We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort Inn Palo Alto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn Palo Alto”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very clean room, everything looks recently updated (not including the CRT TV). The included breakfast was nice for the price. I stayed here while on an interview at Stanford, the distance is 4 miles (which is great if you have your own car, but comes up to $15+tip by cab each way). My room was on the second floor somewhat close to the road (El Camino Real), even then I hardly heard any of the traffic.

It's also easy to get to food, just across the road are Baja fresh, Jamba Juice and a very good Thai restaurant called Rice (3 minutes walking distance away). Overall great value for money considering the expensive neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seaf00dGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    50
    61
    13
    17
See reviews for
34
27
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

It's a bed that is fairly comfortable. It's a breakfast that is edible. It was inexpensive and got the job done.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sambas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My experience was similar to other reviewers. I wish I had read them first. It was subpar for the neighborhood. When we found a stained sheet, the manager handed us a new sheet and started to walk away, saying he was too busy to help. Later, and late that night, we found suspicious hairs on the fitted sheet. It was so late and hotels were full, that we slept in our clothes between the top sheet and whatever else for a cover. In the morning, we found unclean, folded for use, towels. The manager was arrogant, as one of your reviewers stated. On the first complaint, he simply said that there were no other rooms and we couldn't have a refund. When I complained to Choice Hotels, however, the telephone operator was very nice, took all the information, seemed appalled, and opened an inquiry.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Modesto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Could be better maintained. With the door locked and double locked you could see around it to the outside. Furniture and TV were old and outdated. Breakfast was terrible primarily due to lack of decent seating and cold breakfast foods. Desk personnel were average but housekeeping seemed to do a good job .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunters101291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Am soon to stay here again, because I've been so totally satisfied on the previous visits. Very clean, nice, helpful people at the desk, all good!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katzenmutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Just like the previous reviewer I was double-charged and they attempted to stick me with it initially. After dealing with the clueless manager-on-duty, a rude young man, I was contacted by the owner directly. We had a conversation in which he finally saw the erroe of his ways.

Stay very far away from this property. Liars and cheats to be sure. Ended up reporting them to Choice Hotels. This isn't their first time at that rodeo. Dare I even say it?

"Steer clear".

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurfingTheWedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Although the room was fine and the breakfast subpar, when I got home I realized that I was double charged (charged on the credit card I gave to hold the room, and charged on the credit card I paid for the room). When I called the hotel to request a refund for one of the charges, they said no! They claimed there were 2 reservations in my name (one where my name was misspelled?!?!?) and therefore I had to pay!! In my opinion this is sneaky and dishonest. Don't waste your time on this hotel when there are dozens of other hotels in the same location at the same price who won't charge you twice!

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank astro1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.6 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.8 km away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#17 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
1.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Palo Alto

Property: Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Address: 3945 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-3319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Palo Alto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join the Comfort Inn Palo Alto, a convenient, family and pet friendly Northern California hotel near San Jose Airport, Stanford University,Stanford Shopping Center, Google, Facebook and Great America, for exciting West Coast getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing