We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREENHORN GUEST RANCH”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Greenhorn Guest Ranch is set in the beautiful forests of the Sierra Nevada Mountains in northeastern California. The staff is very friendly, and owners Ralph and Trish make everyone feel at home. There is riding every morning and afternoon for all levels. The horses are well cared for and well behaved. There are two lovely ponds for those who like to fish or just enjoy their beauty. The skies were the most beautiful blue for the entire six days I was there. The night time activities were fun-bonfires, karaoke, horseshoe tournament, wagon ride. This is definitely a ranch to which I would return.

Room Tip: I would try to book a trip here when there is not a big event like a wedding or seminar planned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennisGirlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

On September 5th 2 friends and I ventured out to preview 3 different guest ranches in Northern Calif. in preparation for a weeks stay next year. We have stayed at a wonderful guest ranch in central Calif but were looking to try something new.

Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch was our last stop and we are so glad the last was the best! We only spent the night without riding or partaking of most of the activities but it was clear this ranch has it all. The staff were the most friendly and helpful we have ever seen. The facilities were well maintained and very clean. Although we only had breakfast it was delicious. The warm peach muffins were the BEST.

Can't wait to return next year for the full experience!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are rustic but provide a great porch to sit on. Some lodge rooms are themed (John Wayne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chucka949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My Wife Katy and I had the best time ever on our wedding weekend at GCGR. It was not only unforgettable for us, our guests are still talking about how much fun they had. The kids were all occupied with the ranches many activities while their parents got to let loose in the saloon and relax in the pool. The site was picture perfect, and everyone got to spend a lot of time celebrating. The staff could not have been better with planning, working the event, and enjoying this special time with us. GCGR staff far exceeded what we hoped for. We can't wait to come back and see Ralf, Trish, Cynthia, CJ, Gary, Tyson, and the rest of the crew. Z

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a great place if you enjoy riding, regardless of your experience level. Their riding program is excellent for both adults and children: our kids are 7 and 9 and they had a great time riding twice a day. The ranch does not have a "luxury" feel to it, but has a great character. The scenery is lovely and riding trails are diverse and interesting. Food is plentiful and fresh and people working here are so nice, caring and friendly! Cabins are simple and a bit dates, but roomy. The owners are there most of the time and they are very hard-working and caring people. We had a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IVK_Bay_Area
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My 7-year old rated our 3-day weekend at Greenhorn a 9 out of 10 and asked to come back while we were still there. My 11-year old son didn't ask once for his iPod. Both caught their first fish and asked to the ride horses again on the last day - which the Ranch accommodated while we packed up. Food was great and the service, esp the rangers, were super friendly. We felt safe letting the kids roam while we sat on the deck. We took the 70 back south to avoid the Tahoe traffic. We'd definitely return for R&R.

Room Tip: Swimming pool was surprisingly warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vton2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have never been to a resort where the staff was more helpful. Every time you saw one of them they asked what could they do to make the experience better. I was asked waht kind of cake i wanted for my birthday. I joked and said "Tres Leches" This is a Mexican special occasion cake. The baker spent all day making the cake and surprising me and my 55 member family.

The rooms are simple and functional. The food is plentiful and outstanding. The camp fires each night are a joy as we listen to staff singing cowboy songs. The recreational opportunities are end-less.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaltSpringCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We have been spending a week there each summer for the past 10 years. My daughter learned to ride there, and is now an advanced rider. I like the slower walk/trot rides, and love riding through Plumas National Forest land. The owners, Trish and Ralph, are warm, wonderful, and welcoming. The entire staff is terrific. The horses are taken care of well. The cabins are comfortable, although we spend the days and evenings outside. There is a swimming pool, a large pond for fishing and frog catching. This is a wonderplace to relax with the family. It has become our family tradition, and my daughter plans to continue the tradition as she grows up.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldermomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
22.4 km away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
295 reviews
24.4 km away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
54 reviews
17.6 km away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
21 reviews
24.5 km away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
9 reviews
34.8 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 2116 Greenhorn Ranch Rd, Quincy, CA 95971-9204
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Quincy
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Night/3 day Starlight Package, $590 includes taxes, horseback rides, lodging, dining, and all resort activities at our rustic dude ranch in Quincy, California - the heart of the High Sierras in Northern California. Our horse ranch is set on 600 acres, with access to hundreds more acres of Plumas National Forest. We have one-bedroom and two bedroom cabins that can sleep from 2 - 7 people. We also have 10 rooms available in our western lodge. Greenhorn Ranch offers horseback riding, fishing, skeet shooting and hiking, and the property has the ideal terrain for mountain biking with views of the mountain ridges and clear snow melt creeks. Why do our guests say we are their favorite family vacation spot? Mostly because of the way they feel when they are here - just like family! Our all-inclusive rates include dining in the chuck house or at cookouts on the trail, campfire sing-alongs, country western line dancing, delicious bar-b-q, fun western activities for the kids and even frog racing. There is a fishing pong, bonfire pit, fully stocked saloon and dance hall.Greenhorn Ranch also offers Equine Guided Leadership and Therapy sessions, space for corporate retreats, and is an amazing venue for weddings and family reunions. the perfect setting for meetings, retreats, family reunions, weddings and other special events. The Ranch features Equine Guided Learning programs for families, business meetings and retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing