We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babysitters for our wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great Job

Jun 05, 2012 by Mary
Thank you Desert Super Sitters for helping us enjoy two nights of wedding festivities at the Ace Hotel! Michelle stayed with a 1 and 2 year old who were jet lagged and far from home. It was a huge challenge she not only came through but came back for the second night ;-) Thanks Christina for coming through for the other 3 kids the night of the wedding! Very happy with your service!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank thegoodlife97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for Ace Hotel and Swim Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Do you have a tattoo, preferably on your neck or face?

Do you have a small yappy dog wearing a kerchief?

Do you typically look like you just woke up from an all-night bender at a bar featuring an obscure indy band?

Then the Ace Palm Springs is your hotel.

Don't get me wrong-- we knew what we were getting into when we booked the Ace. We didn't expect the Four Seasons, or even the W. The vibe here is hip on a budget. And the hipsters here are friendly, even if you don't share their love of body art.

But in retrospect, we would have been better off paying 20 bucks to spend a Saturday afternoon by the pool than an entire long weekend. A little of the Ace goes a long way.

So, about that pool scene. The pool itself is small, but has a nice deep end, and great views of the mountains. There's very little vegetation, though, and the colour scheme is decidedly khaki. The pool is well maintained, and started every day crystal clear. By the end of the afternoon, it became disturbingly murky.

The music is loud and achingly hipster. Somehow Johnny Cash and pools just don't mix. (Neither do dogs-- which were allowed by the pool!!) Poolside service is personable, but they could definitely use more servers on the weekends.

Once you leave the pool, it's cheap and cheerful all the way. Rooms are clean, but super-basic. We paid a bit more for a patio with a fireplace, which was kind of dramatic and nice for the cool desert nights. We had to call most days to prompt our room to be cleaned-- on one day it took two calls to get service.

Restaurant food is great. And the food service was fine, with some real characters sprinkled throughout-- former showgirl Linda runs the the restaurant (and even breaks into song occasionally).

Bottom line: The Ace was an interesting walk on the wild side. But if you like your hipness with a bit of luxury, choose the Parker Palm Springs instead. It's worth the extra coin.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the pool if you want some peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

if your an animal lover dont stay here! 110 degree heat and dogs left to bake on concrete while owners hang in the pool. not hip and oh so not cool in my mind. really wanted to like the place but way too many flaws to win me over. oh and your " garden patio " is a concrete cell with two plants and a chair . i wanted to love this place but too many flaws

Room Tip: stayed in 235 . quiet enough except for very loud slamming room door. the "garden patio" i...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VancouverDavidjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

If you're over 40, this is probably not the place for
you. Cool in some ways, but managemenot on top of things. Dirty rag and cleaning supplies left by careless cleaning staff. Restaurant entrance had weird odor. Rooms are furnished like a cast off tent, which can be clever, but hardly inviting. However, that said, the younger set seems more than happy to be here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The worst of my life. called them to book a room for a nice getaway for mother's day. myself, wife, and daughters (5 & 7). drove hours to get there to find on arrival the quieter, more kid-friendly pool was closed for weekend. they'd neglected to mention this when i told them i was bringing my daughters to swim and relax for the weekend. considered leaving but they knocked some of the cost off if we would try it the one night. it was after 10 pm and kids were grumpy, so we decided to try it.

then: no parking. went back to leave (and should have), used some colorful language at this point but a nice security guard pointed me to a 10 minute spot that he would let us have all night. parked and went to our room - but couldn't find it. it was right around here that i became clark griswold at the end of national lampoon's vacation.

in their uber-cool wisdom, not only had they neglected to put a number on our suite, but they had neglected to tell us that our suite had no number on it. now i'm no genius, but i'm not sure that even if i was i would have been able to figure that out. had to have my wife and kids wait outside even longer while i asked for help finding what should have been obvious.

bed was comfortable, pool at 9:30 was empty yet there were no seats...? had to evict some towels. then the dj set up. right next to us. and played jay-z. to my daughters.

i asked him to reconsider his choice in music, maybe something a little less... explicit. he told me to go away and that he doesn't go to my work to tell me what to do. i showed restraint though used some fairly explicit language myself. manager told him to reconsider his choice in music. shortly after this my wife got back from her massage to discover me and our daughters completely surrounded by smoking, dancing, greasy hipsters waist-deep in the pool with their ashes and our kids.

this is when we left. it would have been thirty minutes earlier had i booked a 60 minute massage for my wife instead of the 90.

they gave us a *very* hard time about it, but we were not willing to pay for the night we stayed and they finally acquiesced. we payed for food, drinks and the massage. it was not worth it. i wanted to have a nice mother's day getaway and the ace foiled us at every step.

maybe if the other pool had been open it would have been different, but i don't think we'll ever know.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank heypal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the Ace just after an exhausting Coachella for 3 nights and it was perfect.From the time we checked in the staff were really helpful and had good attitude.The room we had was a standard king,with various items of vintage furniture,cameras,bags etc that you could buy.It was on the 1st floor facing the mountains with the sun setting over them, really nice.The main pool was loud and busy,the rear pool was quiet so you could choose whatever your mood.The free bikes were handy to explore locally (they need the tyres pumping up though!) and they also had scooters but for a charge.The restaurant and bar were cool and lively every night with varied entertainment, food menu's were imaginative and the service excellent.The gym and spa facilities next to the pool were excellent and well maintained.The Ace has a cool vintage feel about it with some nice original touches and relaxed atmosphere.With the desert heat,all very Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Get a room with a record player facing the large pool near the main building,sleeping is overated.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galaxie64Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for several nights whilst attending coachella this year. The hotel andfacilities were fine and the staff very nice. What must be addressed though is the the dogs by the pool policy. This is a all very cool andgroovy (and I would love more hotels ad restaurants to have dogs) but what I had to witness was not a dog policy - itallowed dog cruelty and neglect. Whilst sitting by the pool one day - a couple arrived (11am) with their three dogs to sit by the pool. What I should say there is that the temperature around the pool was approx 108 degrees. Really. Very hot. The couple proceeded to sit in the pool whilst their three dogs struggled to find a shady spot, could not put their paws on the ground as the concrete was too hot for people to even walk on without shoes. They left their dogs sitting there for three/four hours. no one took them for a walk etc. I confronted them, the hotel policy meant that they could leave their dogs essentially cooking in the sun. How canthis be right? We also saw other dogs being made (tied up) to sit in the sun in this way. Totally uncnessary and cruel. The hotel told me there was nothing htey could do. Surely a change to their policy would address this? I called the police and was told that (as by this time theye had put the dogs i nthe dhade with some water) there was nothing thye could do. All very frustrating. Will be writing to the owners of the hotel too. Shame as lots of other stuff at the hotel was great.

Room Tip: not by the bins/van drop off area - room 142 quite noisy
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.0 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
2.8 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
2.2 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.5 km away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
172 reviews
1.2 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#35 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Address: 701 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8811
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $221 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing