We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go midweek!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go midweek!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Midweek is great! The restaurant has pretty good food and is remarkably inexpensive. Weekends get out of control- a bit frat party-esque. If you can visit M-Th, go for it. Last time I was going to stay the weekend I bailed and went to another hotel where I could relax, the "party" scene at the pool was waaaaay more than i could handle.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eiming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    228
    119
    62
    42
See reviews for
112
271
54
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights Sunday - Tuesday late November. We are a party of 3 friends in our 30s who are not particularly party animals, but you certainly don't have to be at this little gem of a place. Maybe it's busier and more raucous at the weekend, but Sunday was great, with a DJ at the pool all afternoon playing some chilled out music, and the place wasn't busy at all. We were touring California and came here to chill and get some sun before flying back to the UK. We booked a King Lounge room which has 2 beds - the room was great, very clean, the most comfortable and gigantic bed ever, a cute balcony (overlooking the car park but that's OK), bottles of booze in the bathroom - fun - it was all really funky and we loved the retro touches. This is a quirky place and also a friendly one - all the staff we encountered were very friendly and polite. The service at the pool was great - wait staff regularly came up to us to ask if we wanted anything. The bar is really nice in the evening (of course during the daytime you'll be at the pool catching those rays!) - it's actually quite smart and luxurious. They have an amazing selection of cocktails - our favourite was the Iggy Pop. Of course, this place is mainly about drinking cocktails by the pool, the crowd altogether was pretty much 30 something....I wouldn't bring kids here. The pool scene is glamorous and, in particular, the hot tub is amazing - absolutely boiling, and a great place to socialise with other guests in the evening - with cocktails, of course. We ate dinner at the on site restaurant which is casual - had a steak sandwich, pretty average. The views of the mountains from the pool are, of course, gorgeous. We did rack up a large bill between the 3 of us - (many) drinks, (a little) food, a couple of bottles of vodka from the room etc - in any case, we had a great time and I really, really enjoyed this hotel. P.s. If you're British then you'll find great rates with Thomas Cook - great value, it's certainly not an expensive hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonnyro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This place is terrible! The 'remodel' is lacking! The mid-century style falls far short of classy and the rooms are not comfortable. Our bathroom was dirty. The WORST PART: at 12:00 at night on a Thursday night a DJ showed up at the pool bar. The windows in our room were rattling. We had to move our room at 1:30 in the morning, in our PJ's, carrying our sleeping kids all they way across the property to a 'quiet' room. This room was right on the main drag and all night long it was sirens and trucks keeping us awake. The pools are nice, and the poolside bar is a nice feature, but overall this place fall far short of any type of resort I'd ever stay at again. For this horrible, dirty, loud room, we paid $269.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julia295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

No way would i come back! From the minute we checked in, we thought this was the pits. Here is why:
1. Check in: okay that the gal must have been new, but she needed some training before being put out there or at least have a supervisor shadow her. She didn't know even basic questions about the place and either gave us uncertain answers or would take a long time to try to find the answer. Finally, a more experienced person came out to help us. Gave us the message that our time was not valued.
2. Room - awful. cheap. Take tarps and hang them on the walls and between the twin beds and ours, add some cheap black paperclips hanging some cheap b&w printed photographs, add a bunch of liquor bottles on the mirror section of bathroom area (read drink our booze)....modern here means old chairs, 1970s door mat that looks like the one my dog used to sit one literally in the 70s, cold floor, and outdoor coach thing was in horrible condition. i could go on...
3. bathroom - small, drain looked like it was the same one from the motel pre remodel. bathroom toiletries were large bottles but the conditioner had no long pump inside and was clogged. When i tipped it over to get some conditioner it came out with some clumps that were gross. When i called to get housekeeping the next day (we were out from 8:30-noon and no one came to clean) and mentioned the issues on the conditioner bottle, they treated us like we were the ones with the problem. Their bottles are never contaminated, as they said.
4. Service - lack there of. We called for some extra towells, which never came. read above about the conditioner and lack of room cleaning. At hotel pool, forget about bringing in your sandwich (and my daughter had a special gluten free one) or a glass of wine...you can bring in NOTHING in terms of drinks or food - where as our previous hotel in PS was fine with that. When we asked nicely to check out 30 min later, basically told no way. this was ridiculous as the check out line was so long it took us another 15 minutes to just do this where as if some guests could have been staggered, it would have been much better.
Lots of guests were complaining about the service or lack there of.
5. Water cups were not with bottoms but the triangle type so you had to keep going to refill it unless you were lucky enough to get some server's attention and who would actually bring a regular glass to you.
6. Dogs and tattoos. If you like dogs on your cushions and tattoos this is the place for you.

this place reminds me of people in their 20s and 30s who cant give up the party life, want to feel hip (try to hard) but have kids or dogs now so they are limited on where they can go and do this.

The room also pushes alcohol and "movies"...not the best environment for the kids.

Also we asked for a quiet room away from the pool, but it doesnt matter as people tend to be loud and if there are guests partying near your room or come home and want to continue it...you will be woken up and it might continue like this for some time..or one will stop and another room will start up.

My daughter would give this a 2 star because of the pool and getting to play.
I liked the music on Saturday at the pool but then just get a day pass.
Also hard to park Saturday evening as non hotel guests use the spaces even though they are not supposed to. Hotel is aware of the problem but have not solved it.
Location is too far to walk to town.
Oh and Kings highways is so over rated. They did get the hot cocoa for my daughter but then charged us $4.50 for it as a mocha...fine but was overpriced.
They also add in a resort fee to cover parking, wi fi and pool use...what was my $350 a night for? the room (king suite) as i said was a motel room with a cheap remodel. Stay somewhere else, buy a day pass if you want the pool dj experience - i hear the ace founders and investors are making a lot of money ...and i can see why - charge high prices, do a cheap remodel, pay for security to ensure you don't bring your own sandwich or drink, cheap furnishings, and add so much attitude that you will pay to get whipped...i mean treated like you are a motel where service (and the parking you paid $20 resort fee for yet not available- oh yeah resort fee included wi fi, one ping pong table and a chlorinated pool and jacuzzi that was broken) is above them..even though they are in the service industry. Go Away we did and we won't come back.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lajolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is my second stay at The Ace and it was simply lovely. (It didn't hurt that it is February and the weather cooperated by being in the low 80s). I met some friends for a quick mid-week mini-vacation. We toured mid-century homes in the area, lounged by the pool and drank vodka on our private patio. Note: Cough up the extra clams for the patio room. It is such a splendid way to enjoy the desert.

The staff is friendly, the food served at the on property restaurant, King's Highway, is delightful and the rooms are comfortable and fun. I personally love the in room record players. Being "middle-aged" this brings back fond memories....

Lastly, while this is a bit of a hipster hotel, frequented by the Coachella crowd I have never felt too old or out of place. There is a nice mix and the ambiance is divine.

Room Tip: The patio rooms cost a bit more but give such a nice feeling of space. The fireplace is such a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NANCY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mishicot,wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just got back from a weekend stay and it was so much fun.My husband and two of our friends stayed the weekend.I thought our room was very unique.The bed was very comfortable.The staff were great,we sat by the pool area for most of our stay and we were never wanting for anything.The amigo room had wonderful bartenders.We ate at kings highway one night we had a burger and french fries that were delicious.We also went up the street to elmers every morning for breakfast.It was the best breakfast we ever had and the price was right.The waiter were awsome!I would recommend this place to eat a great meal at a very reasonable price.There is a coffee place that opens at 5:30am right next to the ace that also has danish and muffins along with other beverages.The coffee was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grock989814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Ace Hotel is a total gem! The Ace is full of good design, fun, and cool people. It's clean and the rooms are nice. I would highly recommend this place for a quick getaway weekend to Palm Springs!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LO_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 km away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.7 km away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.4 km away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.2 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#29 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Property: Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Address: 701 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8811
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing