We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing”
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Sun Resort
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Desert Sun in May for 5 days. This was our first time at a nude resort and were both excited about our new adventure and apprehensive. Michael set our fears aside very quickly upon entering the office. He took us on a tour of the resort and it was a little uneasy seeing nude people relaxing near the pool, and walking around. As Michael escorted us about we both felt more and more relaxed.
During our stay we would see Michael here and there and he would always stop and chat for a minute and he even remembered our names!

The pools are warm but not too warm and there are floats to use while relaxing in one of the three pools. The Cafe has delicious food and large portions and the service is just as good. The adult beverages were fairly priced and delicious as well. We stayed in the Courtyard area, our room was big enough but the bathroom was a bit tight and the water pressure was weak. The landscape was beautiful and the groundskeepers were very professional and friendly. We met several couples and had great conversations while relaxing in the pools or one of the two hot tubs. I enjoyed a massage during my stay and thought it was a bit overpriced but it was a more upscale massage then I experience at my local massage franchise. I felt very safe and very relaxed during my stay and can't wait to go back. I quickly learned that no one in the resort cares if your nude and after you are there for 10 minutes you don't care either! This was the most relaxing vacation I have ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Firsttimenude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Overall nice resort. Grounds are really clean and you have choice of multiple pools. Bedding in Chapparal room where we stayed could have been updated but overall it was ok. Would probably stay in condo next time but was only there one night. It is also nice being closer to downtown Palm Springs for dining options. We would definitly return

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bareitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I had a few days in Southern California to kill before our flight home. We went fron San Diego over to Palm Springs. This is about 2 hours by car. \
We stayed at the Desert Sun Resort. This was previously known as Desert Shadows. The resort is "Clothing Optional" How ever we found it to be more of an up-scale nude resort.
The present management company has really kept the place in perfect condition, the landscaping is absolutely beautiful. There are three pools, one volley ball, general pool, one quite pool, and one pool that is a little more private.
This is an adult only resort, no one under 18 permitted on the grounds. It is very peaceful and mellow at the pool sites. This also an excellent resturant on the premises. Very enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank captmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This resort is simply gorgeous and well organized to make your stay memorable whether or not it's your first experience in such a place (clothing optional).
The place is extremely well landscaped & maintained, very clean, and all that in an enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere. The staff (reception, restaurant and maintenance) is polite, discrete, and dedicated to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Even though each and everyone's privacy is highly respected, the facility is well designed to encourage friendly discussions with other couples, and even to make new friends and contacts around the world.
it was the first experience for my wife in such a place, and it didn't take her very long to get very comfortable being in the nude with other people.
The fact that it is an adult-only resort is highly appreciated as this is the kind of place you go as a couple and expect to relax from check in to check out.
The restaurant offers a very decent menu and it is very well priced.
Thanks to Michael and Teresa for keeping such a place in very good standing.
G & J

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GB_Racine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wow, can't say how much we enjoyed Desert Sun Resort. Grounds and amenities were nothing short of spectacular. Staff was amazing, we will absolutely be back. This is the first "adults only" Nudist resort that we've visited and it was fantastic... no awkward teenage boys gawking at you! We wish all clothing optionals would adopt this policy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Willie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in the 2 Bedroom condo with friends we met on prior nude cruises.The resort is immaculate in every area and very well landscaped.A real plus are the comfortable lounges with excellent large shade umbrellas.We never had to scramble every morning to reserve a spot like the nude cruises.The pools were heated to a wonderful temperature and the hot tubs were perfect as well.The larger bedroom is open to the living room below so that "noisy" people be aware.That bedroom has a superb bathroom with a 2 small person jacuzzi tub. We did enjoy 2 meals at the resort.I would suggest they add breakfast.We also enjoyed 2 great dinners at Trio...even a great early bird. We look forward to many return trips.

Room Tip: Suggest the condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank randytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Wow, what an awesome experience for both my wife and I. This was our first time to visit DSR and our first experience at a nude resort. Our experience was one where we were nervous but really looking forward to a relaxing time in the sun without clothes. My wife and I scheduled a couples massage the first morning and this was a great way to transition to the resort without clothes. The massage was great and we really did not care after that experience. We spent most of our time around the quiet pool since that was why we were there. A few interesting observations, the men walked around freely totally nude and most of the women wore a coverup until they got to there lounge chairs. After the women layed in the sun for a while they were more likely to walk around without the coverups. When we walked around, people would speak but we never felt like people were gaulking or making us feel uncomfortable. The hot tub and fire pit areas were nice to enjoy the evening looking at the stars and visiting with some really nice people.
There were all shapes and sizes of body types and most were closely trimmed or shaved. We stayed three days and each day we were more comfortable without clothes. By the last day my wife bought a sarong in the gift shop and walked around topless to and from the pool. This should speak loudly to those who are considering this location as first timers. Everyone made us feel comfortable without our clothes and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank lovincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
774 reviews
4.8 km away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#42 of 75 in Palm Springs
217 reviews
0.3 km away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
0.2 km away
ARRIVE
ARRIVE
#11 of 75 in Palm Springs
166 reviews
4.7 km away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Address: 1533 N Chaparral Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4601 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. Adults Only, 3 Swimming pools, 2 Jacuzzi, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing