We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Service is five stars, rooms are three stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Service is five stars, rooms are three stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have been to many Four Sisters Inn properties over more than 20 years. 20 years ago, we found the Gosby House charming, but as we have aged over time, so have the rooms. We are frequent Carmel, Monterey and PG visitors and I am starting to think this is normal for the area, that the inns just don't feel the need to update.

We definitely enjoyed our deck with the bit of view and sat out there both in the morning and in the evening (the rooms with the decks are in the Carriage House).

The town is cute and there are some great restaurants (Joe Rombi's, Passion Fish, the Little Red House..) The walk along Lover's Point and around the bay to the ocean is one of the best in the area.

Would we stay there again, probably because the staff is friendly and the breakfast included is a nice value. We just love the area, but still haven't found the type of place you can find in the wine country.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaggiatoreSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    128
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
327
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My wife and I spent a night at the Gosby House Inn and loved it! It's located in Pacific Grove and a short 20 min walk to the Aquarium and great restaurants nearby. We wanted to borrow their bikes for our Aquarium visit but one of them was broken. Fortunately, the walk is a leisurely stroll through a neighborhood of historic homes. The complimentary afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres and the next day's breakfast were fulfilling and well worth the price of our stay. Next time we might try their sister property, the Green Gables Inn which was right on the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLODVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marly-le-Roi, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Large 'impersonal' B&B centrally located within a few blocks of Lover's Point Park. Had a lovely room with a fireplace, Young woman who arrived at the reception in the late afternoons was helpful however day-time person could have been friendlier. Not all the household staff was friendly. Turn-down service was spotty. Muzak at breakfast was awful! More attention to little 'details' (such as a smile!) would have made the stay more memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marley78160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay in the Judge Langford room. It had plenty of space for what we needed and the bathroom was good sized. The breakfast was great (loved the fresh muesli), the happy hour and late night sherry and treats were a plus. The location was good; its such a small town it's hard to pick a bad spot. Its a short walk to Lovers Point and less than a 5 minute drive to the Aquarium and Cannery Row.

We are relatively new to the B&B experience, but we would definitely recommend and stay again. They are always offering specials as well, so very affordable for two nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

That the room was right on the street and very noisy. Between the noise and the street lights coming through the shades it was a very miserable night. I so wish they would have let us know that before we booked the room. Traffic all night and trash truck below us at 6 am on Saturday! I was very unhappy and went to the front desk where I was told that they have "never" had a complaint about noise in that room. If that is true, they don't sell this room very often. They did offer to move us to another location since they were sold out but that was too much hassle with all our gear already unpacked. So, we had to suffer through another long noisy night. This room was very expensive ($200). I think the most expensive in the Inn. I think they should have offered us some type of discount and definitely should have told us before we booked the room that is was right on the street. While the Inn was nicely decorated and in a good central location I was very unhappy with the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Gosby House Inn on a Saturday night in early August, 2011. It was a very nice and well run bed and breakfast. They had tea and snacks at check-in in the late afternoon, sherry and snacks in the evening, and a turn-down service if you are out for dinner. One of the nice things about this place is that it was one of the few B&B's in the area that don't have a two night minimum on summer weekends. We only had one night to spend in the area as we had to be back in SF for our flight home on Sunday. Compared to most other B&B's I had seen, the price seemed quite affordable. It is a bit more of a "commercial" establishment (rather than a private home) and may not be "over the top" as one of the more luxurious B&B's, but it was a great option for something better than a chain hotel by the highway and the wide selection of very expensive options in the Monterey area.

The Inn is decorated in the traditionally elaborate Victorian style. We had the Hemingway room, which is in the turret over the front porch (right at the top of the stairs). There is no elevator, but there were several rooms on the ground level, some with their own private entrances. Our room was a one of the less expensive ones, because it was smaller, and the bath and toilet (in separate rooms) were across the hall (but not shared). We could even see the ocean from our room (but only a glimpse).

The Inn is located right on main street of Pacific Grove. We really loved the location. There are several well reviewed restaurants within a few blocks. Our meal at Passionfish was the best meal of our whole trip (see separate review). We only stayed one night and didn't have much time to explore Pacific Grove. Nevertheless, we found that we really like the town. It was much quieter than the very busy Monterey, and not as "precious" as Carmel. The drive along the coast through town (just a few blocks from the Inn) is spectacular, and free.

There were only two drawbacks. One was a lack of parking. We got lucky and found a parking place on the side road adjacent to the Inn. This is a narrow one way street, so you have to drive around the block take it down to the Inn. The other problem was that the public rooms downstairs played this saccharine background Muzak all the time. It kind of got on my nerves.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todd c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94061
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We love staying at B&B's. We stayed in the Carriage House. It was a nice treat to walk into the room & find balloons (from the staff) & a cheese/cracker basket from my parents for our Anniversary. The jacuzzi tub was great! Breakfast was delicious with daily favorites & one main dish that changed daily. The staff was friendly & helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.8 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.9 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.5 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.4 km away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 643 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing