We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful and charming Oasis”
Review of The Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lavender Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just returned from a trip to CA having stayed at 3 distinctly different yet wonderful properties. The Lavender Inn was delightful! We stayed in the Romantic Suite because it had a king bed. The room was spacious, well appointed, clean, and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a small balcony off of it that was delightful. It is an older home that has been beautifully restored and maintained so I would disagree with some reviews that implied it was not up to snuff. The Innkeepers were lovely, extremely helpful offering suggestions for things to do, restaurants etc. The breakfasts were yummy! These ladies can cook! One morning was eggs with polenta and fresh vegetables and herbs, the other a light and fluffy frittata. My husband and I certainly enjoyed the chaise on the front porch to read and enjoy the sound of the fountain, (both of us were lulled to sleep by it)! The gardens are beautiful, freeform and full of herbs and flowering plants. The backyard offers a large porch and also several seats tucked into the landscape where we enjoyed our wine and cheese in the afternoon. We both like to be active and found the shelf trail that was recommended a good way to burn off some calories and offer beautiful vistas of the entire Ojai valley. Walking to dinner every night is a treat and we actually went to the same place twice because it was so wonderful, sat outside on a lovely patio and enjoyed dinner made with fresh, local fish and vegetables. We walked around the Ojai Inn and resort, just to see what others had fussed about, and both said how much we preferred the comfort and coziness of the Lavender to the pretentious pomp.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMCFairfax_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I attended a wedding at Gridley Ranch and stayed at the Lavender Inn for one night. This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised. My room (Tree House) was clean, comfy bed, and had serene views of the backyard from two large windows. I shared a bathroom with another room, accessible from one door in the hallway. The Inn is walking distance to the parking lot where the bus picked us up to go to Gridley Ranch. Breakfast was also delicious and I enjoyed dining on the patio in the morning. Staff was friendly including the adorable dog. Great experience!

Room Tip: Tree House is a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLadyinoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We chose the Lavender Inn for our Sons wedding and could not be happier with the outcome. Perfect location and walking distance to restaurants, shops and stores. The staff was incredible and accommodating. The property was perfect for our wedding with 90 guests and the fact that we could stay at the property, made preparation easy and relaxed. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the property is beautiful and relaxing. We would do this again without question and look forward to going back even for a weekend to relax and enjoy the quaint town of Ojai. A great value and the perfect location for a wedding!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room # 3 with a small balcony overlooking the garden and a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My daughter was recently married at the Lavender Inn and thanks to the wonderful staff, beautiful and comfortable accommodations, it was a wedding to remember! We booked the wedding venue for the rehearsal, wedding and reception. The wedding venue is located in a beautifully landscaped, enclosed yard with water features, trees, flowers and shrubs. You would never know you are in the center of Ojai, quiet and relaxing. We also booked the seven rooms within the Inn and the adjoining cottage. Basically, we had the entire place to ourselves and Beth and Vanessa made us feel as though it was our own. The mornings greeted us with wonderful homemade breakfasts, fresh squeezed juices, and hot coffee. In the afternoons the Inn offered complimentary wine and cheese. The Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants and shops. We hated to leave, but will certainly be back. If you are looking for a getaway that is just a short driver north of Los Angeles, a place where you can really unwind and relax, this is the place. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lavender Inn is one of the nicest places I ever stayed. The calm grounded atmosphere, the beauty of the land, the outstanding breakfast (Vanessa is a 5 star chef!), the afternoon wine and cheese buffet ... it is just a dream come true. The rooms are lovely, calm and I slept like a baby. It is my second stay at Lavender Inn and I will definitively come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lavendar Inn and loved it. It's in an excellent location - 1 block off of the main drag - and within walking distance of good restaurants, art galleries and wine bars. The Inn itself is very charming - a beautiful old home with a wide staircase, comfortable living room, and a very roomy deck and garden area. We stayed in the Topa Room which has a very spacious bathroom and a balcony which we enjoyed wine on in the evening. The Topa Room is on the street side and while you do get some street noise, it was not bothersome to us. The Innkeepers were very friendly and breakfast was outstanding. In particular, Vanessa makes a killer meal that is as lovely to look at as it is to eat. All in all, a very comfortable stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent a few days at Lavendar Inn for our anniversay and it was absolutely beautiful!! Our room was lovely, and we completely adored sitting out in the wicker chairs on our little balcony over looking the gardens...with our coffee in the mornings and a glass of wine in the early evenings. The breakfasts and the evening appetizers that Vanessa prepared each day were amazing!! She was so sweet to us and made us feel really special!! We definitely will return soon!

Room Tip: Every room is beautifully decorated but we thought the rooms over looking the gardens, the pond and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindagil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.4 km away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
507 reviews
0.2 km away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
186 reviews
1.1 km away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.6 km away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,723 reviews
3.2 km away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#4 of 9 in Ojai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Inn

Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023-2722 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: $147 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic or outdoor adventure getaway, Girls Night Inn, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our guests to relax in or for a memorable setting for GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle contemporary twist. Both BREAKFASTS and HAPPY HOUR with appetizers, wine, and local craft beer on tap are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. We offer cooking classes in our kitchen, OJAI CULINARY SCHOOL. This is our 10th year of InnCourage, our CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing