We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and wonderful”
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quirky and wonderful”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was by far a wonderful hotel experience. The hotel is charming, the staff is exceptional. My husband and I travel the world, and we just love quirky, acutally we crave quirky. This is a true mid century modern building and it is relaxing and soothing, with great vibes, and a good location. What more could you ask for? The hotel offers Happy Hour , the guests can mingle around a fire pit, and we met the most interesting folks from around the world. We just wanted to say thank you to the Movie Colony! It was a great experience all the way around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12DLM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    93
    37
    27
    13
See reviews for
12
213
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Thought the website was far better than the reality. It's wasnt bad, but felt a little shabby. It was low season so I didn't pay full price, if full price I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevisoBettiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Movie Colony for 3 nights and loved it! Great amenities and walking distance to everything in the city center. We normally stay at The Horizon, but I think the Movie Colony might be taking it's place from now on.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortsiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This place was alright. It had a small B&B type charm to it, was in a good location surrounded by nice places to eat, convenient to the Convention Center (which is why we were in town). Service was good enough, although I wish they'd been a tad more specific when I was booking our room... You see, they warned us, but we didn't listen.

They warned us that a "large group of people" was staying there and that, "you know, large groups of people can get a little loud, and we are a small place." I get it - I went to college, and honestly was ok with the idea of people having a good time around us. But what I didn't realize was that that large group of people was from the Renaissance Fair. Ren Fair people are their own unique breed. Taken in small doses, they are a somewhat fascinating subculture of people seeking a good time. In large doses, they are overwhelming. Worse yet, this particular group booked for the Ren Fair, realized the Ren Fair itself had been canceled, yet still came and basically just took over the Movie Colony Hotel instead. We ended up checking out of there and moving to a much larger, much more boring hotel, which turned out to be much better for our purposes.

Otherwise, I'd recommend the place. It's nice. Just make sure you heed their warnings.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This Place Has great Service. We've been a loyal customer since August 2008. My wife & I got married in palm springs August 2005 at another cool hotel. We love the heat! We've stayed in a different room each time we come. The best rooms are the Townhouses. The Decor is cool but the best is our very own private patio. We love to see the sunset from up there. Plenty of shooting stars and quietness. In the morning there's Continental Breakfast. Complimantry w stay. Happy Hour Is Great. Free Beer, Wine, Champagne and chips. The pool is where it's at. Not too many guests stay in August bcz of weather. We always meet new guests. They have dvd's board games newspapers magazines and lounge music playing at a respectful level through out the property. If you're in need for pampering, they have on call masseus. The owner pop's in here & there and is always cool to conversate with. 4 Complimantry Beach Cruisers are available at 1st come 1st Serve. There's also a jacuzzi & Chic Outside firepit with lots of seating. I've heard they have weddings here. Were thinking of renewing our vowels for our 10th Anniverssary. We Can't Wait To Comeback.

CHEERS!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhotbunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great location. Very nice room with a lovely private balcony. The continental breakfast was delicious and a nice change from restaurant fare. Staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This quiet and intimate hotel is very close to the main streets where restaurants are located. The hotel rooms are clean, nicely decorated, bathrooms are a little small but manageable. The staff was delightful. We loved sitting outside by the fire pit for breakfast and cocktails and meeting other guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 km away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
205 reviews
0.2 km away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
363 reviews
0.1 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
853 reviews
1.7 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.9 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Property: Movie Colony Hotel
Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing