We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic classical French bistro”
Review of La Boheme

La Boheme
Ranked #108 of 388 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

It really hit the spot. It is good old fashioned classical French food served and prepared by real Frenchman which they serve while playing French music.
Other-words it is authentic.
It's not pretending to be anything else.
Cajun mussels where spicy and perfectly done. Sweetbreads in mushroom sauce were perfection, lamb was just Ok. Dessert was light and airy.
Will absolutely come again

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank JVDZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2016

A friend recommended, actually raved about La Boheme. So we thought we'd give it a try. Ok space, nice menu selection, average service (they try though). The chef sent us a complimentary small soup to start. Our butter lettuce salad was excellent (very light yet flavorful dressing). As we were waiting for our entree, the chef/owner comes out to tell us they are out of choucroute (even though he had personally taken the order), so my husband had to choose another entree. Both entrees were good. We unfortunately did not try the dessert. Will give it one more try.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aluor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Ever since we went to La Boheme a few months ago, it has become our favorite haunt. We have lived in France for years and go back every year twice but for the first time i can say that I have found and AUTHENTIC French restaurant in the bay. Not complicated nor pretentious just real delicious French traditional dishes: saumon mariné, côté de bœuf, lotte a l'armoricaine, os à la moelle... you name it... it is perfect.
Having said all of that, the soufflés au grand mariner and au chocolat as Well as the île flottante, are hands down the best deserts on the west coast. Yes. On the west coast.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank dianamna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016

My husband and I recently returned from a month in Provence and Paris. Happily home, our friend wanted to try La Boheme in Palo Alto. One word to describe this restaurant: authentic. We felt as though this could be a neighborhood gem in Aix en Provence or in a little neighborhood in Paris. The food and service are excellent. We enjoyed the fois gras appetizer, French onion soup, delicious monk fish, and creme brulee for dessert. My husband "thought" he made a reservation for 3 at 07:00pm on a Saturday night, but they had not record of his calling. No problem. We were accommodated without reservations even though they were packed. On our list now as one of our local favorites.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jasmine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Loved the friendly service, old-school decor, and no wait. We wanted a quiet, romantic dinner and it met our expectations. Overall a place we'd definitely come back for dinners.

The endive salad was just ok (kind of dry) but fresh enough. The duck in black-pepper sauce was perfect in texture, pretty good in flavor. Perfect portion-size of sauteed vegetables. I would probably have preferred mashed potatoes instead of fires, but they weren't bad at all. The beef tar tar was up to standard.The best dish of the night was definitely the Souffle, perfectly airy, egg-y, and great flavor from the Grand Marnier. We had two red wines that went very well with the meal.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Boheme also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing