We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
17
2
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
2
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Peaceful, quiet, remote setting next to the Dunning Winery. Rented the upstairs suite which was like being in a tree house. Christine welcomed me and provide a quick overview of the suite. There is a small refrigerator and microwave. Christine had the refrig stocked with orange juice, milk, cream, coffee, butter, cream cheese, potato chips and protein bars. The counter also provided cereal, popcorn and other snacks. All which was much appreciated during our two night stay. On the second night, we came back and there were freshly made brownies waiting which we enjoyed with a hearty bottle of wine after grilling our steak from J&R Meats, Paso Robles. A lot of effort and thought is given into making your stay enjoyable and comfortable.
My recommendation for improvements- Some of the furniture could be updated. The mattress is soft and the couch is starting to break down. I would also recommend upgrading to a larger flat screen TV. There was free wi-fi, but the speed was so slow it took 15 minutes to download my email and I gave up. Overall the place was clean, but the windows were dirty and the place could of used a light dusting.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank LGoehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2015

the Villa is what you want here....high on the hill with a Tuscan vista and miles of vineyards, mountains and things like out of a Kincaid painting. Bob Dunning make a pretty good wine too. The whole place is anything but commercial...its classy yet simple. elegant yet folksy, and compared to the in town options a real bargin !!!

Date of stay: March 2015
Thank hawaiidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This vineyard is very off the beaten path, GPS is strongly recommended if you are getting in late a night. Stay in the guest villa. It is at the top of the property with spectacular views of the vineyards, and at night Paso Robles in the distance.

Then there is the room, very private, very romantic. The spa tub's windows overlook the vineyards. The bed is extra comfy. Coffee and breakfast are in the kitchenette so as there is no one to disturb your time at the inn.

The owners have gone to great lengths to give their guests ultimate privacy, and it was just great. We will stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

Room tip: Stay in the guest villa.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martysfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our second visit to DRGS. Both times we have traveled as three couples and had the whole place for the weekend. We really enjoy the well stocked refrigerator for breakfast and snacks. Christine, the manager, was happy to resupply bottled waters. Suggest that you take some bug spray for sitting out on the porch in the evenings as there are some "no see ums". We weren't bothered by noise from the other suite, but it is an old cottage so don't go there expecting a soundproof room. We look forward to returning again!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank ccrride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Dunning Ranch is wonderful! My husband and I enjoyed a relaxing stay. We felt like we were guests in someone's charming home. The cottage is full of all the amenities you may need for your stay. We loved the beautiful evenings on the back porch and walking the property. The guest house is quiet and secluded, yet just a short drive to downtown Templeton, Paso Robles and wineries. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a unique and comfortable getaway. Looking forward to another vacation here!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews