We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a group”

Tamarine Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 390 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tasso & Webster
Description: Tamarine is a contemporary Vietnamese restaurant that features the light but flavor-intensive culinary delicacies of Vietnam. The restaurant offers a menu based on small plates, promoting the Vietnamese tradition of the 'shared' meal in which food is shared and enjoyed with those close. Tamarine's small plate entrees are enjoyed with the pairing of a variety of aromatic, flavor infused rice, designed to be mixed and matched to create a truly unique flavor experience. Along with culinary delicacies of Vietnam, the restaurant showcases the works of emerging artists from Vietnam and other Southeast Asian countries.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

Fourteen of us had a business dinner at Tamarine and it was excellent. Of the appetizers the papaya and dried beef salad was well enjoyed as were the spring rolls. Of the entrees I particularly liked the seared tofu and the shaking beef was so good we had to order more. The wine list was extensive with some good values (and some very pricey bottles as well) and the service was most efficient especially given the size of our group. The dishes were pretty much all for sharing (kind of an Asian fusion tapas place). You will enjoy it!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 979stevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 383 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2017

Full disclosure: I am a Berkeley foodie, and usually think that Vietnamese restaurants are likely to be ho hum. NOT THIS ONE!

First of all, this is not a hole-in-the-wall kind of place. Think linen table cloths and flower arrangements, your napkin nicely folded while you make a quick pit stop in the upscale bathroom. The service is very friendly, and the wine list reasonable, with several well chosen wines by the glass. Of course, there is a full bar as well.

The restaurant can be a little noisy, especially in the dining room on the right as you enter, which has one wall with banquette seating on a long bench, with the tables fairly close together, so you can hear your neighbor's conversation.

But the food is what would bring me back! I never thought of lamb as benefiting from hoisin sauce, but it is pretty delicious, and the sweet potato fries that came with it were the perfect side dish! The clay pot fish was slightly sweet from the molasses (which gives it a very deep color), but nevertheless very good. We really enjoyed the side dish of Japanese eggplant with lime and fish sauce dressing.

Of course, we had to have dessert - there is a very nice list of same - the molten chocolate cake,while frequently seen on menus, was perfectly baked and accompanied by vanilla bean ice cream.

As I said before, worth driving a distance to eat here!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Looking for a nice and quiet place? This it. This Vietnamese restaurant is definetely the most quiet restaurant in its neighboorhood with a perfect service. The starters where all delicious. The entrees missed a litlle "punch", but maybe that is the nature of the Vietnamese kitchen. Be sure to make reservations as this place is packed.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank RonnyRDeinze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

The restaurant served the creative style of Vietnamese fusion food in Palo Alto. The food was taste while the service was good.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D3185XCjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

A seemingly modest place from the outside but quite lovely inside. Vibrant, great ambiance, and very nice service. The dishes we had were quite delicious. We had the salt & pepper calamari, empress rice, shaking beef, and clay pot cod. We'll definitely come back!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luxetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing