We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely outlook and great facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Isle of Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Isle of Palm Springs
Ranked #44 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely outlook and great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed here for a week in October, and are already planning on returning. A wonderfully relaxing place to spend some time.

Desert Isle has lovely rooms, with lots of space. Lounge with large screen and fireplace, huge bedroom and fully equiped kitchen. BBQ out on back patio, overlooking the pool. Rooms were fresh and clean and very 'live-able". Really did feel like a home away from home.

Grounds were lovely and well care for. Pool was aways clean and inviting!

Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Gave us some greats ideas about place to visit and places to eat and drink.

Palm Springs itself is close to plenty of places for walking and hiking and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    56
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
61
68
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Used to live in palm springs, and never realized this was a time share property. Freshly painted, new appliances, very clean and well taken care of. Minutes from downtown and the airport, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwoktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sask. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

As I sit down to write this review I can barely wait to return to the Desert Isle for another 2 week stay. My Wife and i first came upon the Desert Isle on our first drive down holiday to Palm Springs from Saskatchewan , Canada in 1975. It was known then as Stan Clarks Desert Isle of Palm Springs. There was no development to the East or West of it at that time and very little development to the north. It truly did appear to be an Oasis in the Desert Over the years many renovations have been done . We have been back many , many times over the last 34 years and have taken our children there many times , in fact this year in March we will be meeting our Son and his wife there along with their little one as they are now vacationing at the Desert Isle. We look forward to meeting several people there that also return each year. Manager Terry Fraser and front desk people such as Trenton and Marie absolutely go above and beyond their duties. The courtyard is kept immaculate. You have a choice of two different pools to visit or just lounge at. There is an excellent Restaurant next door called Manhatten in the Desert. The rooms are very large with full size kitchens that make an extended stay very comfortable. The Desert Isle of Palmsprings - We love it

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Allen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We were pleasantly surprised -- they have recently remodeled the rooms -- very spacious, clean, comfortable. Flat screen TVs in the living area and bedroom. Steam room in the bathroom :) Pool was small but nice and quiet. BBQ's available on the balcony. Would definitely stay here again. Shopping center across the street was convenient - a Jensen's market, TJ Maxx, Chipotle, Golden Spoon Frozen Yougurt and a Walgreens all within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YogadocVta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

Nice clean resort centered around older guests, which was nice for a change. The grounds were spectular, as were the pools and jacuzzis. The rooms were spacious and the skylights in the bathrooms were a big plus. Would return again to this resort. I would like to commend the General Manager, Terrry Fraser, with the kind help offered to myself and my husband while we stayed at the resort. Thanks......

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cabohound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

We used a timeshare bonus week to stay at the Desert Isle of Palm Springs the last week in May and we were VERY pleased with our stay. Upon our arrival around 3:25 pm, we were told by the friendly front-desk staff that our room was not ready. The advertised check-in time is 4 pm but our room was not ready until about 4:20 pm, so we waited in the spacious lobby. The rooms were ready for everyone else that checked in during the time we waited. We were assigned an upstairs second-floor one-bedroom condo, #36, that overlooked the tennis courts. The stairs are a killer (no elevators), but the condo was beautifully decorated, came equipped with everything we needed, and the bed was very comfortable. We even found a rollaway bed in a closet for our guests (in addition to the sofa bed), and all units have a gas BBQ on the patio or balcony. We paid $5 for a BBQ propane tank to be delivered to the condo and it was our's to use for the week. Someone delivered and installed the propane tank before we could even get to the condo! There are two tennis courts, two pools and three jacuzzis in a beautiful setting with lush landscaping. The pool at the back of the complex was less crowded at the beginning of our stay. A covered carport is provided for one car; additional guests must park in designated guest parking or along the resort's private street curbs but there seems to be no limit on the amount of cars per condo. Housekeeping is done only once during a week's stay and we did have a miscommunication with an assigned housekeeping day due to a holiday, but we didn't stress out over it. Clean towels and supplies were delivered to our room and trash emptied, but the beds were not changed. Pool towels may be checked out at the front desk. There is an awesome deli/ bakery/restaurant on site and they deliver! Jensen's market (expensive), Walgreens, TJ Maxx, McDonald's, a yogurt shop, etc. are located in the shopping center across the street. The resort is not within walking distance to the Palm Springs village, so a car is recommended unless you plan to just stay at the resort to relax, which is entirely possible to do. There are many things to do in the Palm Springs area such as golfing on the many golf courses, riding the tram to the top of the mountain, shopping (my friends and I enjoyed vintage shopping not too far away!), hiking in the Indian canyons, a water park, casinos, museums, the Living Desert wild animal park, and other night life. We attended a concert at the Fantasy Springs Casino in Indio and had a blast!
Palm Springs is usually HOT in May (it was 101 degrees when we left) and most of the guests seemed to leave after the Memorial Day holiday, which left us with the pools to ourselves the rest of the week. We had a wonderful week and would highly recommend the Desert Isle to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank retiredatlast57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
312 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Thanks to RCI, we found this resort available when our confirmed plan failed. Arrival was early and not an issue. We were into our units by noon! No questions, just a friendly welcome. (If the unit was not ready, we were welcomed to use the change room and start enjoying 1 of the 2 heated pools). The outside of the resort was landscaped nice. It did not begin to give a hint of what was around the inside of the resort! Flowers, cactus, palm tress all blended to give 100% relaxing atmosphere. Simply beautiful!
Location is perfect. Anything you want is within a short drive and even a short walk. There are several new stores just outside of the resort. Grocery stores, drug stores, McDonalds if you like, are across the street and right next to the resort is the Manhattan Deli. While we didn’t eat in at the deli, we did have take out 3 times – all perfect desserts, sandwiches, and salads. Don’t think you can go wrong here!
Activities were limited for our group, but they have free bikes for resort guest and I heard they were really nice bikes. Other activities available were tennis courts, racquet ball courts, weight room, and a sauna.
Our unit was newly furnished – at least it appeared that way. We did peak into other units and found nothing less than a desirable surrounding. Updated units have “green” switches that will turn off lights when you remove the room key. The master bath shower had a steam jet that made a shower double a steam room. Free wireless internet, free movies at the front desk, flat screen TVs, and plenty of storage space and living space is HUGE! This resort is moving forward with the time and maintaining everything as all Resorts should.
Although, the resort is not a “gold” resort, it is by far the nicest time share I have ever exchanged into. I would not hesitate to recommend this top notch facility to any one!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WashPA0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
4.3 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.7 km away
Oasis Villa Resort
Oasis Villa Resort
#43 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.6 km away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#14 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
#58 of 70 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.7 km away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#35 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.2 km away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#36 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Isle of Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Isle of Palm Springs

Property: Desert Isle of Palm Springs
Address: 2555 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Isle of Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Desert Isle of Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Isle Of Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Desert Isle Palm Springs
Palm Springs Desert Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing