We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
64
52
46
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
52
46
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome basket ocean view sister property rooms are extremely bed was comfortable an older hotel beach house fridge and microwave amazing views road trip room was large pismo dog walkable pet steps path
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 201 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

We got together for a memorial service. Each room was hand picked by myself. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only drawback was that I requested downstairs rooms. Our family member died from complications from falling down a flight of stairs. It was disappointing to arrive and find many people in our family had been assigned upstairs rooms.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mary Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory K, General Manager at The Tides Oceanview Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the mis-communication, I will look into this to correct any mistakes in the future. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Lucked into wonderful weather, the property was as advertised simple clean rooms with minimum amenities. The property was able to accommodate our group of four couples with comfortable king beds. Two of us had ocean view rooms with amazing views. Our unit #210 even had a great deck next to it for cocktails and viewing.

Room Tip: Look at map to choose units, some are more private than others, some have small private decks
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory K, General Manager at The Tides Oceanview Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

So glad I read the TripAdvisor reviews. If you're looking for luxury and top amenities, this is Not the place for you. If you want clean, comfortable, great views and a fantastic staff you'd be wise to check in to the Tides. Through March they are having a great deal! The staff are more than helpful and we enjoyed the perfect location to downtown Pismo Beach. Rumor is the current structure will be torn down for a new multi-story building. Get in now while the you can still get the charm and the prices are still low. We loved it! We have already made plans for March.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank CaWineChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory K, General Manager at The Tides Oceanview Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Thank you for your review. We love to hear from our guests. Please keep us in mind during your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Made reservation several months in advance for a 5 night stay through a marketing site that manages a number of hotels but called directly to The Tides to firm up specific room location; promised first floor near rear (away from highway, along shoreline cliff)....not "if available' or "we'll try", but a firm commitment. Upon arrival informed only room available was on second floor (very steep narrow stairwell) and clerk said there was no record of any special request in the computer. First impression: pretty small, absolutely bare room (no artwork on walls, only some old window treatments that looked like they were ready for the junk yard, 1 minuscule table. Beds were OK, but the rest was a nightmare...large window almost the same size of the door adjacent to it did not lock! (Room clerk assured us the area was"vey safe"when we called to complain. A plug-in fan was there, but very noisy (needed it as room was very warm). One of the beds was wedged in front of a another broken-down window with shoddy draperies that were crushed behind the bed. Bathroom was a JOKE!!! The one in our small camping trailer is larger. Tiny sink with barely working faucet (almost no water pressure. Did have a decent size shower, BUT the non-adjustable (not just the spray pattern, but impossible to change its direction of spray) new looking shower head was installed about 3 -5 inches from the opening (parallel) so that there was no way to stand under the water and even standing in the center and leaning toward it, water hit only my forehead! The noise from construction site (not warned about this) immediately outside the rear windows started about 6 am...when cement and other large trucks started backing into position (beep, beep, etc.) and workmen gathered to start talking about the day, dragging their tools out of the trucks, etc but technically did not start "real work" until 7 am. The clerk the next morning was totally unsympathetic. We checked out and found a wonder place just 2 properties north.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TulsaDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory K, General Manager at The Tides Oceanview Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Thank you for your review. I apologize for your inconvenience. I will look into the miscommunication on your request. We do our best to make sure all guests are comfortable and have a positive experience. I will personally review with our staff all of your concerns. If you are in the Pismo Beach area again, I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights with our dog during our recent evacuation from the Thomas fire. We couldn't have made a better choice. This is an charming, old-style place - immensely comfortable and clean - new flooring throughout, and well maintained. The staff were wonderfully helpful and sweet. The bed was so comfy. Fridge in room. Beautiful water views from the end of the property. Walkable (7 blocks or so) to downtown, a two block walk to beach access. We will definitely be back here during our next visit to Pismo.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneG40505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory K, General Manager at The Tides Oceanview Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had to stay with us under evacuation conditions, but we glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews