We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
V Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Royale Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Musicland Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveller rating
1,542
95
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,542
95
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunity kitchenpink champagnelucy and jaycommon kitchenshared kitchenguest kitchenhot tubdvd libraryfree snacksfully stocked kitchenbbq areatour of the propertyfeel like familyfire pitfresh fruithome away from homeother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel California does a wonderful job of welcoming you (with wine) and making you feel at home. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The place is small and clean and a great oasis in Palm Springs. Our room was large and well appointed and clean. We are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BabsWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This boutique hotel has such a tranquil setting inside and makes you feel so removed from the bustle just outside of the hotel. Each room we have used has always been extremely clean and well serviced. The facilities the hotel offers are so good too, with pool, hot tub and the communal kitchen is a great bonus as offers cooking facilities including the use of the BBQs - this gives you the option of eating in and not always having to eat out. Staff are just so lovely and as always our thanks to Larry, Maria, Jay, Betty and the housemaids too. We have stayed here on 5 occasions now and booked again before we departed Hotel California so see you next March HC and can’t wait!

Room Tip: Each room we have stayed in have always been first class in this boutique hotel
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hazelwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have lost count of how many times we have stayed at Hotel California, but maybe that is because it continues to feel like our very own vacation home. Over the years we have stayed in a number of different rooms, each with its own “personality”, but each has enough similarities to make it feel like home even when our favorite is not available.

The ambiance of Hotel California is something that must be experienced, from the community kitchen where fresh coffee & complimentary fresh fruit & other snacks are always available, to the poolside visits with other guests amid the lush plants & flowers that form a garden in the courtyard.

This gem of a small hotel always makes us feel like we are an extension of the delightful Stearns family who owns & runs it. It’s a little bit like the famous “Cheers” bar where everybody knows your name.

Can’t wait for our next visit!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm sure there are dozens of nice places to stay in the Palm Springs area, but I don't think there is a finer place than the Hotel California. Starting from when we first walked thru the gate to be greeted by Jay and shown around the place up until we sadly departed saying our goodbyes to Larry and the friendliness of Mary in between, this place has it all!
We really enjoyed the warm pool and hot tub after a long day of hiking and exploring plus getting out on the bicycles they supply for a short ride to the downtown. Next time we head down that way, at least we won't have to bother about where we want to stay ... if you like being treated like family, then this is your place!

Room Tip: We had a ground level poolside room. I'm thinking one of the upstairs room would be quieter and more private.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wilsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool area and grounds are well maintained and comfortable. I saw some reviews that complained about the location but we thought it was fine. There is ample parking and it was a central location to everywhere we wanted to drive. Yes, there is some traffic noise but I was at the pool where it is hard to hear or out during the day. It did not bother us at night. The coffee and fruit in the morning were appreciated as well as the communal kitchen. I thought this place was a good value compared to many of the places we investigated before booking. The only change I would hope for is a much quieter water heater and plumbing. That thing made all kinds of noise! I would stay here again!

Room Tip: We liked room 14 but it is exposed more to traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KATHYVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews