We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
135
74
24
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
74
24
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit parking lot basketball court full kitchen long stay one bedroom suite san diego daily breakfast the sofa bed living area pool area an extended stay room was spacious pizza place yogurt front desk staff great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 248 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

It's not very sunny there unless it's nice out around the area. People were nice, pool was ok and the outside pit for s'mores was an added bonus. Left my charger in the room and kept calling but cleaning person never turned it in. Nice spacious room no views just a nice clean hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank maxjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Oceanside Residence Inn. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the product and services you received at the hotel. It’s unfortunate that we were not able to locate your lost charger or have our typical sunny Southern California weather during your visit. It can sometimes take a little time for lost items to be located at the hotels. Therefore, we keep any items found for a minimum of 90 days to allow for any guest to contact the hotel regarding their missing item. We hope this information helps you locate your lost charger and we have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Scott Hausknecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in our trip to San Diego.
We liked this location because it had a continental breakfast, half-court basketball court, and a kitchenette(which came in handy). The staff were helpful and friendly. It is also surrounded by a few eateries which helps. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jkim03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Oceanside. We are glad that you were satisfied with the products and services during your visit and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the San Diego area.
Sincerely,
Scott Hausknecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2016

The staff is courteous; possibly too nice. The rooms are spacious and the beds work.
Unfortunately if you are paying over $200 a night you get one of the worse breakfasts and you eat it with people that are not properly clothed.

They need a sign no shirt, no shoes no food!

Also how does one woman show up at the pool with 5 kids the same age. Do they allow people from outside of the hotel to use the facility?

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Oceanside. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with other guests at the pool and breakfast. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate staff to ensure that we are enforcing the proper dress code in the breakfast area and monitoring the pool area for usage by registered guests only. Thank you again for sharing your experience and allowing us to make improvements. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Scott Hausknecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

I know that Residence Inn is a chain that is maybe more known for catering to families and this particular hotel is not in a heavy business area (in fact, it seemed kind of in the middle of nowhere, near some industrial buildings). But, I have to be honest as I was on business travel. The hotel is not sound-proof at all. I had the pleasure of hearing kids run up and down the halls above me while I was trying to get some work done. And then there was the screaming "Mommy!" at 3:00 a.m. Why will hotels not put families with small children on the first floor? While the halls look like they've recently been refreshed, some areas have clearly not been. The fitness room is dismal. The elliptical was in bad shape, probably 10 years old, with the TV pad hanging off the front so I kept banging my knuckles on it while I worked out. And, it had an unpleasant odor that I didn't notice anywhere else in the hotel. Housekeeping may need to brush up on cleaning skills as well. Room wasn't very clean - hairs in the bathroom, stains in and around the coffee pot. Breakfast area is super small and not easy to navigate. Maybe it was the tight space that made it seem like rude people just cut right in front of you to get stuff. I couldn't wait to leave. Unfortunately, I was stuck there for a full 18 hours en route from San Diego to LA. I will credit the staff with being friendly.

Room tip: Maybe the 4th floor if there are any rooms not occupied by families with screaming children
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkingTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear WorkingTravelMom,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at the Residence Inn Oceanside. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced from noise coming from other guests during your stay. We do tend to have more families at the hotel in the busy summer season when kids are out of school; however, this property is normally more of a business traveler hotel during the week when we are outside of peak summer season. It’s unfortunate that this issue left you with a negative impression of the hotel. The cleanliness and conditional issues that you mentioned have been reported to the appropriate departments, so immediate action can be taken to remedy. Thank you again for sharing your experience and allowing us the opportunity to make improvements.

Best Regards,
Scott Hausknecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff, hotel itself modern and very clean.

Only area that did not hold up to the Residence Inn standards I have come to know is the cleanliness of the breakfast area.
Jars that hold the brown sugar, nuts and raisins for the oatmeal were disgustingly cruddy. I can't imagine they had been cleaned properly in weeks. The outside of the black bins to hold salsa and items looked pretty cruddy as well. The back splash in the drinks fountain appeared to need a good cleaning too.
....just to name a couple of the things I saw.

I normally am 100% pleased with my stays at Residence Inn so this was a little disappointing. :(

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Arizonapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2016

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at the Oceanside Residence Inn. We are glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful and the hotel clean and modern. Please accept our sincere apologies that you didn’t have the same experience in the breakfast area. Residence Inn is getting ready to launch a new breakfast menu with all new service items in a few short weeks. We are confident that you will notice a marked improvement in your experience on your next visit. In the meantime, thank you for making sure that we don’t overlook these important details while we continue to work off the current standard. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate staff to ensure these items are addressed immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oceanside Residence Inn in the future and showing you the awesome experience that you have come to expect.

Sincerely,
Scott Hausknecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews