We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I wanted to get away from downtown SF and enjoy the sound of the surf. The Lighthouse did both of those things for me. The hotel is old, but the room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. My only complaint would be that the desk clerk who checked me in never mentioned anything about breakfast and by the time I arrived that first night, I was too tired to think to ask. I believe they have a free breakfast, but I'm not sure. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the SF are. The drive to downtown is not bad at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thanks for sharing your opinion of our hotel. I agree, you definitely should have been informed that our restaurant does offer breakfast each morning. It is currently not included in the room rate, but is available to everyone. Thank you for choosing the Lighthouse Hotel for your trip to the SF area, we hope to have you back soon. Happy New Year!
Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    373
    165
    65
    42
See reviews for
314
420
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Murieta
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We visited this week after we were able to catch a great rate during the BW "Cyber-Monday" sale a month ago. We were very pleased when we ended up with a first floor room with a great ocean view. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom and shower we excellent. The only issue we had was the wifi was spotty at times and virtually non-existent in the evenings. Other than that we couldn't have been happier with our stay. All the support staff we dealt with went out of their way to make our stay a positive experience.
We are already looking for dates for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldNorCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lighthouse Hotel. Stay tuned for specials coming up in the beginning of the year. Happy New Year!
Sincerely, Nicole Yarbrough Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel is right on Rockaway beach in Pacifica.There was plenty too do with my 2 labs. Hiking trails both sides of the hotel and the small beach in front.I had a 3rd floor room & the dogs love the elevator ride.Clean and large sized room for us.Everyone was nice & I would say it was a good experience.

Room Tip: You have to get at least a partial view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Everyday we enjoy and appreciate this wonderful location we are lucky to come to everyday. This area is definitely really great for the 4 legged family members with the need to be out and about. I am glad you all enjoyed your time here in Pacifica. Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers, we appreciate you taking the time. Happy New Year!
Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for a brief trip to the area to visit family. We didn't spend a large amount of time in the room but wish we could have because it was so spacious and comfortable. We slept with the door open just to listen to the waves crashing on the shore - so amazing! Great little shops and restaurants within a short walk. The staff was extraordinarily helpful and hospitable. We'll be back, without a doubt!

Room Tip: Our room had a partial view of the ocean and was spectacular even though we weren't right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Happy New Year! Thansk for sharing your fellings about your stay, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Lighthouse Hotel. There is really something special about this area we are lucky to be in. Hope the family is well and I hope you all have a prosperous new year! Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Montana
Level Contributor
192 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

This Hotel is situated by the ocean. Note not all rooms have a good view and none have a real balcony. Its view or partial view only. The hotel is clean and has good linnen and bed. It was a one nite stopover on the way home and it is 9 miles to SFO an easy drive and a way betetr stay than near the airport whre there is no view. Room has flat screen T-V and a small frige.
The hotel had continental breakfast and it was good.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unckebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Thank you fo taking the time to review us, we greatly appreciate it. You will have to come back and check out the new restaurant that opened today, the Moonraker. Happy Holidays!!!
Sincerely, Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here with our dog for Thanksgiving. Had a comfortable room with a wonderful view of the impressive waves. The exterior of the hotel is worn and weathered from taking the beating of the ocean mist and fog, but our room was quite large and comfy. Free Wifi and ample parking made for a nice stay. Only inconvenience was that there was only one elevator that was old and slow and made it challenging to take the dog out.

If we have a long weekend we will probably stay again. I love falling asleep to the crash of the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lighthouse447, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience with other interested travelers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the beach. Fortunately we have plans to update the exterior this spring so we are really looking forward to that. You will have to come back and visit and see what we have done with the place. Thanks again for choosing the Lighthouse Hotel during your travels, we appreciate it.
Sincerely,
Nicole Yarbrough
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinktie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We requested ocean view and got it. The lack of air conditioning was a problem. There was just no air circulation or air exchange in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacifica
1.2 km away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
12.2 km away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
20.6 km away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
11.9 km away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
8.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Address: 105 Rockaway Beach Ave, Pacifica, CA 94044-3253
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pacifica
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pacifica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A San Francisco Bay area hotel located at Rockaway Beach in Pacifica, California, the Best Western Lighthouse offers 97 superior guestrooms and 21 spacious suites. Relax in our Pacifica hotel and enjoy breathtaking Pacific views, take a refreshing walk along the beach, or explore the endless Pacifica attractions including the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve and the Pacifica Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Best Western Lighthouse
Best Western Pacifica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing