We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shore Cliff Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$341
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pismo Lighthouse Suites(Pismo Beach)
US$389
US$350
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn by the Sea(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel(Pismo Beach)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$369
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaVenture Beach Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$331
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandcastle Inn(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$319
US$198
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$766
US$367
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$406/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Spyglass Inn(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$222
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveller rating
1,064
433
107
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
433
107
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe upper levelocean viewsea ottersgreat viewrooms are largeyogurtventana grillroad noisebreakfast roomthe cliffshort drivecentral coastupon checkbeautiful locationfree breakfastsan francisco
Filter
Updating list...
1,386 - 1,391 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the view was 'to die for' and provided us with our first sighting of dolphins and whales in their natural habitat. My family and I all agreed that this was the BEST hotel of our Pacific Coast holiday (and we stayed at some wonderful hotels in San Francisco, LA and San Diego). It was so peaceful and we loved being able to sit on our private balcony and enjoy the spectacular views - our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer than our two overnights. If we ever visit Pismo Beach again, we will DEFINITELY stay at the Shelter Cove Lodge.....I'm already recommending it to my family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroomJockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read about what an enjoyable experience you had during your visit. I have to agree with you, our views are incredible and the amount of wildlife you can see from our property is remarkable. Thank you for the wonderful recommendations and we cant wait to see you next time!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everyroom has an ocean view, however, the noise from the 101 competed with the crashing waves at night, even with the doors closed we could hear the cars. Otherwise, sitting on the balcony in the morning with coffee was peaceful. The property is clean and staff helpful. We hardly saw other guests, very quiet although I believe the place was booked. Clean pool with plenty of seating. Absolutely hate staying in a no smoking room just to have the guy down stairs smoking on his patio....we had to close our sliding door several times just to keep the smell out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Turleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Shelter Cove Lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room and were able to relax to the sound of the ocean each morning.

I am sorry to hear that someone below you was smoking on their balcony. We are a 100% non-smoking property and one of the ways we attempt to enforce this is with our “Pleasant Stay Policy”. All guest are required to sign this at check-in to ensure that they are knowledgeable of the considerations we would like them to make during their stay with us. This policy clearly states that we are a non smoking hotel; however unfortunately not all guests are compliant with this policy at all times. I am apologetic that this was the case during your stay. Please do not hesitate to inform the front desk should something of this nature occur during any future stays. All staff members are trained and able to address these type of issues to assist in offering a pleasant stay for each and every guest.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and look forward to seeing you soon.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We've stayed previous years in a condo in Oceano - but we needed something more affordable this year. A chance email reminded me I had Best Western Rewards points, and we decided on the Shelter Cove. This is our new favorite place in the area! We stop in the 5 Cities area on our way home from Cambria to ride the dunes every year, but we are thinking about re-orienting our trip next year just to stay at the Shelter Cove more than one night.

VERY spacious room, beautifully appointed, and the balcony with 180-degree ocean views cannot be beat. The only changes I would make would be a way to turn off one's balcony light at night, and re-wire the bathroom fan so that it's connected to the heat lamp and not the vanity lights. But these are tiny, tiny issues. We were really impressed with this hotel, the great service, and the fabulous setting. We'll recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Others have commented that the upper floors have road noise, but we didn't experience that. We were in 606 and all we heard was the surf at night, and the seagulls in the morning.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay. By telling us what you loved about your stay and how we may improve, you are helping us to continue delivering superior customer service to you and future guests. I am thrilled to hear that we have become your new favorite place to visit and cant wait to see you next year!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Shelter Cove Lodge is the last (or first) motel on Price Street in Pismo, which affords guests a quiet setting and an ideal location close to the Park at Dinosaur Caves and Margo Dodd Park in Shell Beach. The Lodge is pet and child friendly, but this in no way interferes with quests who bring neither.

The rooms are maybe a little more than what one would expect at a Best Western Plus - very well appointed, spacious, comfortable, and affordable. All rooms have a deck with two chairs and a small table. Many guests have commented on the ocean views from their rooms, and yes the views are wonderful. Be prepared to see countless numbers of pelicans, sea gulls, sea lions and other wildlife parade in front of your balcony.

The breakfast is perhaps the least best thing about the Lodge, but it is in keeping with what is typically found at a Best Western Plus. I had an issue with check-in, and will address that issue when reviewing my stay on the Best Western website, but don't worry Kalie, I loved your Lodge.

Room Tip: Go for the 400 or 500 numbered rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you found our location and accommodations to be enjoyable. I do appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast area and wanted to let you know that we are developing plans to expand this space in the fall. We are looking forward to this enhancement and know that our guests will be pleased as well. I did review your comments on Best Western regarding your check in experience and want to assure you that it has been addressed. Again thank you for you wonderful review and I look forward to having the pleasure of meeting you during your next visit.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have been to Pismo Beach but this is the first at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the view fantastic! Liked the high chairs on the patio! The staff was pleasant, and loved the Bath and Body Works shampoo, lotion and soap. It was very relaxing and peaceful, with lots of places to sit outside and just enjoy the environment. Very quiet.

Room Tip: The second floor offers great ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieD1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I’m very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience and were able to enjoy our amenities, spectacular views and relaxing atmosphere. It is our goal as a team at Shelter Cove to make every guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Pismo Beach area.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews