We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Seal Inn
Nearby Hotels
Pismo Lighthouse Suites(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Cliff Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn by the Sea(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Inn at the Cove(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$249
Inn at the Cove
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cliffs Resort(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$242
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaVenture Beach Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$585
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa(Pismo Beach)
US$489
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$147
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
3
12
19
14
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
19
14
36
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile

Old run down motel with sad and unfriendly staff.
We stayed only one night in the wintertime - in the room there wasn't any heating - only after asking the hotel staff they gave us small portable heater.
Overall very old and dirty, uncomfortably bed felt like 10 old mattress toppers one over another, dirty bed linen, no hairdryer. This place is advertised with continental breakfast - all we got were 2 types of cornflakes and some pre packed muffins. There isn't even a space to sit for breakfast because the breakfast room is the reception at the same time. Don't bother to stay here!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Demon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016

My mother reserved this room for my son and his girlfriend during a family get-together. Horrible room, and we asked about limiting their stay to one night -- "No Refunds!" So they planned to stay. When they went back to the room the second night, they learned that the owner had given away their room. Wasn't sure if they would be returning. Really? So, of course, one would expect a refund for the night they gave away. One would be wrong. "No Refunds!" NEVER STAY HERE

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cieldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2016

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday, though, after seeing the room, we tried to avoid it as much as possible. The negative reviews about this place are generally pretty accurate. The rooms are just dirty. Several of the surfaces in the room were inexplicably sticky. The bathroom was so filthy as to be unusuable; the toilet wasn't even hooked up to the water at first. The carpet was pretty disgusting, we didn't take our shoes off much. The bedding had some really suspicious stains and the comforter was torn up and looked like it has needed replacing for a while. Oh, and our remote didn't work (which didn't make that big of a difference since the TV wasn't working either). There was a hilariously creepy hole in the wall, which wouldn't have been so bad if we hadn't had the hotel owners on one side of our room and a guy with a teardrop face tattoo on the other side.

We had reserved the room for two nights, but returned in the afternoon on the second day to find that our keys weren't working. When we went to the front desk, the guy told us he wasn't sure if we were coming back or not and that he had rented out the room. Didn't quite know how to respond to that one. He offered to give us a new room, but we were pretty over this place by this point and decided to get out while we still could. No refund on that second night, of course.

Overall, I'm not quite sure what's happening at this hotel, but it is so unnecessarily bad that I'm at a loss. All they really need to do is clean the rooms, buy new bedding and respect people's reservations, but it seems like this has been going on for years here. The hotel is in kind of a sketchy neighborhood, although it is fairly close to the pier and several other attractions. Since there's a dozen other hotels within walking distance of the Blue Seal Inn, I'd recommend avoiding this place if at all possible. You'll pay more, but you also won't wake up worried about transmittable diseases. Also, that cinnamon roll place down the street is legendary, so definitely check that out.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Cheap....walking distance to pier...shops....cinnamon rolls...manager was very nice...brought us a fan for our room...very clean....beds very comfortable...sister stayed in handicap room and was perfect...lots of room for walker and wheelchair...

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Toni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Stopped off in Pismo beach for a nights stay as we drove upto SF from LA. We randomly picked this motel but it wasn't the best move we made. It was pricey for what you got, which was very little. The sign outside reception promised a tv in every room - yes, but no remote! It was just as well we were out and about as we couldnt use the tv without the remote. The room was dirty, and tge whole place was just run down. Wouldn't recommend.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews