We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petaluma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Campground”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Ok, lets start off by saying yes, in the summer months and on weekends it is packed and there are a lot of kids. But they also have a lot of things for kids to do, jumping pillow, pool, rock wall, petting zoo, banana bikes, hay rides, etc. We have stayed several times in both the cabins and the lodges as well as once in a tent. The sites are pricey and on the high end of the cost, but the kids have a blast and it is always clean. I have never seen the bathroom anything but spotless and all of the staff are super friendly. If you are willing to pay the extra money go for the camping lodge with its own bathroom, kitchen, and bbq...nice upgrade. During the weekend they do have activites for the kids, some free, and some a nominal charge. My kids always ask to go back to this place and I would recommend it for families.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horseloverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    58
    20
    22
    14
See reviews for
89
51
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
240 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Another highly reccomended KOA campsite. Stopped to for my first visit to San Francisco, lovely site, plenty of room. Very nice professionaly run site, very nice family owned place.Its very handy to visit SF from here, the campsite does a tour, or you can just walk down the road a bit and catch a public bus into Frisco, you have to get up a bit early to that, but worth it to have a full day in the city. The campsite shop has the bus timetables and will advise you of the best buses to catch.Can't fault the campsite at all, will stop there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john461212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We took our San Francisco KOA tour of San Francisco on the last day it was offered this season, October 31. The tour was fantastic due mainly to John, the great driver/guide. John was born in San Francisco and was able to share so many things with us that a non-native could not have done. That said, the tour was structured so that we got off the van several times during the day, even giving us a chance to ride the cable cars. We could not have asked for a better experience. We highly recommend this tour. We were not staying at the KOA but the tour is offered to people staying elsewhere.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I really thought we'd get more value for the amount we had to pay for this campsite. Maybe part of the problem is that we were there on a weekend. Kids everywhere! State cg had nothing available with electrical hookups so we ended up booking a spot at the KOA. We booked 3 nights at about $70-$80/night (at least double the rated of the state cg). At least we booked an end site; sites were close together and not as private as we would like. Neighbors pitched tents and parked their bikes on the grassy area between our sites. We were sleeping about a foot away from them. We could only find 3 buildings with toilets in the entire park. We could only find one building with showers. Three shower stalls for that many people???!!! About 10-15 toilets in total? State parks have way more facilities. The bathroom closest to us was filthy within a couple hours of cleaning.; not surprising considering how many people had to share it. Showers were reasonably clean, but it was tricky to time it right. The pool was Kid Soup. For the price we paid, we thought breakfast was included. NOT! $3 for a single pancake and juice; $5 for two. We didn't bother. Actually had to pay extra upon arrival because we were a party of 4, although I had indicated that when I booked. By the end of our second night, my teens had enough and wanted to leave. We left a day early but were not able to get a refund. Our first time at a KOA; probably our last unless we are desperate.
Best parts of our stay there include WiFi, and nice chairs and log swing on the end site. (Do not stay on a site near the pool!) Also appreciated having laundry facilities. Coffee and hot chocolate was available for a reasonable price in the store. It's probably better than most of the RV Park(ing lots) we passed by on our trip, but we vastly prefer State campgrounds. It might be okay if you have young kids that need a lot of entertainment but not a place for adults looking for a quiet time away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

What a wonderful site, lovely setting and far enough away from the madding crowds of San Francisco to make it feel like you could be anywhere but there!

Excellent pool facility, lovely clean showers and toilets! Extremely popular site, was very busy, however it never stopped the site representatives from being helpful and couteous.

We where camping in a tent (family of 3), our site was extremely adequate with elevtric and water, the usual camping table and for a change even a lamp over the table (not every table had this, lol)

The site was a little small and not particularly even, but it was grassed and had a little shade to escape the heat of the sun. However, not all the sites where so good and we were lucky that when we arrived they weren't all booked, as we could not have got our tent (average size) on the pitch next to us, as it was just simply too small).

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay, only 50 miles from San Francisco Bay, and if you dont want to drive through the madness of San Francisco, the site provide and incredibly good vale for money trip to the city!

Would definately consider returning here! Thank you to all concerned at the site for making our stay a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinwc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

It is a circus, not a campground. True campers looking for nature and solitude must NOT come here. They put two 35 year olds on a tiny, uneven patch of land right in the middle of an intersection AND right next to an extremely loud, busy playground. It really was right in the middle of an intersection, a road on both sides just feet away from your picnic table and tent. High foot traffic as well with people always staring and teenagers with immature comments. Kids screaming, constantly driving by in bikes and scooters. Because the whole site was uneven and small it was hard to place a tent, and sleeping was difficult with the bed at an odd angle where you had to fight to stay on the bed. FAKE campsite, it is just a little hangout for people to bring their kids. This is NOT for true campers, you will be very annoyed with the noise. This is an honest review of an experience with site 129.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmcclusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed three nights in space #147. These spots are the normal small RV spots. Didn't like being right across from the Rec center becasue of all the traffic. Banana bike rental was right there so we had that additional traffic as well. The kids enjoyed the ice cream socials and a couple of us even partook in the pancake breakfast.
We had NO issue with barnyard small at all. Bathrooms and garbage were both kept very clean. Pool is large and well used. Everyone seemed to be having a great time. Jump pillow was a hit.
We didn't go into any of the different cabins, but they looked cute and had picnic tables & bbqs. (What a great option.)

B,C,D, E, F have larger RV sites. With C39, D48, E57 having extra large grassy areas.

***Base rate only includes two adults and max occ is six people per site.***
The only reason we probably won't go back is cost. $260 for three nights just seems too much for camping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
5.5 km away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
7.6 km away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
138 reviews
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
10.4 km away
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
#3 of 10 in Rohnert Park
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

Property: San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA
Address: 20 Rainsville Rd, Petaluma, CA 94952-8121
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Petaluma
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy glamcamping in the heart of the Wine Country and a short trip to San Francisco, Coastal Beaches, Graton Rancheria Casino, Sonoma Raceway, Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Petaluma Premium Outlet shopping, Lagunitas Brewery, many golf courses and more wineries than you can count! We are located near so many ways to play you may need several days. We offer all types of accommodations at our beautiful glamcamping resort from tenting, cabins, RV sites to full service glamcamping in our Wine Country Lodges. Wine Country lodges offer all the comfort of a hotel combined with all the fun of one of Americas top family resorts. Your Wine Country Lodge even comes with Wine glasses, a gas grill, a fire pit and all the stars you can count. The family will love our bounce pillow, rock wall, beautiful pool and hot spa, banana bikes, gold panning area, petting farm, recreation hall and more. San Francisco Tours leave the resort daily May1-October31st. Our friendly staff are happy to assist you in planning an unforgettable vacation. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Francisco North / Petaluma Koa Hotel Petaluma
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing