We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for breakfast or lunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Cafe

The Palms Cafe
Ranked #28 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calif.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for breakfast or lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The pancakes were yummy and the bacon was cooked perfectly, just the right amount of crisp! The place was tricky to find. It's tucked in the corner between Michaels and Trader Joe's and you can't really see it from the parking lot. We noticed the crowd outside waiting and figured this was the place. The wait was about 20 minutes. They had patio seating and indoor seating. They could have used one more waitress. The poor woman was running around covering too many tables and even bussing tables! Even so the service was pretty good thanks to her efficiency! I would go again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j9calgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    57
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Wonderful breakfast!! It is hard to find, tucked into the corner of the shopping area and not really visible from the parking lot, but worth the trouble to find it. The banana walnut pancakes were the best we have ever had, the omelets, eggs, and plain pancakes also were wonderful. Plus, they get the little things right, like having a nice selection of jams and marmalades. The service was prompt and the outdoor seating area very quaint. Definitely will return!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Outdated and not good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Came here for breakfast and was disappointed. The service was slow, the food was just average and it reminded me of an old folks home

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in PD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Every time we go to the Palm Springs area, we must stop at the Palm Cafe. Great breakfast place. My favorite is the whole wheat, banana pancake. I only order one because that's plenty. My mouth is watering just thinking about that place!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
173 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tricky to Find But Worth the Trouble”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We read about the Palms Cafe and set out to find it. Using our GPS led us to a shooping center, where we found the Cafe tucked away in the south east corner. We found the service to be very good and the cafe very nice inside. My wife had the Huevos Ranchero and loved them. The waiter said that the Ranchero Sauce was made fresh in the cafe daily and it tasted like it. I had an omelet which was also wonderful. Have an adventure and find this nice little cafe.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palms Cafe also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to The Palms Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing