We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you're looking for a place close to the ocean, quiet and somewhat affordable, this is the place for you. You're off the beaten path here, yet close to downtown Pacific Grove, 17 Mile Drive, Asilomar Beach, Monterey and Carmel. The staff is friendly and the beds are very comfortable. They even put us in a suite for no additional charge.

Room Tip: The Queen/King suite was perfect.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our second stay at the hotel. We stayed over Christmas. Seems to be the best value in the area for having two separate bedrooms. Very pleasant and quiet location. The innkeepers are very pleasant. Check-in and check-out is very fast. We had a two bedroom suite with a king bed in one room and two twin beds. We definitely will return again.

Room Tip: Secod story room towars back is extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rev_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We booked this hotel after looking for a place online to stay while visiting the Montery area. The price was great and it was nice that we could get 2 bedrooms for cheaper then others with only one bedroom. It was great that the kids could have their own area. It is well off the beaten path of other hotels and it was clean(which is always my main concern). It was older and had a musty smell in the hallways due to age, and the vent in the bathroom was falling out of the ceiling....but it was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room and each room had its own tv, so my kids could watch what they wanted. The breakfast in the morning was nothing specail, but was nice to have it included in the price. We would stay here again when returning to Montery since you cannot beat the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horseloverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I loved this place. I am a mother of two little boys, 3 & 5, and there is nothing worse than at the end of a long day having two little boys cramped up in a hotel room and making sure they don't stomp hard or yell too loud. We have stayed at the nicest hotels on cannery row and spent a mint. I happened to find this online out of the blue. I seen the pictures for the King size bedroom suite. This room is fantastic. It used to be a condo and now converted into hotel rooms. They are built with high ceilings and the room I was in was very spacious. It had a nice fireplace, a full kitchen (and I mean full, oven, dishwasher, microwave, large refrigerator!) It was so nice sitting in the kitchen area and having a nice table to sit and eat breakfast at. The original living space now had a king size bed..and the bed was comfortable. Walking up a few steps and you also had another sitting area where the couch converted into a bed. Okay, not so comfortable, but what couch converted into a bed is? I've stayed at 4 star hotel rooms, and none of the couches that converted into beds were comfortable..that's just life. We had our little boys sleep there with no problems. In fact, they loved the idea of being close, but not too close to us and having their own separate TV!

Yes, it could use a makeover, but I liked the rustic appeal and everything was clean and they were even nice enough to have dishes and pans ready if you needed them. You can walk out into a balcony area that sits a table and four chairs and we can look into a nice woody area, very quiet and relaxing.

I have to say that I felt very bad for the owner who had to deal with these RUDE women who were in the check out room before me and DEMANDED that they only pay for one night because they felt that the pull out bed on the couch was very uncomfortable. I couldn't help but listen to the owner describe how she told them before they stayed there that the couch was not as comfortable as the bed. It did not matter. All three of these women were vicious and that they will "STOP PAYMENT IMMEDIATELY." I felt embarassed for them. This poor lady being yelled at remained calm and classy and just nodded and listened. Very sad.

5 stars all around. If you have young ones I do not think you'll be disappointed by the space and feel that you're in an apartment instead of a hotel. Just that freedom alone was wonderful. Also, being able to purchase peanut butter & jelly, milk and snacks and keep everything fresh was a plus. The free breakfast..great. You can make your own fresh waffles and they were delicious.

We will surely be back again. Thanks to all the nice people who run this place, we had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robdena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Best things about this inn: nestled in nature, and close to beautiful Sunset Drive and Cannery Row. Biggest complaint: When heating or air conditioning came on, it sounded like what you would hear if you were sitting inside a plane and the jets would start up - I needed earplugs at night.

What also wasn't so great: shower temperature would drop a lot when toilet was flushed, and continental breakfast only consisted of various sugary carbs (cereals, pastries, but no meat or even fresh fruit).

The manager is nice enough, though. And we didn't mind giving her our business. But overall, this inn was functional, but not spectacular relative to other places I've stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Having stayed the previous year in a very sub standard place (see review - still fuming about treatment), I was quite careful about booking this time. I cannot recommend more highly a visit to Pacific Grove and this time I took my teenage son. This HoJo was a most pleasant find and surprise and I would recommend it highly. Spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation, set next to the woods and surrounded by lovely hotel gardens, it was a complete contrast to the previous hotel stay round the corner. PG is expensive so this seemed good value. Only one minus perhaps - the breakfast offerings were the usual artificial/packaged stuff, no different than a lot of other motels, but my recommendation is to make coffee in the room and head up, preferably on foot in order to enjoy the wonderful walking scenery and lovely houses, to Holly's Lighthouse Cafe for a real treat of a meal. Yum! I love you Pacific Grove!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank californian1inlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This place is a complete dive, the hotel room smelled of mold and when i went to take a shower there was black mold in the shower, yes black mold, i actually took a picture of it. Tried to complain to howard johnsons and they say they do not own the place so they gave me the number of they owner, well the number they gave me was disconnected.

Now they are giving me the run around and will not talk to me. Please beware, do not stay here, complete disaster, so many better places to stay then here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
823 reviews
2.9 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.1 km away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
285 reviews
3.4 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,627 reviews
1.0 km away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $172 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing