We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for downtown Petaluma”
Review of Metro Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our youngest daughter was recently married at the Mystic Theatre and this hotel was a perfect choice of lodging for our family and several wedding guests. Everyone commented on how quaint and authentically Parisian it seemed. In fact one couple, recently returned from Europe, said it reminded them of some of the places they saw in France. Also, we found the staff very helpful and courteous.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

This place is an absolute hoot! It's obvious that it was substantially refurbished recently. The paint job is fresh almost everywhere, and the small details all work fine. There is terrific art work on the walls, and I defy you to walk directly to your room without stopping to look at the art. The coffee in the morning is very good. You need to walk downtown to get a substantial breakfast, which is easily available. Parking is a little problematic, as it can be tight. We went during winter months (March) and the price was exceptionally reasonable. I don't know what happens in high season to the prices. No HD tv? Are they kidding? that has to change. Wifi is available, but a hair slow. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but not expert in the area. All in all, this is an excellent choice for visiting Petaluma.

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor are steep, and I mean, really steep. if this is an issue, definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjoser60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We usually stay at "big" name hotels, not this time and we were so happy with our choice! Metro Hotel in charming Petaluma was a perfect get away for us. Our room was cozy and the vintage touches amazing. We loved every minute we were there. It is definitely on the list of places to go and stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A very friendly place with a mom and pop feel. My room had a comfy bed and the bath...oh man the bath. It was huge, I probably spent 2 hours in there, and it came equipped with rubber duckies to play with!

Easy parking in the back, blueberry muffins in the morning, and there was a cute little girl who sold me a plate of lemons. I managed to haggle her down to 1$ but she did drive a hard bargain.

Overall it was a great . If you're looking for small quiet family run place with a huge bath this is your best bet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ren0cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Petaluma seems to have prospered in the last decade. They're proud of their past as "the egg basket of the world," and they should also be proud of the amenities they now offer tourists. This hotel is colorful, stylish and affordable. Much more comfortable than what you would find in a town of comparable size in France!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I booked this hotel as a Valentine's getaway for my husband and I. Great location within walking distance to restaurants in downtown Petaluma. Great wine bar near the movie theatre and excellent dinner at Cucina Paradiso on the main street! Everything is sort of do-it-yourself at the hotel which was fine for us. Great decore, comfy beds! Shower could have a little more pressure, but we were upstairs. Hallways and stairs a little noisy, but guests were very considerate of each other. Adorable little garden area with bocce ball court. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckie94954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Thank you for giving us a truly unique French experience in your lovely town. The hotel was further evidence that we can't go wrong when we stay away from the cookie cutter hotels on the busy interstates. Our room was quiet and nicely decorated and we got a good night's sleep. We enjoyed our visit with the owner before leaving and have promised we will be back to further explore Petaluma and the surrounding area.

Ralph M.

Room Tip: If you can manage stairs stay on the upper level. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.0 km away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
46 reviews
2.1 km away
Best Western Petaluma Inn
1.7 km away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
16.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
28.5 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952-5129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range: $148 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning! Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel & Cafe Petaluma, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing