We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott's Desert Springs Villas 1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marriott's Desert Springs Villas 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We took one of their small rooms, it is a time share experience. The room was very nice, and convenient to the pools, golf and tennis. It was surprising that they had no restaurants on the property, but most of the units have kitchens. The parking was handy, the planting around the buildings lovely, and walk ways were all user friendly.

Room Tip: For a couple the small rooms are fine if you are going to be out all day with activities, but the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbr89460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    321
    87
    44
    38
See reviews for
415
313
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We were at the resort for 5 days in late February. The studio room we stayed in was recently renovated and nicely decorated (small kitchenette- dishes, small fridge, toaster, coffeemaker and microwave) and had a small eating area and a balcony. BBQ are also available outside of each grouping of rooms.

The resort employees were welcoming and all really friendly. The resort is well designed with a number of pools (one principal one is more geared to families) and several other ones which are quieter.

We used the Tennis facilities (offered through the JW Marriott next door to the resort – 3 min drive or shuttle bus offered) and were able to play on clay and hard court. Next to the resort is a small shopping mall with a pharmacy and grocery store. Larger shopping malls are accessible by car within a 10 minute drive. There are plenty of hiking trails within the area.

We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NicoleTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The villas are roomy clean and located on the golf course. They have their own large and quiet pool areas. Clubhouse with gym.

They are on the opposite end of the resort from the JW and away from all the action. Great place to relax.

Coffee only complimnetary on the first day. Room had fridge, coffee maker, sink, dishes and a very comfortable bed.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My friend and I stayed in a one bedroom villa and were disappointed with the overall experience. To be fair, it wasn't the worst room I've stayed in but there was an overall feeling of neglect. When we opened the front door the smell of maple syrup was undeniable and never dissipated during our 7 night stay. The throw pillows on the bed were stained. The tv channels were all messed up. The shower was dingy and dark. The bathroom fixtures looked old an outdated, as did most everything else in the room. The vertical blinds in the living room were not opening properly and a couple of the slats kept falling off. We were staying on the second floor and there was no elevator, so we had to lug the suitcases up the stairs. The small annoyances and inconveniences, such as the ones listed above, are too many to list; overall, this place needs a major refurbishing in order to bring it up to a category 6.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Marriott Desert springs Villas 2 in palm desert is an ideal golf retreat location. The Palm and Valley courses are on the property and were 2 of the finest golf properties we visited during our 10 day stay. Service at Villas 2 was first class. Wonderful pools, excellent workout facilities. If you did not want to golf, the resort offered a wide selection of activities each day. This is one of the best vacations we have had in the Palm Springs area, and the Marriott was the reason! Thanks!

Room Tip: We had a room right next to the pool, so we got some noise from the pool activities. much quieter on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 780Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Marriott Desert Springs Villas offers very well appointed two bedroom units that provide privacy for the adults by separating the adult and child bedrooms with a larger living/kitchen space. The unit we used was within easy walking distance of the outstanding resort pool complex that featured several different pools/spas for adults and children - making it easier on both. The poolside bar and cafe was convenient and offered a wide variety of both adult beverages and juices, sodas, etc. The cafe food consisted mainly of sandwiches, burgers, and salads which were tasty and moderately priced. We made use of the tennis courts, but did not hit the golf course - but it looked pretty inviting. The service was quick and the property is very well maintained. The Desert Springs resort proper is within walking distance of the Villas complex and featured an upscale restaurant, more "cafe" type eateries, and a nice pool complex also. We have been to Palm Desert in both May and September and the weather was decent both trips, although it can get fairly hot (110+) later in May and in early September.

Room Tip: Corner units are a bit larger, but all the 2 bedroom units are plenty big and feature 2 baths as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was our first experience with a vacation club rental. It certainly will not be our last. For our short stay, the Marriott Desert Springs Villa II offered us the 2 bedrooms plus living space that we wanted while traveling with our adult son and his wife. We were fortunate to get a corner unit that afforded both privacy, lots of bright interior space, and two patios overlooking the golf course. The design is interesting. Upon entering the large entrance foyer, which is locked from the outside, you see two doors. The first interior door (locked or open at your preference) leads to the one bedroom suite, complete with full kitchen, dining area overlooking the golf course, a sunken living room with fireplace and TV, a large master bedroom with jacuzzi, and a fully appointed bath accessible from both the master bedroom and the living area. A lovely patio completed that section. The second door from the foyer opens into the second bedroom, which although smaller than the master, includes a mini kitchen, a beautiful bath with jacuzzi tub, and a separate patio. There is no direct access to the main suite from this second bedroom, however. If we had very small children, the design would not have worked for us - particularly with the second patio affording access to the outside. Doors could have been propped open into the foyer for easy access, which would have solved the problem with children of elementary age or older.

We made dinner one night in the kitchen. The area has convenient shopping so finding a supermarket was easy, and after a day in the sun, hiking in Joshua Tree National Park, we all enjoyed just relaxing in the pool, then later on the patio and still later in front of the fire (gas) and TV while preparing a simple dinner.

The staff is wonderfully helpful, as is typically the case with Marriott resorts, and the grounds of the Desert Springs Villa II are meticulously clean and pleasant. Palm Desert and surrounding areas are beautiful and offer tons of activities for non-golfers with other interests. Cons? The kitchen needs some maintenance. (Desert Springs Villas I was undergoing maintenance while we were there and I suspect that Villas II are scheduled for upgrades also.) Appliances are good, but the cabinets are well worn and one of the doors was loose. Also, the several pools scattered amongst the various "neighborhoods" are quite small, as are the hot tubs, and on two occasions, there were no towels. Normally, guests at the Villas have access to the beautiful pool at the JW Marriott hotel next door, so I would not expect this would be a problem at other times. During the week following Christmas, however, the JW Marriott's pool was closed for renovation and maintenance. All in all, this place is a winner and we would not hesitate to go back. 4.5 stars

Room Tip: the corner suites are large and sunny and have two patios, both separated in such a way to offer mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.9 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.0 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
4.6 km away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1636
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing