We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for an overnight pit stop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Phoenix
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great for an overnight pit stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I was on the way to Ontario, California from Phoenix for business had to take my pet with me. I was suprised to learn that Motel 6 will allow any size of animal in a room at NO additonal charge. Some hotels/motels can charge up to $150.00 per night, so that is a bonsus. It is a very basic set-up, so don't expect anything. Checkin at 1000P was through a plexiglass bank window which kinda of raises your eyebrow concerning security.

The room rate was exceptional. The room was clean and the bed was minimally comfortable. The walls are somewhat thin, next time I would request a room on the second floor as there is allot of noise when rooms face the parking lot. The AC unit worked fine in my room. The shower could have used a bit more pressure

They did have free coffee in the lobby in the morning.

The pool is a moderate size and is open all day. There is not a fitness room, so I went running in the morning,(My dog was not unattended). It is located in a great neighborhood of Palm Desert,since my run allowed an experience of the neighborhood first hand. There are several places to have breakfast, lunch or dinner within a healthy walking distance or 10 minute drive.

I would give this property my repeat business.

Room Tip: Request room on second floor for a more quiet environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Escapefromthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
14
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here overnight while travelling north. A typical no-frills Motel 6, just off I-10, but with no disturbance from traffic noise.
The ground floor room was clean, but in the full afternoon sun. On check-in we were warned "not to change the air conditioning settings as the AC unit would freeze up if adjusted ...". Well our room was hot & getting hotter, so we nudged the AC up which made little difference. Over a few hours we nudged it up further until it was on full & it was evident that the AC just couldn't cope with the heat. The dire warning of it freezing up just didn't happen. Eventually once the sun moved off and darkness fell it finally gained the upper hand and cooled the room to a more bearable temperature.
Would we stay there again? Might consider in an emergency situation if NO OTHER option was available. Otherwise..not a chance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

This is a clean quiet place for an overnight stay. It is a highway motel, empty during the day. If you are staying in the area longer than a day I would suggest the Motel 6 Downtown in Palm Springs about 25 minutes away. Palm Springs is less windy and you will find the pool can be used all day. In Palm Desert it was too windy to use the pool most days. At this motel you will need to drive for all meals.

My complaints are that for tall people the shower head is too low. Water pressure is not great and the sink tap has a series of fine sprays, most likely to save water but making it difficult to get a good rinse of the tooth brush or fill a cup of water.

I stayed there 3 nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

As a business traveler, I have stayed at some of the best hotels around. However, when it comes to me paying for the room, I shop around.

This motel 6 was a great deal for the money (paid $76 with my AARP discount). Room was remodeled and refreshed - looked great. The 2 full size beds were ok, and the tv had HBO and worked fine. Plus it was only 7 miles away from the Fantasy Springs Casino - close!

Again, very pleased with the hotel - no frills but so what - the hotel next door was $100 more! My only recommendation would be to get a queen bed, which is probably better than the full size for comfort.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keechee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We were traveling through the Palm Springs area and needed to stop for one night. All moderate priced hotels were full, so we opted for a Motel 6 and crossed our fingers. We don't mind economy hotels for a one night stay if they are clean.... not that this was what I would call economy -- $70 AAA. I personally did not sleep much at all that night because all I could smell was stale perfume. I think it was in the sheets and then began to wonder if the sheets had been changed. There was Internet service for a fee which is a little annoying. I don't think we'll be staying at any more Motel 6s.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank semaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We just needed a place to sleep for a few hours on our drive to the coast. I thought the room was clean and in good condition. A good value for the one night stop.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

This Motel 6 is one of the best Motel 6s I have ever stayed in. I do a lot of road travel between San Jose, CA and Tucson, AZ. The Palm Springs area is the midway point in the trip and all I want is a clean, quiet, comfortable, basic hotel to stay one night and continue my trip the next morning. This Motel 6 is perfect for this purpose.
I have stayed in many Motel 6s and unfortunately the quality is not always good. Therefore it is important for those of who are interested in good budget travel to inform one another of good hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
7.6 km away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
8.8 km away
Royal Plaza Inn
Royal Plaza Inn
#10 of 16 in Indio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.5 km away
The Inn at Deep Canyon
The Inn at Deep Canyon
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area

Property: Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area
Address: 78100 Varner Rd, I-10 at Washington Street, Palm Desert, CA 92211-1117
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Motel Six Palm Desert
Palm Desert Motel Six
Palm Desert Motel 6
Motel 6 Palm Desert - Palm Springs Area California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing