We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Always a good time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Always a good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I've stayed here a few times and have never had a bad experience, golf course is nice and fun! Huuuuge pool, with a 12 foot deep end(which u never see anymore) and a lot of nice open space! Rooms are great too

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyhenryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management M, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thanks for visiting Shadow Mountain again. We appreciate our return guests and value your comments. Our pool is still one of the largest in the desert, and definitely one of the deepest from 3-12 feet! Did you know we keep it heated all year at 80 degrees, and it is salt water treated? We hope to see you back again soon. Our doors are always open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    47
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I took a lesson from Mike and then an all-morning clinic/camp with Mike and John and had a great time in both. The clinic/camp was rigorous and had 6 participants (3 women and 3 men plus the 2 coaches). Mike was good at pushing me to improve my game and John was very supportive and encouraging. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calquhoun, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thanks for your accolades about Mike and John. We think they're both some of the best tennis pros in the valley, and they each have quite a following of return guests for their lessons and clinics. Check out Michael's Blog on our website for current tennis tips! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I went to get away from the hussle and bussle and stayed at Shadow Mountain Golf Resort in Palm Desert, CA. It was fantastic!!! The figure 8 pool is huge and the sun was wonderful to lounge in 75 degree weather. I played a game of tennis on a championship court. The room was Tuscan style with a king bed and living area separate, full kitchen, and wireless internet. After the first night I felt guilty about not bringing my children, however it was wonderful to have an adult outting also. It is a perfect resort for families, couples, or singles. I will definately be back this spring. Thank you for giving me peace and relaxing time. The employees were very helpful too!

Room Tip: all have views of pool, or mountains. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBlaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calquhoun, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Were so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we agree that everyone needs a break to relax and recharge. Our pool is one of the largest in the desert and invites both adults and kids... there's room for everyone! We hope you'll think of us the next time you need some R&R or a place for the whole family. Thanks for mentioning our staff too. We look forward to seeing you again in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI
Level Contributor
477 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

While less well known than many other places in the desert, this is a gem, a real find. At the price of a room you can have a suite with a kitchen and all the amenities. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the pool area is lovely. There are also a numbe of smaller pools spread out on the property. This is also a major tennis facility. Recommend it highly for families or couples.

Room Tip: Large property,depends on your needs - ie- near pool, tennis, quiet. Ask when making reservation. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daylilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a great value and location. It has a great BIG pool for the kids (Ages 9-13) and lots of activities including Basketball, tennis, volleyball, ping pong and bike riding. The staff was very helpful and the grounds were well kept. We did notice that several of the units were for sale or in foreclosure, but the unit we stayed in was nicely decorated and well kept up. There was laundry facilities in the building that were clean and easy to use. The property is definitely retro. Each unit is different. My sister's family stayed in a unit where the kitchen was not updated, but it had a large floor plan. The units we stayed in were spacious, and with teenagers and tweens that helps. It was quiet, even with us there.

Not all units had WiFi. The main check in lounge did. Our unit did, sister's unit didn't.

The property is close to the main shopping strip, (walking distance) with a lot of food options. There is also a Trader Joe's close by. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans and dishes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruinfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This was the second time that we've spent two nights in one of the studio condos. The rooms are not new; but, they are fine for a few days. The grounds and pools are lovely. We ate lunch at the little cafe once; and, it was so good we were unhappy that it was closed the second day. We can walk to Mama Ginas and El Paseo; and, we've walked to the Desert Museum. Great location, and decent pricing. We'll probably be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSouthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

The property grounds are wonderful, especially the pool. Wolf in sheeps clothing. Our room/lived in condo was gross. Inital smell was of strong cleaning chems. We aired it out for a few hours. Then as we settled in we smelled garlic/fish. The garbage disposal was nasty with food. The fridge had pasta on the walls. The dishwasher had dishes in it. The A/C fan was creaky and cranking. My suggestion is that you check in but visit your room and determine wether it is suttable. Room 222. Sham on me for not doing same.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbcnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
5.4 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.0 km away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mojave Resort
Mojave Resort
#18 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
7.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Property: Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Address: 45750 San Luis Rey Ave, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming resort, breathtaking views, figure-eight swimming pool, home to the Desert Tennis Academy with lessons & clinics. Located in the heart of Palm Desert, California, the Resort is walking distance to the fabulous shops, restaurants and art galleries along the famed El Paseo Drive. Resort offers cafe & bar (breakfast and lunch), complimentary tennis on 16 tennis courts, pickleball, tennis pro-shop, four heated pools, five hot tubs, fitness room, massage service, saunas, poolside patio BBQ, volleyball, basketball, bicycle rentals, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Shadow Mountain Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Hotel Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Hotel
Shadow Mountain Resort Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing