We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at this location and we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Resort and Spa
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Hollywood, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time at this location and we loved it”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The best of everything starting with the staff and the ease of making the reservation. We reserved two rooms the Studio and the one Bedroom suite. Quiet place to stay the pool was perfect the mist in the shade was awesome the new BBQ grills were terrific the kids enjoyed the variety of DVD's. All in all we had a great time and will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    34
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
34
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We made a reservation at The Plaza months before our trip, taking time to select where we wanted to stay from numerous options. One week before the trip, we got a call that our reservation was canceled and that we would be transferred to another facility. Not "would" we transfer, but this was done without our permission and despite a confirmed reservation. The initial explanation was that there were plumbing problems, but when I challenged that on the basis that it was a week away and surely that would be resolved, that explanation was retracted, but no other was offered. Needless to say, you cannot book a room here and be sure that you will stay at The Plaza.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank KimM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Made a reservation 3 months ago to stay at this hotel, and were notified that we were kicked out of the hotel and being moved to another hotel with lesser accommodations. They canceled our reservation without telling us, and wait until we called to try and find an alternate booking. We got stuck further away from our destination, in a crappier hotel. Unfortunately, the whole area is completely booked up, so getting bumped because they got a better deal really screwed us. DON"T MAKE A RESERVATION AT THIS HOTEL - IT IS NOT GUARANTEED - THEY EVEN CHARGED OUR CREDIT CARD FOR THE FULL AMOUNT!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank efm1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Plaza Resort and Spa is not a hotel; It's a time-share. So if you want a modern hotel with all the amenities, this is not the place for you. However, that being said, I had a wonderful stay. The room was actually a suite, two rooms. A small kitchen, dining table and living room area with pull-out sofa (which I didn't use) and TV. The other room was the bedroom and bathroom. Both rooms were spacious and had balconeys. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The resort has three floors and offers rooms facing either the golf course or tennis courts. I asked for a quiet room facing the tennis courts and my room on the third floor was very quiet. The only thing I heard was the occasional door closing. The hotel has tennis courts, fitness center and swimming pool (which I didn't have time to use) and two hot tubs. They also provide towels and bathrobe if you ask. They also have free DVDs to loan and a book exchange in the lobby.

A couple of important things to note:

1) internet is an extra fee about $5 per day
2) there is not daily maid service, but you can exchange towels at the front desk
3) they take a $100 deposit for incidentals and remove from your credit card day after you leave

With all that in mind, I highly recommend the Plaza Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ncbeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The Resort was older but very nice and clean. Comfortable. The scenery was wonderful. Sits right on a beautiful golf course.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Overall I really liked this place. The front desk people were very very nice whenever I came in contact with them. The room itself (I got a studio) was nice, although it was decorated a little too "Golden Girls" for me. The kitchenette had everything, including a toaster and a blender. There was a DVD player, and they loan out DVDs in the reception area. My unit had a nice view of the golf course, but on the other side of the building, units had a view of the beautiful mountains; both views are impressive. Everything worked and I had no maintenance issues.

The bed in my unit was super-comfortable, probably one of the best I've ever had in a hotel (I was in room 220.)

They have a nice workout room that's well-equipped with a treadmill, Lifecycle bike and a big universal station for weight lifting. The exercise room overlooks the main pool.

What I didn't like: I could clearly hear people walking around (among other things) in the unit above me. Most buildings in California are wood-frame instead of cement, so you don't get very good sound insulation, especially from rooms above. For me, in the future, it will be more important to get a 3rd floor unit, regardless of the view. If there had been kids in the room above mine, I would have had to change rooms, I'm sure. Also, I thought the $30 per week fee to use the wireless internet was too high, so I used dial-up instead (NetZero gives 10 free hours per month).

You would probably need a car while visiting here, but it would be possible to not have a car. If you leave the hotel, walk down Golf Club Drive to the main highway, take a left and there's a shaded bus stop. The bus probably doesn't come very often, but it's nice to have the option. If you walk past the bus stop, you'll find a Target, Starbucks, Pollo Loco, Trader Joe's supermarket, and plenty of other shops. It's about a 5-minute walk to the bus stop, and another 5 minutes more to the shopping center. This is a very safe area for walking. If you want to walk everywhere, you should probably stay in downtown Palm Springs, as this place is very near Cathedral City.

A previous reviewer had said their car got broken into, so I put all valuables in my trunk, and left the empty glove box open. Nothing happened to my car during the week I was there.

I warmly recommend this place, and will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Plaza Resort and Spa was a friendly place to visit. All of the staff could not do enough for us. There was one maintenance issue that was fixed swiftly. The 2 pools and 2 spas were exceptionally clean and tidy. We were even given a spa robe to use during our visit. We had a studiol apartment and had plenty of room to sleep, cook, and eat. Our condo was facing the golf course so we had great views of the mountains. We would return to this condo and recommend it to our friends.
Palm Springs was a great city to visit with lots of outdoor activities and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
5.7 km away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#43 of 73 in Palm Springs
264 reviews
5.5 km away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#27 of 73 in Palm Springs
398 reviews
6.6 km away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#51 of 73 in Palm Springs
306 reviews
7.2 km away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
861 reviews
5.3 km away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#45 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort and Spa

Property: Plaza Resort and Spa
Address: 2601 Golf Club Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Resort and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Palm Springs
Plaza Hotel Palm Springs
Plaza Resort Spa Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing