We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I travel to Palm Springs for a couple of days of relaxation after attending a big conference in L.A.

We couldn't have hoped for a best stay and haven't found a better one since. Patty and Larry are the best host you can hope for, they managed to find the perfect balance between being welcoming and friendly and at the same time respecting your boundaries when needed.

I've slept in many four to five stars around the world but this little hidden gem in palm spring became my gold standard of perfect hotel stay.

The pool is always warm and inviting, Patty and Larry restaurant recommendations were always spot on and the complimentary limo ride was the cherry on top! Riding the free bikes to the indian canyons in the morning was also a very nice and unexpected addition to our stay.

I've no doubt will go back to this place next time we visit Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazosaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We were there last May for four nights for our sisters' weekend. Yes it get longer every year! We are so looking forward to our return on May 3rd for five nights! Our hosts Patty and Larry ensure that everything is top notch! We loved relaxing by the pool and watching the humming birds! This holiday site is truly an oasis! We are so looking forward to our return visit this May!

Room Tip: All rooms open to the fabulous pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiredandcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel met and exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed for a week in February .We arrived early and our room was ready. Judy had champagne for us as we were celebrating our birthdays. The whole time we felt cared for and Larry,Judy,Patty and Lucy were warm ,sincere and always smiling. i didn't want to leave. Our room was # 9 which was in a good quiet location. The welcome treat basket and welcome drink was a great touch. The pool was large with an adult deep end(8 feet). It was wonderful. Having the kitchenette was great. If you barbecued at night they made sure that prior to buying additional items (i.e. spices,condiments) you check what they had to use.The video library had a lot of movies including current ones.I loved the fruit bowl and red licorice. The coffee was good. The nighttime atmosphere was serene and romantic. The rooms were spacious and very clean. I loved that they had golf clubs and bicycles to use. They have thought of everything and I am so glad that we met this wonderful family who make you feel like friends !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I discovered this amazing gem while reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor.
We spent our first holiday there in January 2011, and returned again this year for nine blissful days as we loved it so much. I can't think of a place I would rather be when it's winter in Canada. In fact, it is becoming an annual pilgrimage from The Great White North to The Desert Riviera where the pool is always 90 degrees.

Larry, Patty, Steve, Judy and Lucy are fantastic hosts who make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. They are extremely accommodating and do everything they can to make their guests comfortable.
This hotel is spotlessly clean, with beautiful gardens, immaculate grounds and every room faces the pool. In the evening candles are lit, creating a magical atmosphere and you can sit around the fire pit and enjoy your wine.
Although there is not a restaurant at this hotel, there are many nearby, some within walking distance. The hotel provides menus for many of the great eateries in town so that you can plan your meals ahead of time from your poolside lounge chair.
In the morning there is always a complimentary pot of hot coffee and a bowl of fresh fruit in the lobby to start your day. They even have a special phone they allow their guests to use to make international calls at no charge. There are many other extras that you would not expect such as free movies, and snacks in your room upon arrival.
We can't wait to go back and hope to stay even longer next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the pool, have a wonderful view, and are decorated in retro style. Hard to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calicocrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have stayed at quite a few place in Palm Springs and this will now move to the top of my list. Great location close to downtown, super friendly staff, clean and nice rooms, great pool, fire pit, and lounge chairs, and a great overall atmosphere in general. Looknig forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #5 but I'm guessing all the rooms are great and the place is pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinEnEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I just traveled to Palm Springs this past weekend, and this was actually our first stay at Desert Riviera. We absolutely loved our stay and plan to stay with them on our next trip.

There are nicer hotels in the area in terms of the rooms, but they are substantially more expensive (ie. the ACE across the street was twice the price) and usually lack the authentic palm springs charm of Desert Riviera (we have stayed at Riviera which we also really like, but it also was twice the price and much more Vegas-esque). The owners are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. They have free bikes, free water bottles, free wireless internet, and most impressively a free limo for property guests (you just have to tip the driver). That last perk was especially nice as we had a few drinks at dinner and didn't have to worry about getting a cab or driving ourselves. Finally, a pretty cool feature is that the pool/jacuzzi is open all night, as long as you do not bother the other hotel guests.

One possible negative is that the hotel isn't in downtown proper so you cannot walk to the shops/restaurants, but you can easily drive or use the free bikes during the day, or the limo at night. We would recommend the property to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msportobello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

No, I'm not exaggerating. This trip finally prompted me to submit a review to trip advisor. I've stayed in lots of places in this world over lots of years and this was unique. It's not only the big things and the little things but everything. We were on the way home after a 2 week, 4 island vacation in Hawaii and our 5 nights here were the ultimate relaxation. You can read all the details here from many others and believe them. In short Judy, Larry and Jay made us feel like family and welcomed us into their 50's retro paradise. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Palm Springs (except the Hotel California if the Desert Riviera is full). We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,608 reviews
1.1 km away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
738 reviews
0.2 km away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
5.3 km away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
0.8 km away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#14 of 75 in Palm Springs
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $302 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing