We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“" Great Place, Wonderful Staff"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Mira
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“" Great Place, Wonderful Staff"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We planned on staying here for three days but decided to stay an extra two as we enjoyed this place so much. We stayed in a wheelchair accessible room. It was quite spacious and had a small fridge and microwave oven. The grounds and hotel were very accessible.

The location of the hotel is great. It is quite close to the main shopping area. Grocery stores, restaurants and pharmacies are close by.The staff are very friendly and helpful. If you want to go to the downtown area they will drive you there and pick you up when you are ready to return.

The view of the mountains from the pool area is stunning and the grounds are well maintained with flowering shrubs and bouganvilia which made it so beautiful.

As other reviews have stated, our room was a little outdated but very clean. We would return there in a heartbeat and look forward to going back there some day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miracaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Miracaper,

Wow! Thank you for choosing Shilo and we are proud that you enjoyed your experience so much that you extended. We have a fun, friendly staff that will go out of their way to provide local information as to best restaurants, discounted restaurants and fun things to do in Palm Springs. Or just sit by one of our 2 pools in 80 degree weather. Glad you used our courtesy shuttle service to downtown. There are many things to see and do in and around Palm Springs. We appreciate your comments.

Next visit to Palm Springs ask about the Air Museum and the Living Desert, two must sees!

Cheers from Shilo staff!

Gary Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    118
    64
    34
    39
See reviews for
73
120
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

The weather was perfect, the front desk & breakfast server cheery and the hotel and town busy. Always love to read the comments. Com'on people the hotel was built in the 80's, that means an older property with bigger rooms. I see the grass was reseeded and flowers added around the fountain since our last visit. The beds are comfortable, the pools clean and the staff friendly. They aren't 5-star and don't pretend to be. Met the hotel manager this trip, a tall friendly man with a wonderful sense of humor. How many hotel managers go around and pick up trash left by guests, he takes pride more than most. The hotel could use more flowers in their beds and a little paint here and their but overall this is still our favorite respite when we visit Palm Springs. Thank you Shilo, see you next trip.

Room Tip: In the back facing the mountains, quieter and seems to have less guest traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegoxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

BEWARE OF WHAT YOU PAY FOR. This is definatly a low budget hotel!!!! Could handle it being run down but only had 1 person working the front desk when we checked in and it took 20 min. to be helped. No extra pillows when asked. Our phone had no dial tone and they had to come fix it. Stains on the walls and doors. Room service knocked on our door at 8 am New Years day, woke us up. After calling and asking for them to come back we returned to our room and no one had come to clean. If you really need low budget with your family the only redeeming thing was the kids pool was only 3 1/2 ft deep and the complementry breakfast is ok, and the beds were decent. Will not go back or refer. Keep looking!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We used their toll free national reservation number the day before; it was a very straight forward and pleasant process. When we arrived late at night, everything was exactly as expected and the front desk person was extremely pleasant. The hotel is dated, not much in the way of frills, but well maintained with modern comfortable bedding. This is the kind of hotel we like best, great value, quiet and comfortable but not "cheap". For instance other places in this competitive range might give you towels that are not much better than tissue paper, here at Shilo they were plush.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiast_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I never fill out these reviews, but the management suggested I do, after my partner and I went on and on to thank them for a lovely stay. Truth is, I wish this place would stay a secret ... but maybe they'll get so popular they'll buy out the horrid Days Inn on the other side of the restaurant between them (yes, stayed there too). Our stay was in the King size bed (w/hide-a-sofa couch) double occupancy suite. Long story short: best value in all of Palm Springs (unless friends or family let you stay at their place and then have the decency to leave...good luck with that). If you have more than three days here and don't mind riding a bus or taking a cab, then you could stay here without a car (unless it's Summer, then you'll want A.C.). I can't believe this place ever has a vacancy ... it's that good! Yes an airport shuttle! Also a No Fuss Breakfast Buffet, WiFi, Clean-Spacious-Quiet Rooms (with microwave/fridge/coffee&tea maker in room). Great breakfast dinner next door and best value family restaurant in town across street. If you're driving ... parking is free and you're close to everything. Cheers - Guy (seasoned Yankee business traveler to UK & Europe)

Room Tip: Second floor - further in back very quiet ... first floor in back quiet too (in case you don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Location is prime, a few blocks from downtown. The rooms are huge with lots of room. The pool is very nice and wonderful staff.

I think the place offers good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lionel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed 10 nights, including the Thanksgiving weekend, and the following weekend, in a "King Suite" room.
This was an enormous room (certainly by UK standards!), with a kingsize bed, a sofa, dining table/chairs and a good size desk. There was also a sink in the room, with a fridge, microwave, and a coffee-maker. The bathroom was also a good size, having a tub with a shower over. Outside, there was a small balcony overlooking one of the two swimming pools.
The hotel lobby provided a "continental" breakfast, with unlimited quantities of food available - but not a huge choice. There is also a computer available for guests to use. We were in a room furthest from reception, which had the advantage of being the quietest spot.
In addition to the two pools (one for adults and one for families) - there is a small gym (with limited opening hours) and steam rooms - which we never figured out how to access.
The hotel is located about 20 mins walk from the downtown area. People seemed shocked that we were capable of walking that distance !!. But the walk was easy & safe, with several bars and restaurants en route. Also, the hotel runs a free (but you are expected to give the driver a small tip) shuttle-bus on request to local areas such as downtown, or the airport, between about 8am and 9pm. So it is quite possible to survive there without a car.
While we were there, the hotel was not busy - even at weekends, so the shuttle was always available.
Overall, the hotel was kept clean, and the facilities maintained in reasonable order. For us, it was a good compromise between a "budget" hotel and an overpriced "boutique" facility.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear TWinster13,

Thank you for your recent stay and review all the way from the U.K. We appreciate your kind words and perceptive comments. I would like to comment on one item …. although I’m sure our drivers may appreciate a thank you gratuity it is not required. Our shuttle is 100% complimentary as a provided service for staying at Shilo Inn Suites, the same with in-room long distance calls, free wifi, etc. I also enjoy the short walk to downtown, far away from all the traffic and congestion but conveniently close. We look forward to your next visit, same time next year?

Happy Holidays!

Gary Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
576.8 km away
Arrive
Arrive
#26 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
576.8 km away
Desert Vacation Villas
Desert Vacation Villas
#50 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
576.5 km away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#10 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
576.9 km away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
576.5 km away
Ivy Palm Spa and Resort
Ivy Palm Spa and Resort
#60 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
576.6 km away
Days Inn Palm Springs
Days Inn Palm Springs
#45 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Property: The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing