We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hidden gem in Palm Springs!!!”
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden gem in Palm Springs!!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Amazing hotel in Palm Springs. My wife and I stayed 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. Even though we stayed in the simplest room they offer, it had everything we needed: flat screen TV with cable, wifi, mini-fridge, air conditioning, comfortable bed, quality sheets, iron, etc...; and even though our room didn't have a bath tub, their shower head was high pressure so the showers felt really good .
The daily breakfast(although very simple) is a plus; also, the complementary wine/drink offered in the evenings was much appreciated. The grounds are very well kept; the pool and jacuzzi were always clean and ready to be enjoyed. Also, they have available bikes to use for free throughout the day if you want to explore the city this way.
In conclusion, my wife and I were very happy with our choice; this is the place to stay and explore Palm Springs. It is right in the downtown area; you don't even have to use your car to visit the shops. In comparison to all those big name hotels that charge you more and give you less, this place felt secluded, safe and home-like. My wife and I are already planning our next say here.

PS The hotel workers are available until 7 pm. If you plan to check in after 7 pm, please call ahead to receive easy instructions as to how to access your room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MizterLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    93
    37
    27
    13
See reviews for
12
213
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

When my wife and I book our getaway weekends to Palm Springs, our first choice is always the Movie Colony. We've been to other hotels which we liked, but keep coming back to the MC because of the superior location, friendly staff and cool architecture/vibe. Closing the front desk at 7ish doesn't bother us.

This time we saved a few bucks NOT renting a car and taxing from PSP... then for our meals, we walked a half block to our fav hipster bar/restaurant (Birba), breakfast spot (Cheeky's), and delish mexican and margaritas (El Mirasol). If you haven't been to this part of downtown or "uptown" recently, it is worth checking out... definitely hopping in the high season. During the day, we lounged by the pool and explored some of the charming neighborhoods on bikes supplied by the hotel. Looking forward to the next time!

Room Tip: many different types to choose from. the pool side rooms are always fun. talk to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetWillD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was by far a wonderful hotel experience. The hotel is charming, the staff is exceptional. My husband and I travel the world, and we just love quirky, acutally we crave quirky. This is a true mid century modern building and it is relaxing and soothing, with great vibes, and a good location. What more could you ask for? The hotel offers Happy Hour , the guests can mingle around a fire pit, and we met the most interesting folks from around the world. We just wanted to say thank you to the Movie Colony! It was a great experience all the way around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12DLM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Thought the website was far better than the reality. It's wasnt bad, but felt a little shabby. It was low season so I didn't pay full price, if full price I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevisoBettiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Movie Colony for 3 nights and loved it! Great amenities and walking distance to everything in the city center. We normally stay at The Horizon, but I think the Movie Colony might be taking it's place from now on.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortsiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This place was alright. It had a small B&B type charm to it, was in a good location surrounded by nice places to eat, convenient to the Convention Center (which is why we were in town). Service was good enough, although I wish they'd been a tad more specific when I was booking our room... You see, they warned us, but we didn't listen.

They warned us that a "large group of people" was staying there and that, "you know, large groups of people can get a little loud, and we are a small place." I get it - I went to college, and honestly was ok with the idea of people having a good time around us. But what I didn't realize was that that large group of people was from the Renaissance Fair. Ren Fair people are their own unique breed. Taken in small doses, they are a somewhat fascinating subculture of people seeking a good time. In large doses, they are overwhelming. Worse yet, this particular group booked for the Ren Fair, realized the Ren Fair itself had been canceled, yet still came and basically just took over the Movie Colony Hotel instead. We ended up checking out of there and moving to a much larger, much more boring hotel, which turned out to be much better for our purposes.

Otherwise, I'd recommend the place. It's nice. Just make sure you heed their warnings.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This Place Has great Service. We've been a loyal customer since August 2008. My wife & I got married in palm springs August 2005 at another cool hotel. We love the heat! We've stayed in a different room each time we come. The best rooms are the Townhouses. The Decor is cool but the best is our very own private patio. We love to see the sunset from up there. Plenty of shooting stars and quietness. In the morning there's Continental Breakfast. Complimantry w stay. Happy Hour Is Great. Free Beer, Wine, Champagne and chips. The pool is where it's at. Not too many guests stay in August bcz of weather. We always meet new guests. They have dvd's board games newspapers magazines and lounge music playing at a respectful level through out the property. If you're in need for pampering, they have on call masseus. The owner pop's in here & there and is always cool to conversate with. 4 Complimantry Beach Cruisers are available at 1st come 1st Serve. There's also a jacuzzi & Chic Outside firepit with lots of seating. I've heard they have weddings here. Were thinking of renewing our vowels for our 10th Anniverssary. We Can't Wait To Comeback.

CHEERS!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhotbunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 km away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.7 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#17 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.9 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.6 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Property: Movie Colony Hotel
Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing