We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice historic inn”
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paso Robles Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

this is a really comfortable historic inn, with nice rooms and very big bathrooms. we stayed in a basic room but it was very nice and we had a towel animal to greet us! the gardens were lovely and really well maintained. we had breakfast in the coffee shop and they were HUGE we had a meal in the steak house it was really good and as guests we had a complimentary desert. we had a drink in the bar which was only ok, the bar tender was not very friendly (bordered on being rude). great place would recommend it.

Room Tip: any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I’m happy to hear we provide you with such a positive experience during your stay. I’m also happy to see you were able to enjoy all the great food and drink we have to offer.

I do want to apologize for the service you experience in our bar; the service you received is unacceptable. Please know we utilize all feedback to make sure we are providing the service and experience our guests deserve.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

The grounds are lovely with stately old oaks and a babbling creek. Check out the Cattlemen's Bar with painted beams and cows horns. The bar was lively with a cozy upstairs terrace to enjoy balmy Paso nights. I sampled Magellan gin for the first time. They have a quite reasonable selection of single malts, American whiskies and a wide variety of vodkas.
The Inn, restored with taste and authenticity, has an interesting history going back to the beginning of the town. Located right in the center of Paso Robles, it's within easy walk of more good restaurants and wine tasting rooms than you'll have time to enjoy.
We were lucky to stay on a Wednesday night and taste the prime rib special at the Inn Steakhouse. $19! Delicious. Unusually flavorful meat cooked exactly medium rare. I highly recommend it. The baked potato was perfect with the skin between crisp and chewy, just the way we love it. We ate on the patio with the rock pool and giant oaks as focal point.
Our room had a natural hot spring spa on the terrace. The shock of the sulfur smell was easily countered by a packet of fragrance supplied by the hotel. We were on the ground level and the terrace had drapes to pull for complete privacy.
A nice touch was the towel-sculpture bunny with two lollipops for eyes sitting on the bed when we arrived. Martin Resorts does a great job of maintaining their properties.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spring for a room with its own natural hot springs spa, there is hot tub by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

It is nice to hear we were able to provide you with such a positive experience during your stay. I’m also glad to see you were able to enjoy all the tasty food and drinks we have to offer.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Paso Robles Inn and was very satisfied. The Inn is very cute and has a very comfortable, quaint feel. Eachroom is equiped with a fridge and microwave and the Inn is located in a very central area. The Inn provides a lovely restaurant where we stopped for breakfast on a few occasions, the food and service were excellent. There is also a bar on site that has the basics. This Inn provided a very comfortable feel in a new town. I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TianaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and were able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Erica Renkert General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Paso Robles Inn is clean with beautiful grounds. We stayed in the Jesse James Building where we had a living room, one bedroom, and a jacuzzi on the porch. The jacuzzi is GREAT. Super hot water and fun to relax in after a long day of driving around.

The room was clean, but the bed and bath linens are kind'a old and low quality, even though we were staying in a newly refurbished room. For example our fitted sheet was so teeny that it kept popping out of place. They could also use better pillows. Otherwise it was all very nice, and an EXTREMELY good value for the money!

Room Tip: Stay in the Jesse James Building. The rooms are much larger and you'll have a big room and a jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me, your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is our goal that every guest’s experience exceeds their expectations.

Please know it is our practice to replace linens when they become worn. It appears that this did not occur and it is certainly not acceptable. I have addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me and I look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I feel bad giving it a 2 b/c it wasn't really that bad. But I can't give it a 3 for a few reasons. First, the grounds are really great, and the breakfast was also good. The location is fantastic.
Our room was not like any of the pictures that I see here. Dark and dated. I read some prior reviews that complain about lumpy pillows but I thought the pillows and bedding were fine. The carpet smelled a little like urine near my bed though so I wander if the prior guests maybe had a pet in there? It was also super loud b/c those next to and above us were loud. So between the noise and urine smell, the 2. The bathroom must have been recently remodeled so that was nice. Great shower, and spacious. Bath and Body works toiletries. I guess just ask for a newer or upgraded room and you'll be fine. I would probably stay here again but only if in a different room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

I really appreciate the time you took to offer feedback from your stay. We utilize all feedback to make sure we are providing the experience our guests deserve.

I apologize if there seemed to be an unpleasant odor and that your neighbors were loud. Our guest service desk is staffed 24 hours a day, so please do not hesitate to cll during your stay so we can rectify any situation to make your stay more pleasant.

I am glad to see there were many things that you enjoyed about your stay and I’m very pleased that you would return on a future visit. Please be assured the areas of concern have been looked into and addressed.

When making your future reservations please contact me personally so that I can ensure your stay meets your expectations.

Again thank you for taking the time to tell me about your recent stay.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I don't like the idea of posting a negative review but perhaps someone near to the owners can help point out the obvious flaws. At every level in the hotel industry people have a right to expect good, or at least fair, value. This place is simply way overpriced. Lumpy pillows, extremely worn sheets that felt dreadful next to the body, cheap amenities and fixtures, plus greatly lacking any sense of style. The newish curtains could have been a positive addition but they skimped and made them too short to provide proper privacy. It's true that the location is great, and there are some nice garden features. But, taking all factors into consideration, the room was priced way too high.

Overpricing a soulless room is one thing, but the lack of hospitality is a fatal error. The robotic young woman at the desk should really think about changing her line of work, or if she loves the field, she should seek additional training or classes to learn the art of hospitality.

We normally stay 15-20 nights a year in Paso Robles, and you can be sure we will not return to this business.

Room Tip: It's best to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onefootathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

I wanted to personally apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is our goal that every guest’s experience exceeds their expectations.

Please know it is our practice to replace linens & pillows when they become worn. It appears that this did not occur and it is certainly not acceptable. I have addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper.

I would also like to apologize that you found a Front Desk associate un-hospitable during your stay. Providing a caring and friendly interaction is our number one goal and it appears that we have failed. I assure you this has been addressed.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I would like to invite you back so we can provide you with a positive and memorable stay; one that reflects our usual standards.

Please contact me personally so that I can ensure your stay meets your expectations.

Again thank you for taking the time to tell me about your recent stay.

Sincerely,

Erica Renkert General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here for one night in late April. We were told about the spa rooms but initially declined, taking a standard garden view room. The Garden view room was quite nice, microwave and minifridge along with a HUGE bathroom with plenty of room for all my girly accessories. But my husband was still stuck on the idea of a sp room so we switched. For 40 extra dollars, we got a very similar room BUT there was a private porch with a jacuzzi hooked up to their natural hot springs on site. Nice in theory. BUT the jacuzzi was OLD...like an 80's model I'm guessing. And the special thing about the hot springs is the sulphur content so the smell of rotten eggs was noticable all the time. Overall a great place that I'd recommend...check in was easy ans the folks there were able to recommend some great restaurants and tasting rooms all within walking distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, glad to hear you were able to experience a deluxe spa room. The natural sulfer hot spring has been drawing visitors here for many years. The natural hot springs is sulfur, so there is an odor that some have compared to eggs. The odor is caused by sulfur dioxide gas that escapes into the air, but after the jets are running for a few minutes , the smell dissipates. We also provide fragrance packets to our guests. Once it dissipates, our guests enjoy the benefits of the natural sulfur hot springs which include lowering blood pressure, helping to relieve arthritis pain and detoxifying the body. I’m sorry you were not overall satisfied with your spa tub. We are currently in the process of updating all our spa tubs with a more modern look and feel; this is a large project and we are hoping to have it completed by next year.

Again thank you for taking the time to tell me about your recent stay.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.1 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
4.2 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
649 reviews
2.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
699 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
486 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Address: 1103 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: $180 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing