We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
199
300
188
82
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
300
188
82
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining hall social hall julia morgan the main lodge historic rooms cafeteria style state park arts and crafts sand dunes conference grounds rustic charm family reunion rent bikes hearst castle roaring fire ping pong the pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 859 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2015

I first went to Asilomar for a conference years ago and since have returned more than several times. Some times on my own, or with friends, a lover, or my children. (not all at once). The rooms are simple, the family style breakfast scene is old school, and the prices are great for the fantastic location. There is no TV, no Spa, no extras, just a simple place to stay in one of the most beautiful locations in the world. Its romantic in that you're a 5 minute walk to a beach with tide pools etc. You can bring a bottle of wine to enjoy on your porch-its an ideal place to do some watercolors, read, write, hike, go to the beach. And when you want to head to town and be a tourist its an easy drive from this quiet peaceful simple good place. September is really the ideal time to go-

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the historic buildings. The place was built by Mrs Hearst as the Women's Camp, designed by Julia Morgan (who then became the architect for Hearst Castle), it is all about honoring rustic simplicity-the modernizations were not done w/any great taste or style over the years and are somewhat bland-but I don't mind.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colorhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2015

I was here for a conference and found everything to be great. The rooms were nice and clean (and so relaxing not having a television). There was a nice little balcony to enjoy the weather. The meeting rooms were just as nice if not better as I've seen in big hotels. The food was between good and excellent. The staff at the on site restaurant were able to seat and feed the 900+ in our conference. Everyone did a great job. The location is also ideal. Walking to the meeting room I often ran into deer and other small animals that had no fear of humans. The beach is also a short walk and there is a great path to walk along the beach. I would love to return with my family sometime.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank rajah1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2015

Came here for a meeting in March after a long Midwestern winter. A long trip from SFO but used Monterey Airbus (great service and totally reliable) so it wasn't too bad to get here. Weather was perfect, cool mornings/evenings and warm afternoons. Nice cafe in the main building will serve you a giant pour of wine so that you can sit on their back deck and stare at the sunset over the Pacific. Hard to improve on this.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2015

I attended a meeting here in March. The facilities are OK but the physical setting is stunning. You are right off the beach with evergreens all around. The main building has a bar where one can buy beer/wine, take this to the Adirondack chairs on the deck behind and watch the sun recede into the Pacific. Spectacular and worth the cost. I would be delighted to attend another meeting here anytime. The staff is also quite friendly.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2015

Family, friends, and my wife have been to Asilomar many times, usually to stay in one of the historic, fireplace, or ocean view rooms... Now that they've added a new cafe in the main Lodge, it's also a wonderful place just to drive to, buy a beverage, and take out on the grand porch/veranda, sit in one one of the marvelous Adirondack chairs, and watch the sun descend into the Pacific Ocean... If it's too cloudy for Sunset, there are many walking trails through the wildflowers in the dunes, where you often see deer, birds, and other wildlife...

Room Tip: Ask for fireplace with Ocean views... Second floor rooms are quietest...
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayinSF415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews