We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
81
33
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
33
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobby area is beautiful hotel restaurant downstairs sipping wine wine tasting room great bathroom otis elevator roaring fire street parking beautiful lobby fluffy towels queen room front desk old fashioned convenient location comfortable beds wine country
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 125 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

the Shuckery Restaurant is an extension of Hotel Petaluma. I can't wait to go back. My husband & I went for my birthday last Friday. We had an array of appetizers: Peruvian Ceviche, Fresh from the Boat Calamari, 1/2 doz Oysters, a plate of Fish Tacos and an incredible Cyprus Cab. Yes, red with seafood every time; only if the Cab is perfect & the seafood is fresh. Our server,Tyler, was great! He orchestrated the timing of the food to table perfectly. The flavors & freshness of everything was amazing! My husband has Celiac Disease (gluten intolerant); the menu is perfect. Reservations are highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank The_Laras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Well, Happy Belated Birthday! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your special dinner so much and that our menu works well with your husband's food sensitivities. Tyler will be delighted that he helped to make your evening. Cyprus Cab with seafood? Yes Please! It sounds like you made all of the right choices for your big day and we couldn't be happier! Thanks so much for letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Stayed 2 nights for work. Great location - you can walk everywhere in Petaluma from the hotel. Easy to find. Foyer is beautiful with its heritage charm. The rooms have been renovated very well with a nice design. As other reviews state it can be very noisy - my room looked out onto the alley way where the bins were located so at night at the restaurant staff were out the back making a noise also people talking in the hallways could be heard very easily. thankfully I was jetlagged/tired so fell asleep super fast but if you are a light sleeper you will find it an issue (they do supply ear plugs). The complimentary water and coffee machine were appreciated.
The room was clean upon check in. I ate at the restaurant downstairs and though pricey it was an excellent meal with good service.
The biggest issue with this hotel is parking so be forewarned. There is no parking on site and the street parking is only for 2hours (you can park overnight but must move your car before 10am). 1 block from the hotel you can park in the street all day so there is a solution but just don't expect parking on site.
I thought it was good value for money though I didn't stay over the weekend so not sure of rates.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAussiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent business trip and thank you for the detailed review. We're gratified to know that our location suited your needs so well and that you enjoyed a pleasant stay in your clean room. It's also good to see that you enjoyed the onsite dining option and felt your stay was a good value. Please accept our apologies for any concerns you had with the noise level and parking situation. As you mentioned, we do supply earplugs and parking is at a premium in the area, so we do our best to assist our guests with finding accessible parking spots. If your travels bring you back to the area, we welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Excellent location, staff, cleanliness, and charm. Coming to the HP you would expect the charm of the hotel. Being in the center of so much window shopping, restaurants, banks and pubs! Just the added bonus. interesting décor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank yupts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you for spending some time here at the Hotel Petaluma! We're happy to read that not only was the historic charm of our hotel a delight but that it was perfectly complemented by the beautiful town around us. Our staff takes great care to make sure that the storied ambiance of our accommodations is balanced with the modern conveniences our guests deserve. Pay us another visit and find even more to love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

I am rating it poor for the following reasons: room size and price point. I feel like we paid too much for two nights. Charged almost double for a Saturday. Rooms have been remodeled but they are small and noisy. They provide earplugs in all rooms they said. Don't stay above the courtyard. The walls in the room we stayed in were scrapped up a bit. Maybe because they are so small not a lot of room to move around. Reminded me of hotels in New York. There was no place to put toiletries in the bathroom. I had to put things on a shelf under the tv. I did like that it was downtown and lots of nice places to eat and shop. The front desk gave us a list of places. I would visit the city again but stay at a different place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shielaAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Shiela,
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to Petaluma, and appreciated the guidance that our amazing front desk team provided. We understand that what many of our guests love most about us is our fantastic location downtown with easy access to all that the city has to offer! Unfortunately, the downside is that we can at times experience noise from the busy streets, and we try to alleviate that with complimentary earplugs for all of our guests. It is regrettable that you thought your room to be too small and did not find the value in your stay with us. We hope that in the future, if you visit the area, you will give us an opportunity to provide you with a more comfortable stay and we would be happy to assist you in choosing one of the larger sized accommodations that we have available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Was okay, though there were a few issues. The room smelled badly for the first 2 days. Then cleared up without anyone explaining what was going on. Also the shower curtain did not touch the shower pan, thus the bathroom was wet... The $50.00 parking card refund has not yet happened.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GayleMeagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Petaluma, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Gayle,
Thank you for your choosing to stay at the Hotel Petaluma during your recent wedding trip. We apologize for the smell you found in your room upon check-in, and encourage guests to notify us of any issues they encountered so we may have the opportunity to find a solution for them. Thank you for your feedback regarding the shower curtain as we look to improve upon that. Our records show that the Parking Pass refund was initiated on the 20th at check out. Please contact us if you do not see your parking card refund come through in the next day or two. Many thanks for a positive review, and we hope you will choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews