We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B Mother Daughter Get-Away”
Review of The Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Charming B&B central to all the shopping and restaurants. Everything is within walking distance. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The Inn was very quaint and charming. Felt like I was at home in grandma's house. Grounds were beautiful. Lots of flowers and cozy places to sit and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Very relaxing! Nice breakfast included and evening wine & cheese. Highly recommend the Lavender Inn!! Sunday Farmers market is fun to attend. Shops don't open til later so you an sleep in and or go for a hike and walk around the town later in the day. Town is small so 1 day is plenty for shopping but there are some nice local spas you can go to as well. Really enjoyed our stay in Ojai and at the Lavender Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the Inn off the street are quieter. Nice to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

As many-time visitors to the Lavender Inn and to Ojai, my husband and I experienced
a wonderful weekend of lovely breakfasts, afternoon happy-hours,an Italian Cooking Class, and great conversations with fellow story-tellers attending the Story-teller Festival.
Our stay was highlighted by an unexpected upgrade/move to the Cottage where we enjoyed being the only guests at the Inn while renovations were underway.
The hospitality of the Innkeepers and staff made our weekend so enjoyable!!!
Janet and Chuck Johnson, Redondo Beach, CA

Room Tip: View online to find your favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jjohnson310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietor210, Owner at The Lavender Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Janet and Chuck, so nice to have you at the Inn again. We closed the Inn for a bit of updating, but you already had your reservation. Later I found out the remodel was not going to be intrusive for guests. Oh well, you had the Inn to yourself and even more attention than ever from the innkeepers and me as well. I so enjoyed talking to you and cracking up seeing his card (which I've kept and show everyone). See you in a few months!
Warmly,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The Lavender Inn is close to town, the Sunday Farmers Market and Barts Books. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. We were greeted each day and answered questions as if they never answered them to anyone else before. The breakfasts and happy hour food and drink was very classy. They have one room that allows dogs (which we had). We were given dog bowls and doggie treats each day. A wonderful place. Whenever we travel to Ojai we will definitely stay at the Lavender Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boohuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely location downtown but off the Main Street. The staff was great and wonderful accommodations. Rooms feel so comfy and peaceful. Great historical place lovely ❤️garden and breakfast Is delicious. We can't wait to return again someday. Best place to stay. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KonaKawika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Nice atmosphere, best breakfast we had in our whole trip across the country, pleasant staff, comfortable room. They hosted a family wedding, from beginning to end, and it was very well done in all respects. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thersh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We found this inn by sheer chance whilst having a coffee in Ojai. 8 different rooms all beautifully furnished. A lovely extended family atmosphere with a kettle, teas and a fridge available downstairs. Tables and chairs in the lovely garden for you to eat at. A hammock sun-loungers and shaded seating alongside fountains and lights, very tastefully placed.
A healthy hearty breakfast and tapas and wine in the evening.
On our last morning we left early before breakfast and home made quiches, fruit , yoghurt and muesli were left for our journey.
Staff were so attentive and friendly. Overall a lovely 3 days in one of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank la0neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My wife and I had an intimate wedding at the Lavender Inn, and we could not have asked for a better experience. Beth did a great job officiating the ceremony, and she ensured we were able to check in a little earlier than usual to prepare for the wedding. Plus, she provided sparkling wine, cheeses, snacks, and fruit afterwards for us to enjoy. Our wedding guests loved the rooms, the delicious breakfast, and the central location of the inn within downtown Ojai. Plus, the cottage is such a beautiful and cozy place to have to yourself. We would love to be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyyy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.4 km away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
506 reviews
0.2 km away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
186 reviews
1.1 km away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.6 km away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,723 reviews
3.2 km away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Inn

Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023-2722 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: $147 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic or outdoor adventure getaway, Girls Night Inn, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our guests to relax in or for a memorable setting for GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle contemporary twist. Both BREAKFASTS and HAPPY HOUR with appetizers, wine, and local craft beer on tap are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. We offer cooking classes in our kitchen, OJAI CULINARY SCHOOL. This is our 10th year of InnCourage, our CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing