Occidental and is 20 minutes or less from many wineries: Marimar Torres, Littorai, Paul Mathews, Paul Hobbs, Dutton Goldfield, Red Car and Lynmar.

These folks know the true meaning of hospitality and will treat you well. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank lrhorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

Bottom line is that I think the place is significantly overpriced. It's a pleasant place and the owner/hosts are engaged, friendly, and seem serious about their product. There is a complimentary "wine pour" in the evening featuring products from local wineries (a red and a white) and the wine struck me as quite good. I don't recall any offer of local bread or cheese or other food. The couple we chatted up during the wine pour were very nice and we enjoying time with them again at breakfast. The breakfast was quite satisfactory, part buffet, part table service.
Downsides:
--Our room, almost certainly the least expensive in the B&B, would have felt over-priced at $200/night--much less the nearly $300/night we paid. It's a small room with no particularly charming or memorable features I can recall. The best feature was the bathroom. Overall the room was ok.
--The town is not a charming place. As it turned out the tavern we were directed to for dinner by our hotel hosts was closed for repairs. No joy. The town feels like more of a frontier town experience than the luxury resort experience.
A word of warning: the exterior photos of the Inn are definitely "glamor shots." I never found that sweeping lawn and fountain with all the outside seating. Well, there is something like that, it's just a lot more modest than the photos. Also true for that big front porch.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank originalcurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

After several nights in a mainstream downtown hotel in San Francisco, the Inn at Occidental provided a welcome contrast. The room quality was excellent and there is an attention to detail throughout, including a superb breakfast. There was no problem in catering for a vegetarian. The concierge was really helpful with her suggestions for where to go and what to do. Our only negative comment concerns noisy neighbours in a nearby room - both nights we were woken by shouting and loud talking at 1:00 in the morning - not a fault of the hotel though.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

The inn at occidental is a perfect getaway. Rooms are large, comfortable, and charming. We enjoyed having the jacuzzi tub, mini fridge, and porch. We were visiting to do some wine tasting but the location is good for all types of visits. The concierge was very helpful recommending local wineries and even providing a complimentary tasting pass! We loved walking through the eclectic town to get dinner and are looking forward to coming back soon! Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 13_chelsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews