We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Pasadena
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Myers
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

There are several people that I feel to be recognized. I have been staying here for a couple of months. Lounge area: Kellie, John, Jessie, Immee(?), Lauren, and Nicole are great. Bell desk: Bob, Erwin, David, Oscar, Andrew, Mark, and Weldon, they are so courteous and helpful. Front desk: This staff is great and always remember your name and what you want in your room, Kahari, Hank, Chris, Raj, Eric, Timeshare, Ellizabeth, and Dale. These people are the reason I keep coming back here week to stay. Shane has also been very courteous and great attitude with guests and staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherriFortMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank for recognizing some of our best Westin performers. We have a number of great associates and I appreciate you taking the time to acknolwedge them by name. Thanks for your business and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    495
    184
    93
    54
See reviews for
277
356
94
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at the Westin Pasadena during a professional conference in March. Event attendees were scattered about between several hotels near the Pasadena Convention Center. I chose the Westin based on reviews that I found here on Tripadvisor. I wasn't disappointed.

Of the four options provided to the conference goer, the Westin Pasadena was far and away the nicest. The staff is attentive and helpful.

I was particularly impressed with the caliber of the conierge and courtesy van staff. The van is clean and looks brand new. The night of my arrival it was raining. I asked how far to the restaurant area (because I was hungary for a steak)? Andrew, the driver aske me if I would like an Argentinean steak and I said of course! He knew the manager, called, got me a table, dropped me off at the front door and picked me up when I had finished my meal.

The rooms are clean and spaceous and the hotel has a pleasant openess about it. The photo you see of the hotel on TripAdvisor is of the view of their "Plaza de Fuentes". Also on the property is McCormick & Schmick's as well as the California Pizza Kitchen. It's a short walk to the shopping center or if you like, the courtesy van will drive you...

I would definately go back the the Westin Pasadena.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warpheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thanks for your kind words and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Westin Pasadena on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We reserved a king bed, deluxe bath(with bathtub) room. When we arrived, about 5pm, they gave us a handicapped room with sit down shower and two double beds. When we saw the room type we immediately called the desk and they THEN told us they had no room type available like we had booked earlier in the day! We called back in a few minutes and tried again. No luck. Our romantic getaway night was going to spend in double beds!
We were stranded, as it was a busy day in Pasadena and there was no hope that we could find another hotel, and we sure were not going to turn around and drive 3 hours back home.
So, we assumed they would make a fair adjustment to our bill for this.
Guess again.
They gave us the runaround, three different managers we needed to talk to, the last two took their sweet time (2 days after we had left) to call me back...oops, too big a decision for them, either....we needed to talk to an even higher manager who would call....three days later, never did....never will.
We have disputed the charge with VISA.

As to the hotel, it's good, not great. You can see that they are struggling(the huge Conference center part of it seems like a ghost town).
The repairs in the bathroom, caulking, looked like it was done by a blind
5 year old....just schmeared on by hand or something! When I asked for a refrig...oops, all out, we will bring you an ice chest. 2 hours later, they did, of course, no ice in it, and I had to go find the ice room and fill it.

The Valet parking was good and those people were very nice and friendly. The overall room was OK. Noisy walls though!
If you are looking for good service, don't expect to have your expectations met. Might as well be a Motel 6 in that regard....

Room Tip: Some rooms on lower level had doors that open up to an outer patio, good for fresh air, not so good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebraspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
I am sorry that you had such a bad experience when you stayed with us. That is certainly not how I wish for our guest to be treated while staying with us. I trust that you know that we can do better than this and will give us another opportunity. Thanks, Tim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Horrible! How this hotel got a 4 star rating I'm not sure....maybe people in that area are used to poor service and dirty rooms and this might seem like a step up from the other hotels? I'm not sure how it EVER passed for a 4 star hotel. I would rate it a 2 star at best. When we walked in, there was a mess of construction. Parking wasn't available unless you used the valet service, and the hotel clerk never looked up from the counter. We had to greet HIM, and walk him through his job. The room looked okay upon entrance, but then we see there are lumps in the bed, there's only one washrag and two towels for a reservation for 3 people. The remote control didn't work, and the floor hadn't been vacuumed in days. When we left our room the next morning the maid in the hall asked which room we were in. We erroneously thought she was asking so she could get our room done quickly. Actually, she must have wanted to make sure she hit up our room first to see what was there. My suitcase had been messed with!!!! We always pile up our towels and make our beds, but we weren't able to make these up because they were so poorly made and lumpy when we got there, so we though we'd let her make up the room. We went on our way leaving our usual tip of $5.00 just to change out towels. When we came back, AGAIN, the bed was lumpy with the cover just barely pulled up over the sheets and two towels. As we left the hotel for good (wasn't quick enough for me) that SAME maid almost hit our car on the way out of the parking lot. She must have been late for work....HORRIBLE stay. Would NEVER stay at a Westin again based on this hotel. ICK! Don't Do It!!!! You will REGRET IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
I am sorry that your experience at our hotel was "horrible". When first reading your remarks, I tried very hard not to be insulted as your experience does not coincide with any of our other guest's remarks. I realize that it was a bit uncomfortable during our recent project to refresh our reception area, but "horrible" is a bit strong. I would have welcomed the opportunity to turn your stay around while you ere here, but this was the first that I learned of your experience.

My sincerest apologies. Really. I only hope that you will chose to stay with Westin again when you travel. Our core brand value is to ensure that you are welcomed during your stay and that you are refreshed and renewed when you leave us.

My best regards, Tim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great experience all around .
Check in: fast and very friendly- Raj was delightful! Everyone friendly with the kids!
Bell help: awesome both of my stays, helpful and knowledgable
Parking: reasonable self parking $8
Rooms: fantastic large room with free frig.
Bathrooms: very nice, could use more hooks to hang stuff or more shelves
In room coffee: delicious!
Bathrobe in room: cozyyyy !
Restaurant: only a bar open with food and expensive in the evening;(
Could get a restaurant open at night
All in all great place! Book it!
Also has great walking around the hotel.
Pool: nice

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelMamalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay(s) with us and hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Westin Pasadena when you are back in the area. Be well, Tim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We paid about £70 a night through Priceline (If I'd paid the rack rate the review may not be so favourable!). Good chain hotel experience, clean, well located, good service with good facilities (gym, pool, $9 parking). Food in the bar decent enough, normal 4 star stuff at normal 4 star prices. Internet access very overpriced. If you have a car I highly recommend Pasadena over dowtown LA. We found it to be a lovely neighbourhood with lots of places to eat and drink - it felt safe too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lingheadcrumple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the States. Pasadena is a great place to visit and our hotel is conveniently located to enjoy a the experience. It is a very safe environment and I hope that you had the opportunity to walk around Old Pasadena. Your remarks are well received.

I trust that you would have had an equally good experience no matter how you booked your reservation, but I am glad that we had the opportunity to be your home away from home while in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

You get what you pay for. The Westin is more expensive than both the Hilton and Sheraton, but having stayed in all three, I find the extra cost to be worth the value in amenities, service, and most importantly, sleep.

The lobbies of the Sheraton and Hilton are perfectly reasonable. The rooms are also reasonable. But the rooms in the Sheraton and Hilton have cheap HVAC systems. The Hilton's blasted on me in the bed all night, and the Sheraton's was really loud. Both resulted in unrestful nights. The Westin has central air that is quiet and worked perfectly.

The pool and workout room are incomparably nicer at the Westin, looking out over the mountains, having shaded cabanas. The lobby bar is warm, with the walls lined with books, and the bar and restaurant have better and actually more affordable food.

Room Tip: Ask to face the back. The front faces a large avenue, so open windows are pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I would encourage all travelers to read your review. :)

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Pasadena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 km away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
3.3 km away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
1.1 km away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,205 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
811 reviews
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Property: The Westin Pasadena
Address: 191 N Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-1707
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing