We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Perfect place to get away from the Southern California heat and traffic. Ocean view, quiet and tranquil, clean and comfortable room, doggie friendly. My dog even got a welcome tray:)) competitive prices, given the location. Except some noisy neighbors (who also decided to use the A/C on a cold day!!), this place was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that both you and you doggie felt welcome and were able to relax and enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at the Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the view was 'to die for' and provided us with our first sighting of dolphins and whales in their natural habitat. My family and I all agreed that this was the BEST hotel of our Pacific Coast holiday (and we stayed at some wonderful hotels in San Francisco, LA and San Diego). It was so peaceful and we loved being able to sit on our private balcony and enjoy the spectacular views - our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer than our two overnights. If we ever visit Pismo Beach again, we will DEFINITELY stay at the Shelter Cove Lodge.....I'm already recommending it to my family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroomJockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read about what an enjoyable experience you had during your visit. I have to agree with you, our views are incredible and the amount of wildlife you can see from our property is remarkable. Thank you for the wonderful recommendations and we cant wait to see you next time!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Everyroom has an ocean view, however, the noise from the 101 competed with the crashing waves at night, even with the doors closed we could hear the cars. Otherwise, sitting on the balcony in the morning with coffee was peaceful. The property is clean and staff helpful. We hardly saw other guests, very quiet although I believe the place was booked. Clean pool with plenty of seating. Absolutely hate staying in a no smoking room just to have the guy down stairs smoking on his patio....we had to close our sliding door several times just to keep the smell out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Turleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Shelter Cove Lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room and were able to relax to the sound of the ocean each morning.

I am sorry to hear that someone below you was smoking on their balcony. We are a 100% non-smoking property and one of the ways we attempt to enforce this is with our “Pleasant Stay Policy”. All guest are required to sign this at check-in to ensure that they are knowledgeable of the considerations we would like them to make during their stay with us. This policy clearly states that we are a non smoking hotel; however unfortunately not all guests are compliant with this policy at all times. I am apologetic that this was the case during your stay. Please do not hesitate to inform the front desk should something of this nature occur during any future stays. All staff members are trained and able to address these type of issues to assist in offering a pleasant stay for each and every guest.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and look forward to seeing you soon.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We've stayed previous years in a condo in Oceano - but we needed something more affordable this year. A chance email reminded me I had Best Western Rewards points, and we decided on the Shelter Cove. This is our new favorite place in the area! We stop in the 5 Cities area on our way home from Cambria to ride the dunes every year, but we are thinking about re-orienting our trip next year just to stay at the Shelter Cove more than one night.

VERY spacious room, beautifully appointed, and the balcony with 180-degree ocean views cannot be beat. The only changes I would make would be a way to turn off one's balcony light at night, and re-wire the bathroom fan so that it's connected to the heat lamp and not the vanity lights. But these are tiny, tiny issues. We were really impressed with this hotel, the great service, and the fabulous setting. We'll recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Others have commented that the upper floors have road noise, but we didn't experience that. We...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay. By telling us what you loved about your stay and how we may improve, you are helping us to continue delivering superior customer service to you and future guests. I am thrilled to hear that we have become your new favorite place to visit and cant wait to see you next year!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Shelter Cove Lodge is the last (or first) motel on Price Street in Pismo, which affords guests a quiet setting and an ideal location close to the Park at Dinosaur Caves and Margo Dodd Park in Shell Beach. The Lodge is pet and child friendly, but this in no way interferes with quests who bring neither.

The rooms are maybe a little more than what one would expect at a Best Western Plus - very well appointed, spacious, comfortable, and affordable. All rooms have a deck with two chairs and a small table. Many guests have commented on the ocean views from their rooms, and yes the views are wonderful. Be prepared to see countless numbers of pelicans, sea gulls, sea lions and other wildlife parade in front of your balcony.

The breakfast is perhaps the least best thing about the Lodge, but it is in keeping with what is typically found at a Best Western Plus. I had an issue with check-in, and will address that issue when reviewing my stay on the Best Western website, but don't worry Kalie, I loved your Lodge.

Room Tip: Go for the 400 or 500 numbered rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you found our location and accommodations to be enjoyable. I do appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast area and wanted to let you know that we are developing plans to expand this space in the fall. We are looking forward to this enhancement and know that our guests will be pleased as well. I did review your comments on Best Western regarding your check in experience and want to assure you that it has been addressed. Again thank you for you wonderful review and I look forward to having the pleasure of meeting you during your next visit.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have been to Pismo Beach but this is the first at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the view fantastic! Liked the high chairs on the patio! The staff was pleasant, and loved the Bath and Body Works shampoo, lotion and soap. It was very relaxing and peaceful, with lots of places to sit outside and just enjoy the environment. Very quiet.

Room Tip: The second floor offers great ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieD1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I’m very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience and were able to enjoy our amenities, spectacular views and relaxing atmosphere. It is our goal as a team at Shelter Cove to make every guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Pismo Beach area.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We've been vacationing at Shell Beach (Pismo) for the past 12 years, and we ALWAYS stay at
the Shelter Cove! The rooms are spacious, comfortable, beautifully clean and offer wonderful views of the ocean, no matter where you are! The beds are very comfy...and we appreciate having a fridge, coffee maker and microwave available (Most nights we bring back restaurant
doggie bags and reheat next morning.) The views from your private balcony are breathtaking...
just last week we saw several whales feeding, and dolphins, gulls, and pelicans are always
cruising by. The weather is always perfect...even when there's fog, it burns away by mid afternoon. We have also stayed at Shelter Cove "off season"...once in November, and once
in February, and - despite cold weather - we were very snug, and really loved watching the turbulence of the ocean and the storm clouds that dramatically drifted across the bay.
Most tourists love Pismo proper...with its shops and restaurants...but we prefer hanging out
in Shell Beach and Port San Luis. Walking the pier, appreciating the wild life ...collecting
sand dollars are some of the things that keep us coming back for more. Shelter Cove is
our "getaway" place, for sure! - JCarlander

Room Tip: unless you have small children, you probably don't want a room too close to the pool :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I appreciate you including so many details of what you enjoy during your stays with us. We are so happy to hear that you return year after year and always have a pleasant experience. I hope to have the pleasure of meeting you during one of your next visits and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.1 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
1.0 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,240 reviews
0.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,740 reviews
2.8 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
2.4 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $228 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing