We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Sun Resort
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Desert Sun in May for 5 days. This was our first time at a nude resort and were both excited about our new adventure and apprehensive. Michael set our fears aside very quickly upon entering the office. He took us on a tour of the resort and it was a little uneasy seeing nude people relaxing near the pool, and walking around. As Michael escorted us about we both felt more and more relaxed.
During our stay we would see Michael here and there and he would always stop and chat for a minute and he even remembered our names!

The pools are warm but not too warm and there are floats to use while relaxing in one of the three pools. The Cafe has delicious food and large portions and the service is just as good. The adult beverages were fairly priced and delicious as well. We stayed in the Courtyard area, our room was big enough but the bathroom was a bit tight and the water pressure was weak. The landscape was beautiful and the groundskeepers were very professional and friendly. We met several couples and had great conversations while relaxing in the pools or one of the two hot tubs. I enjoyed a massage during my stay and thought it was a bit overpriced but it was a more upscale massage then I experience at my local massage franchise. I felt very safe and very relaxed during my stay and can't wait to go back. I quickly learned that no one in the resort cares if your nude and after you are there for 10 minutes you don't care either! This was the most relaxing vacation I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Firsttimenude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
210
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Overall nice resort. Grounds are really clean and you have choice of multiple pools. Bedding in Chapparal room where we stayed could have been updated but overall it was ok. Would probably stay in condo next time but was only there one night. It is also nice being closer to downtown Palm Springs for dining options. We would definitly return

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bareitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofallon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I had a few days in Southern California to kill before our flight home. We went fron San Diego over to Palm Springs. This is about 2 hours by car. \
We stayed at the Desert Sun Resort. This was previously known as Desert Shadows. The resort is "Clothing Optional" How ever we found it to be more of an up-scale nude resort.
The present management company has really kept the place in perfect condition, the landscaping is absolutely beautiful. There are three pools, one volley ball, general pool, one quite pool, and one pool that is a little more private.
This is an adult only resort, no one under 18 permitted on the grounds. It is very peaceful and mellow at the pool sites. This also an excellent resturant on the premises. Very enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This resort is simply gorgeous and well organized to make your stay memorable whether or not it's your first experience in such a place (clothing optional).
The place is extremely well landscaped & maintained, very clean, and all that in an enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere. The staff (reception, restaurant and maintenance) is polite, discrete, and dedicated to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Even though each and everyone's privacy is highly respected, the facility is well designed to encourage friendly discussions with other couples, and even to make new friends and contacts around the world.
it was the first experience for my wife in such a place, and it didn't take her very long to get very comfortable being in the nude with other people.
The fact that it is an adult-only resort is highly appreciated as this is the kind of place you go as a couple and expect to relax from check in to check out.
The restaurant offers a very decent menu and it is very well priced.
Thanks to Michael and Teresa for keeping such a place in very good standing.
G & J

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GB_Racine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wow, can't say how much we enjoyed Desert Sun Resort. Grounds and amenities were nothing short of spectacular. Staff was amazing, we will absolutely be back. This is the first "adults only" Nudist resort that we've visited and it was fantastic... no awkward teenage boys gawking at you! We wish all clothing optionals would adopt this policy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Willie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in the 2 Bedroom condo with friends we met on prior nude cruises.The resort is immaculate in every area and very well landscaped.A real plus are the comfortable lounges with excellent large shade umbrellas.We never had to scramble every morning to reserve a spot like the nude cruises.The pools were heated to a wonderful temperature and the hot tubs were perfect as well.The larger bedroom is open to the living room below so that "noisy" people be aware.That bedroom has a superb bathroom with a 2 small person jacuzzi tub. We did enjoy 2 meals at the resort.I would suggest they add breakfast.We also enjoyed 2 great dinners at Trio...even a great early bird. We look forward to many return trips.

Room Tip: Suggest the condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank randytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We enjoyed our trip to Desert Sun resort in mid-March. We are experienced nudists and NOT lifestylers. As others have said the grounds are immaculate and beautiful and the pools are heated. The staff - at all levels - are friendly and helpful. The week we were there it was cooler that usual and the weekend was rainy and unusally cool. So we took advantage of the hot tub - which was a popular place to be. On a couple of evenings we sat by one of the fire pits and enjoyed a glass of wine - again with other guests.

There was a nice crowd while we were there and we talked with many other guests - frequently about other places we had visited and where we had gone the previous day (golf, tennis) or evening (shows, restaurants.) We never saw the slightest bit of any inappropriate behavior while we were there. We stayed in a Villa - which are on one floor and smaller than a condo. They are very nice and comfortable. The have a full kitchen area, table and chairs - near glass doors looking outside - living room area and bedroom. A gas fireplace opens onto the living room and bedroom.

DSR does not allow kids. It has a "couples want a relaxing vacation" crowd. It may be nudist but it is not the place for you if you are looking for "sexy." It has a natural atmosphere - relaxed, casual, friendly - not sexy. There are not many single people. It is not a good place to meet single people. It has a good age distribution from people in their 20s to the retired/"I live here in the winter" crowd.

Room Tip: If you will be there for more than a weekend, consider getting a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank VeronaNJtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
15.1 km away
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 km away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 km away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#34 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Arrive
Arrive
#25 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.1 km away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#27 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.3 km away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#19 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Property: Desert Sun Resort
Address: 1533 N Chaparral Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4601 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. 3 Swimming pools, 2 jacuzzis, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing