We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I really enjoy staying at Sandcastle Inn they are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the service was exceptional. They are in the process of remodeling the hotel which is much needed. I have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years and it remains my favorite place in pismo.

Room Tip: If you have small children don't stay on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    292
    106
    30
    18
See reviews for
373
486
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was our first time at the Sandcastle Inn and we can't wait to come back. The rooms are neat and cozy and the staff was friendly, kind and helpful. Great walking distance to some awesome restaurants, too. This is a perfect location - your right on the beach!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Sandcastle Inn is a great hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast area is rather small inside, but there is plenty of seating outside. During our stay, they were starting a renovation. The rooms seemed up to date to me, but a little renovation never hurts! The hotel is right on the beach, so if you are looking to wake up and take a few steps to relax on the beach, this is the place for you. The Sandcastle Inn is also just a short walk away from Splash Cafe and stores.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie_2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmar, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I stay at the Sandcastle whenever we head south to visit our daughter at collage. Its always peaceful and quite, breakfast is good and the staff always friendly. The Sandcastle is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dian32496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

It's a family tradition that we go to pismo and sandcastle inn each year. We love it and have never been disappointed. Location is perfect, it's clean and cozy, breakfasts are great and the staff are always helpful and kind. We just can't say enough. Carl & Vicki Brown

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stumbled across this lovely hotel on our way up to San Franciso. Very friendly front desk staff - couldn't do enough for us. Helped us order in pizza after a late arrival. Daylight bought a wonderful surprise with a ocean at the front of the hotel. Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. The complimentary breakfast and free wifi in the room was excellent.

Check this hotel out when in Pismo Beach!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

To celebrate my husband's birthday, I surprised him with a trip to Pismo Beach. Sandcastle Inn was offering a special (ocean view room & dinner voucher), and (based on Trip Advisor reviews), I booked the special.
Our room was spotless, and opened to a balcony facing the beach and water. Breathtaking! I will say having a lower floor room has its drawbacks - very noisy neighbor upstairs, so next time I'll book a top floor (well worth the additional $$'s).
The Inn is ideally located, and we thoroughly enjoyed walking to the pier in the evening to watch the sunset. The breakfast room is lovely, also facing the water, and the food just fine. They also offer cookies in the late afternoon, but if you wait too long, they're gone (especially if a lot of kids are staying at the hotel).
There is no air conditioning, and even though it was the first weekend in March, it was very warm. Because we were on the bottom floor, we weren't comfortable leaving our patio door open to enjoy the cool evening air.
The staff was wonderful - very welcoming and helpful.
The only negative, was that a room two or three doors from us was very VERY loud on Saturday afternoon. Apparently they were throwing some sort of huge birthday bash, with a bunch of people gathered in the one room. There were children on the beach, that belonged to several members of the group, and a few of the adults felt it was necessary to constantly scream at the kids, trying to get their attention. It made it extremely difficult to sit on our own patio and enjoy a peaceful afternoon. It would have been nice if someone had intervened and asked them to keep it down.
Overall, I can highly recommend the Sandcastle Inn. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Spring for a top floor with a view - well sorth the extra dollars and you won't have people abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliGal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
2.4 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.5 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
5.1 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing