We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
30
23
10
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
23
10
11
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 82 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Had never been to the area before and made our reservation at the Cowper Inn on our daughter's recommendation. We were to visit Stanford, Menlo Park, and Mountain View. The Cowper Inn was a great central location for all of our visits. We stayed in the "Carriage House." This complete suite is above a garage structure behind the main inn. It has the feel of a small apartment complete with kitchen and sitting area. You do need to walk up a narrow flight of stairs, but for the space and privacy at the top we thought the walk up was well worth the exercise. We were comfortable leaving our bicycles in the garage under our room (though we did lock them.) The main inn house hosted us for breakfast with a complete buffet and marvelous and relaxing eating area that also serves as a living room during non-eating hours. After one early morning bike ride we were late getting back for breakfast. We asked if we could just get a piece of toast and before we knew it, the kitchen staff made a full breakfast plate for us. Bravo! We did not see the rooms inside the main house, but if you are looking for a central and reasonable option for a stay in Palo Alto, we would gladly suggest the Cowper.

Room Tip: The Carriage House was our choice. It stands alone for privacy. Short walk to the main house.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the staff, space, warmth(it's cool at night now), and the breakfast. The hot water heater serving our room was not so good. Manager promptly moved us to an even nicer room.
Walking distance to great restaurants and downtown Palo Alto amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 23Chachalacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

The Cowper Inn is a bit of a mixed bag. On the plus side, it's clean, quaint, does a lovely breakfast and the beds were comfortable. On the other hand, the quaintness is genuine in that it hasn't been decorated since about 1982, and the bedroom we had was in serious need of repairs and updating. Having said that though, the location is great and if you want something a bit different from the usual chain hotels then it's worth a try.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Claresaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This would be a fine place to stay for a night or two at $95/night, but at $250, forget it. Charming from the outside, but inside the floors are a disgrace, the furniture is falling apart, lots of things need stripping and repainting. Even the windows need washing. The common room is very pleasant, but the breakfast is basic at best. My room (#24) was tiny, which I expected, but the clock was broken, there weren't any hand towels, the pillows were rock hard (what's the point of that, I wonder?), and I had to put a towel under the connecting door to plug the light from the three-inch gap to the unused dining area next door. The second night of my stay the family upstairs was up from about 4:30 racing around and banging (let's not put kids in the upstairs rooms....). The inn is in a fine neighborhood of Palo Alto (in the process of being destroyed by fortress high-rises, unfortunately), the two houses of the inn are terrific old gems, and Hugo, the manager, is a really nice guy, but still, I'm going to look for a better place to stay next time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judilater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

While the public areas of the main house are nice, the second house needs much repair. We stayed three nights in a room that needed: floors refinished, painting, new wallpaper, door and cabinet hardware repaired and refurbished furniture. The shower rod and the curtain rod need replacing (they are falling down).

We paid $267 a night (including tax). We expected more for that price. We checked ourselves in and were never personally greeted by an Innkeeper. While the breakfast buffet was nice, it was all self service with no accommodation for special diets. We had requested some gluten free choices when we made the reservation but none were offered until we complained and just gluten free bread was offered the next day. We think a high priced B & B should do better.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DASTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews