We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly Managed/ Lot's of Garbage/ Dirty Rooms/ bed bugs!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poorly Managed/ Lot's of Garbage/ Dirty Rooms/ bed bugs!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Room was dirty when we checked in. Door lock on the patio did not work well and we had to beg for a comforter and blankets for the sofa bed. There was old wet towels and bottles left in the park areas of the resort. Gym equipment was broken and no air conditioning. After calls to management it was sorted out but not a great start to the trip. Found out later when we got home that we had bed bug bites! Ouch! Hopefully they can sort the place out.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Motelmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    363
    125
    74
    46
See reviews for
460
337
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Susan_ikt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Funny that we stayed at the same resort as those with the negative reviews, but we had a wonderful experience.  And we travel frequently, having spent over a week in March at the Ritz in D.C. and last year at the Waldorf Astoria in New Orleans, and frequent stays in Marriott properties and small boutique hotels in Napa and the SF Bay Area.  Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed and was impressed with all aspects of our visit at the Marriott Shadow Ridge.  Our room was excellent - clean, great kitchen layout and equipment, very comfy bed, and wonderful balcony and bath. The reception staff were wonderful, and the assistance with locating golf and restaurants in the area was much appreciated. I ran through the beautiful and safe grounds in the morning, played golf locally during the day, and enjoyed our balcony with wine and to-go food each evening. The staff were attentive and helpful - I'm not sure what more I could ask for during a vacation. Oh, and the Internet worked perfectly with my IPad each
day.  Consider visiting the Costco just 1 mile away to pick up some essentials, and experience a value vacation that feels so relaxing and decadent without the huge price tag!  I plan to return as soon as I can!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan_ikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My family stayed here in February 2011. We have 2 teenagers and one 8 year old. Everyone had a great time. We loved, loved, loved our accommodations! We were able to cook, do laundry and grill meals outside. The resort is conveniently located to many stores and close to the highway as well. The golf was great too! The entire resort is beautiful. We will be back again next February!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeswatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We booked here because everyplace else was booked because of Coachella Music Fest. I don't know what most people like for a vaction but this place falls far short of my expectations. The people who work here are ALL very nice and helpful. The place is clean & well maintained...BUT...the first morning we were here we were awaken at 7AM by maintenance working using incredibly loud tools on the golf course right outside our window. The walls are so thin we can hear our neigbors as though they were in the room with us. The hot water is luke warm. Traffic sounds are deafening..although to be fair, not all the rooms are as close to the busy road as ours. The resort itself is just a bunch of closely crowded buildings and parking lots. It feels more like a condo complex than a vacation resort.The so called "jogging path" is just the walkway through the parking lots. There are some too small, too crowded pools, most so far from the units you need to drive or take a shuttle to them, the gym is just OK, no spa. I don't play golf but I hear the course is good although when my husband went to the driving range at 4:30 he was told it was closed!. We're here for a conference at another resort. If I had come here for a vacation I'd be VERY disappointed

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We have been going to Shadow Ridge for nine years, and it is now apparent that the resort has gone sharply downhill and is under poor management. The list of problems mounted during our stay: the wi-fi was down for parts of almost every day during our three week visit; we were first placed in a handicapped room without being told, so the shower was at chest height; the sole elevator for the building was out of service for four days, forcing us to walk up and down to the third floor with packages, etc.; the fire alarm went off while cooking dinner, and it took eight minutes to reach anybody on the phone (so much for "At Your Service"), and the condo unit itself was looking well worn. All in all, this Marriott has a long way to go to be considered a luxury property.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamberg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My fiance and I spend 2 nights here and had to extend our visit by a 3rd. The resort is conveniently 25 minutes from palm springs. It has beautiful grounds, we fell in love with the pool, which we named the baths! It must have been heated to a good 87 F, which made evening and night swimming bliss on earth with the stars shining bright. Beautifully lit, and surprisingly empty after 10pm, we didn't want to get out. There are 2 hot Jacuzzis to your disposal.

Also, next to it is the evenly large pool for kids with a slide, a water park with water cannons and other goodies. Ah to be a kid again. A short ride away are another set of pools with Jacuzzis for your enjoyment. The hotel grounds are expansive so make sure u have a tour, walking in the day sun is too much opt out for a shuttle or your car.

Great snow capped mountain views surround u.

The wild bunnies r surely amusing as they hop around everywhere.

We r hoping to visit here sometime soon. That pool awaits. Ahhhhhh.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCKFORD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Wonderful! I was nervous as I have never stayed here before, but, Wow! I loved it as did my 3 teenage kids. I have one teenager in a wheelchair and he had a great time. If you didn't want the crowd of the teenage pool, you could go to the "Quiet" pool. You can also visit 3 more pools. Rooms were spacious, bed comfortable, --we stayed in two room villa. Maid service not included but they came every morning to make beds and empty trash! A host of restaurants near by, Walmart SuperCenter wi/mile. Golf, movies, tram, mountains, no bugs, and Sun! Would stay here in a heart beat again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3000 block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halle006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
2.4 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.2 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.0 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
3.7 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing