We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just stayed one night, but wished for more. This is a beautiful property. The lobby is spacious and elegant. The rooms are clean, modern and well appointed. The pool area is beautiful with palm trees, large patios and great lounges for enjoying the desert sun.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTYankee143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our beautiful hotel and for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Palm Springs. We do make every efforts to keep our hotel in excellent condition so our guests may enjoy their experience as you did.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return to our "beautiful" hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    540
    249
    103
    76
See reviews for
342
510
65
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Enjoyed the Renaissance Palm Springs for an overnight stay. Property is beautiful, conveniently located, and well appointed. Room was spotless, quiet, and comfortable. Pool was terrific and spacious - plenty of lounge chairs, not crowded. We would stay here again and happy to recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool would be great - they have balcony. Nice to enjoy a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebugg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We are very happy to learn that you found our hotel to be lovely; we do make every effort to keep our hotel in tip-top shape.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your comments. We look forward to your return for another "lovely" experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle area
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I'd like to rate it 4.5 stars, but I'll round up.

Room

Rooms are modernized with all the businessperson needs to operate while on vacation…but is that still a vacation at that point? :-) Our room was a pool view, king bed, room. If you’re one to enjoy sitting on the balcony in the morning reading the paper drinking coffee, then Pool View rooms are pretty much required. The Mountain view rooms are essentially facing outwards looking over streets, parking lots, etc, and very few even have balconies. You get a window and that’s about it, except for the few rooms. Essentially the mountain view rooms are over flow in my opinion.

There are two types of rooms with balconies. Ones that are full height sidewalls providing privacy among neighbors, or fully exposed balconies either with half height walls or fully exposed railings. The fully enclosed balconies are generally arranged in the pyramid shape of the architecture visible from the outside (i.e. the higher up in floors, the less in number of rooms with that type).

What rooms are best located? It depends on your preference of sunrise, sunset, or in shade all day. Really, a very smart alignment.

For sunsets: I’d go with 2319, 3319, 4319, 5319. The lower the number (e.g. 2311, 3311, etc), the closer to the inside corner and being able to see in your neighbor’s windows (and vice versa). I would strongly suggest avoiding any room numbered #321. Those rooms are all in the shadow of 2319, 3319, etc, because they are set back slightly and don’t receive sun until late in the day. As far as view, if you’re 2nd floor or higher, the views are fairly similar. Although it’s possible the 5 floor rooms may have the palm trees in your view. You get the pool view, Mountain View, and sunset view. Rooms with full height sidewalls also have full spanning windows and sliding glass door, and the balconies are wider than the fully exposed railing balconies.

The north facing rooms are probably 50% full height side walls so a lot with that privacy. For the north facing rooms, I’d say the higher up the better view you’ll get.
The east facing rooms get a nice sunrise pool view. But the mountains are far off in the distance and I’m not sure you could see the other side of the valley from them. The higher you are the better to capture the sunrise. However, if you want sun to hit your deck, you’ll want to be away from the inside corner, sorry don’t know the room numbers, and depending on the time of year, you could be fully shaded for part of even most of the day.

Room Rates

The room rates fluctuate quite a bit. I would recommend watching them for a while to get a sense of where you might end up. If we paid the full rate, my overall rating would not be as favorable because the expectation would be greater, and it wouldn’t meet it as we experienced it. That said, it’s definitely worth the rate we paid, and will go back.

In-room amenities

• There is a good sized fridge in the room available for your use to stock food, drinks, etc. At least in our room.
• The in-room coffee is good, and plenty of tea to select from. The maker is a single serving filter bag. So you are restricted to using their coffee…again its good coffee.
• The hair dryer is a real hair dryer, but not the most powerful blower.
• Aveda shampoo and conditioner…good stuff.
• No safe in room, and not sure if front desk provides that service

Facility

Fantastic grounds, large size pool, lots of patio chairs, double lounges and large island lounges. Lots of tables too. I’d say their diversity and layout is top notch! 2 ice water stations are conveniently located. They have a waitress that will serve food and drinks at the pool.
They have 4 fire pit areas, 2 of them are circular and chaired to spaciously seat 5 people. In fact they could comfortably squeeze in another chair. There is a rectangular fire pit that probably seats 10+ people, and near by a fire place setting with 3 bar stools (fire place is set at chest height). Sadly, these fire pits are also the designated smoking areas!!!?!
Nice interior seating lounge area, serviced by hotel bar. A nice number of flat screen tv’s to satisfy your news and sports fixes.

Between the gift shop and hotel boutique shop, anything you may have forgotten can be had there. It’s a little excessive in price gouging but what hotel convenience store wouldn’t. The most egregious pricing is the sunscreen. $8 for 3 oz. That is basically a 1 full day use of screen. That is a little spendy. There is a Rite-Aide about 15-20 minute walk south.
USA Today and WSJ are available at the front desk. Don’t wait too long or they’ll be gone. They definitely do not get enough for all that want them.

Food

The onsite restaurant has a good size menu, and the food is quite good, and mostly street priced too. No gouging. Didn’t have a bad lunch selection all week. There are a few places that are walking distance that are outstanding, see further below on that.

Drinks

What they don’t gouge on prices for food they more than make up for in drinks. Wow…expensive for really poorly made drink. Margaritas are not very good. Mostly sweet sour mix and $10. Bloody Mary’s are good but $8. If you want to have wine on your balcony and watch the sunset you can either buy a bottle and bring up to your room and you’ll pay $12 (split) to $20+ (full size) per bottle, or get a couple of glasses from the bar at HH prices. If you BYOB, you can get a wine opener from the concierge desk. You don’t have to buy it from the gift shop.

Off-site niceties in walking distance

There is a circle K 2 blocks away to get sodas and cheap wine (wish they had a better wine selection), and unhealthy snacks. Nice people and convenient. If you want a better selection and hard liquor, there is a rite aide about 4+ blocks south by southwest. A bit of a walk in beating sun.

The heart of palm springs is two blocks due west and easy walking distance. Lots of great restaurants for evening eats, and fairly priced. There are two places near by worth hitting for lunch. Shermans and Tylers. They will be crowded!! But yum! Tyler is a little spendy for the food, but still good.

Every Thursday evening they close down the main street for a street fair. It’s fairly typical of what you’d expect, maybe a little more art heavy but that is a good thing. Not so much trinkets and nik nacks. People definitely drive in for it. The town becomes alive that night.

A six(?) screen movie theater is across the street if you somehow get stuck with bad weather.

Staff

Are very friendly, and efficient.

Sleep quality was rated average because the beds are a little too soft, and they use air blowers every morning to clean up the place. Sleep during the night was quite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MXonceAyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is close to downtown so everything is near. Also, they have a shuttle into town and from town. I thought the service was one of the best. Great for a family getaway.

Room Tip: You can have a great dinner for a affordable price during the happy hour - 5-7pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
We are fortunate to be so close to everything downtown Palm Springs has to offer and are delighted to read how you enjoyed Palm Springs, our hotel and our service. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and for sharing your comments.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I booked through priceline and got a great deal.The pool area is my favorite part and i liked how they had complementary local newspapers at the entrance.the staff was friendlyand i think may have gave me an upgraded room since it was the day before my bday and i was there celabrating.I love this place.great staff and rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolo420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The service and quality of this property is would meet the expectations of anyone traveling for pleasure of business in Palm Springs. The staff is always helpful, the rooms are wonderful and many look out to a spectacular pool area with many lounge chairs, cabanas and a great bar that aslos serves as a lively indoor meeting place after work or a day around town.

It's my favorite spot in the desert!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocytien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
We are so happy to learn that we are your favorite spot in the desert! Thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review; we strive to dazzle our guests and clearly we have with you.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I bid on a silent auction and won a two night stay in Palm Springs at the Renaissance Hotel. We stayed on Sunday and Monday nights to avoid the weekend crowds. From the outside, it looked like a nice resort. Entrance and lobby was clean and modern. Bell staff and front desk were nice and friendly.

Getting down to the nitty gritty, here are the pros and cons:

Pros: -Neat, spacious, and clean rooms (we asked for upgrade and got it!)
-12 minute walk to great restaurants and shopping
-Overall friendly staff (Deanna and Rene at front desk)
-Bar and pool atmosphere was great

Cons: Self parking was not free! Come on, it's the desert, not downtown Manhattan.
No free WiFi. Even Motel 6 has free internet now! And, we were charged per device!
Shower took forever to warm up the hot water. Don't know why.
Landscaping crew woke my wife and I up at 7am with leaf blowers!?
Pool waitress was heavily overworked but still did a good job.

When I asked myself if I would stay at the Renaissance again, the answer was yes. Even though the pros slightly outweighed the cons, I think location will have a lot to do with the decision to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Even though I tend to avoid rooms by the elevator, the hallways tend to be long and feel like a maze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeOjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#34 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
1.1 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.7 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.6 km away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#18 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Property: Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing