We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD VALUE WHILE IN PASO ROBLES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE WHILE IN PASO ROBLES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was our first time staying in Paso Robles and picked this hotel based on other's reviews. My wife and I thought that the hotel was a four-star for value. It is close to downtown Paso Robles and close to all the wineries. Remember this is not the Ritz Carlton, but for the price we liked it.

Room Tip: Be sure to take a walk through old town Paso Robles. Lots of nice shops and very good restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    300
    67
    8
    8
See reviews for
203
355
41
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Me an my husband stayed at this hotel an this town for the first time. The rooms where very clean an the beds are very comfortable the price was perfect...Our son an his golf team also stayed at this same motel an they said the same thing

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Perfectly acceptable lodgeings. Clean, pleasant and comfortable. Nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradius2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is not a bad place to stay. However, the room we were given was very dark as it was situated in a corner. Even with the drapes open it was dark The lights inside the room were dim as well. We are members of the Best Western Rewards program and were expecting a better room on a Tueday night off season. If we were staying more than one night I would have asked to switch rooms. No complimentary continental breakfast but they offer a $5 off coupon for the adjacent diner. We decided to get breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJose
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We went to Paso Robles for our granddaughters awards presentation, no wine tasting this time. This is a perfectly fine place to stay at a reasonable rate when spending a day or two in Paso Robles for the purposes of a brief stop. It is not a destination for a romantic interlude, but it is nicer than your average Best Western. If you have children there is a nice pool in the center of the complex that isolates you area and looks like a relaxing place after a day of travel. It is very well located for access to the vineyards and has several food establishments within walking distance or driving (1 mile to downtown). We have stayed here before (and would again) in a number of Best Western establishments in the US and Europe and we fine it a clean, well run place and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We often visit Paso Robles for their wineries, and always stay at the Black Oak. They're convenintly located (easy to walk to the downtown wineries if you wish), and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. They don't offer breakfast, but you do get a $5 voucher for Margie's restaurant next door. That brings Margie's vastly overpriced (and seriously large helpings) food into a more reasonable rate. Try to make your reservations in advance if you can. They're a popular stop, and they fill up if there is a wine country event (like the annual ZinFest).
Ask at the front desk for coupons for free/discounted wine tastings. And if you're there for the wine, check out the local Albertsons. They have a terrific stock of local wines, some at steep discounts.

Room Tip: We ususally pay an extra $10 to get a deluxe version, which is a bit larger with a few more amenitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentheEnchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The evening front desk service at this moderately priced hotel is the best I have ever experienced at a major chain. They gave us a completely non-smoking room as we requested. When were later than expected, we called to let them know and they wanted to know if we preferred first floor or second floor accommodations. Our GPS was goofy and they guided us to the hotel step-by-step, they called our room to let us know that the interior lights in our rental car were on, they provided extra silverware so we could eat in our room the first night we were there. They gave excellent advice on local restaurants. We used the fridge and microwave and if we'd stayed longer I know we would have used the laundry.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The outdoor heated pool was open in January so my Pacific Northwest kid loved it!

It is a motel style - rooms open to the exterior. However it seems they actually monitor the cars in the parking lot since they discovered our dome light was on.

This was our second stay in the last few years. Really appreciated walking to the nearby Starbucks every morning. One night we ordered pie from the restaurant that was reasonably good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellystp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
0.4 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
1.8 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.7 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
Address: 1135 24th St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#3 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Best Western, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing