We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
30
22
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
22
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two blocks cooking utensils beach theme coffee maker dunes fireplace shutters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 73 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Unit 205 was beautifully decorated in beach theme, spotless and had everything you needed, even a fireplace. We really loved Unit 205 but the deal breaker is the location. It was in a lousy area and very noisy from constant road traffic going to the Oceana beach and the dunes. The jacuzzi in the complex was filthy. The beach down the street was NOT a beach you could go and hang out for the day relaxing because of all the vehicles driving on the beach. Even though we were pleased with the actual unit we stayed in, we would not stay here again because of the location.

Room Tip: Unit 205 if you choose to stay here.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank soulsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Booked 2 nights in hopes of relaxing with my daughter who just got out of the hospital.  The room was hot and despite a thermostat with air conditioning option, there was no air conditioning. To be truthful, I did not search specifically for an air-conditioned room as I have never encountered a hotel without air, especially in California. It wasn’t even in my mind to watch for. Tried opening the window but the noise from the RV/Trailer park lot across the way was overwhelming. Found a bedbug (they claim it was a black hair which, if so, meant we were provided with dirty sheets as we both have light brown hair). When we saw the bedbug, it was 11 at night, no one on site to help, phone went unanswered. “Slept” on the couch after covering with towels to make sure there were no additional bugs. Awful night. They refuse to refund our money claiming “services rendered”. That is a joke. To compare this to a Motel 6 would be an insult to the motel. I would highly recommend avoiding at all cost! Thankfully, we got an amazing room the next day right on the beach in Pismo. Night and day in experience and location and it was less expensive than this terrible property.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rittlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby L, Customer Service Rep at Pacific Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. As you know a bed bug issue was in fact reported by you to our front desk staff, we immediately contacted our pest control company which did a full inspection of the room and nothing was found. The only thing that you left behind in the counter was a piece of hair wrap in a tissue. We do not have air conditioning in the units and it clearly states that when you made the reservation online. We are not a 24 hour hotel, but we do have an emergency phone number posted inside the units by the phone and also outside the lobby door. I'am really sorry that you feel this way but were more than kind to issue a refund for the second night stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

This motel did not clean the rooms, make beds or provide clean towels over the 3 days. Kitchen was horrible. Frying pan was filthy and nothing to clean it provided. Was unable to use kitchen. Photos were taken by maintenance man to submit for management review but management refuses to take or return my calls. NEVER AGAIN will I return! I have stayed in $30 a night rooms with far better satisfaction.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank leshowe-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby L, Customer Service at Pacific Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

We are disappointed to hear that the service wasn't to your liking and have shared this review with our entire team. We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Not sure if anyone else experienced this but coming from San Diego, I found hotel prices in SLO County to be very high. Thought this was decently priced but for nearly $170 for a Fri. night in Oct, the place was on par with a Motel 8 but with a kitchen. Our unit had grandparent mugs for our use - kind of strange. Jacuzzi is being refurbished which was so disappointing - b/c it was part of my decision to stay there. The area is a bit seedy as well but the small complex is nice. Luckily the management said they wouldn't make us stay the second night which is why I gave it a three out of five and not two. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zupiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby L, Customer Service Rep. at Pacific Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. We are disappointed to hear that the service wasn't to your liking and have shared this review with our entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

The lobby staff were very nice and helpful. We stayed for a long weekend in unit 309. This unit is on the 2nd floor, far corner on Pier Ave. Traffic was heavy during the day but quieted down after 10pm. It's a mini-apartment with a living room/kitchen area and a bedroom/bath. The bed was a king and comfortable. The kitchen had what appeared to be 4 cups, glasses, plates, etc, some flatware and cooking utensils. Just a little sparse but we didn't need much. We didn't cook there so I don't know about pots/pans. But the coffee maker was disappointing - we'd expected a full sized one and brought coffee and filters, but it was a 'motel' version - single cup with pre-packaged coffee/sugar/creamer. We ended up buying a full size coffee maker to use since we usually drink a pot of coffee in the morning. There isn't a/c but at the beach it's rarely needed. We opened the windows for cool air at night and after the traffic died down it was very quiet. We couldn't open the window over the kitchen sink since the faucet was too high to get the inside shutter open. Housekeeping was provided but it appeared only the trash was emptied. We were fine with that as we did our own dishes and straightening up. We didn't mind using our towels for a couple of days but extra washcloths would have been nice. There is plenty of parking. It's two blocks to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DisneylandGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby L, Customer Service at Pacific Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Thank you for joining us and for leaving this nice review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews