We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it would be a great wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I really never write reviews, however I cannot tell you how completely disappointed I am at the follow through, response and non-response of this place. We have been looking for a wedding venue for our son and his fiancé. The first e-mail responses seemed positive until we asked for a dates available in September and were told that they were booked except for Sept. 19 which was pending. They indicated that they would call the bride of the pending date and see if she was committed to them. We were very patient, yet received no call or e-mail back. With venues filling up very quickly a year in advance, we contacted them again via e-mail with no response. I followed through by calling and was treated quite rudely on the phone. Are they not in the business of booking weddings of which people pay a lot of money to them? They had no deposit, nor commitment from this bride; yet would not even give us the decency to accommodate us. IF we would have chosen this place, we had the money to put down. Evidently, that didn't matter. I have never seen a venue run a business like this. My husband and I then drove out there to view it in person and were shown the property, but we could tell with reluctance when she knew we were the ones who wanted to know if that date was still pending etc. Really???? Every venue we have gone to requires a deposit down to secure the date. They told us two different times that they would call the bride in question and get back to us. Absolutely never got a response from them. In all honesty, we wouldn't have chosen this place anyhow due to the fact that it reminded us of a tourist facility....HOWEVER....social skills, common courtesy and accommodating clients should be at the top of their list since they thrive off of our dollars. I wouldn't recommend this place in the least for a wedding. I cannot even imagine how it would be handled or run after the treatment we received. The website catches you....running of the horses....looks fantastic...don't always believe what you see.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had an excellent stay here in Aug 2014.
The ranch has a huge amount of land in the Californian national forest land that is amazingly scenic. Rooms are lodges which are perfectly spacious and clean. Meals are served communally are very relaxed and well done.
The riding is extremely structured and organised. Nobody is allowed to loap (canter, 3rd gear) on the first day and you have to take a test before they let you go on the loap rides from the the 2nd day onwards.

Will definitely go again, if you're looking for a riding-based ranch holiday for families in idyllic surroundings - this place is absolutely perfect. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CM_London_Aug2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife , daughter and I spent a little time here. What a great place.Scenic ,quiet ,fun for the family.The Very Friendly and Helpful staff made the stay .The horse ride was great . I Wish we had known about this place sooner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmicic1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As part of our road trip through California we spent 4 days at the Greenhorn Ranch. It was awesome! We had such a lovely time - riding, fishing, meeting new people - we absolutely loved it! When we came back from 5 weeks of many exciting and interesting new experiences we all agreed that this was the highlight of our stay... what else can we say.

Thank you Greenhorn Gang - for your kind hospitality and even sending forgotten items all the way back to Switzerland for us. We all wish you were just around the corner for us and we would be there every year and we certainly want to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ekch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family and I (wife and 2 boys aged 14 & 11) spent 5 nights here in July as part of a bigger road trip around California and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it completely exceeded expectations.

Stay here if you want to: ride, fish, catch and race frogs, be fed 3 good healthy meals a day, enjoy the open forest land, meet new friends, give your children freedom, let your kids be kids again in a safe environment and finally relax!

We stayed in the the cabins/ lodges, number 2A and 2B. These were in a great position that enabled us to sit on the porch and look out to the fishing lake and surrounding green areas. Not all accommodation has this outlook, so worth requesting views on to the lake and BBQ /volley ball area if you don't want to be facing other ranch buildings. The cabins are basic but comfortable, this is not a luxurious ranch and it was all the better for it.

We originally planned to stay for 4 nights but we were all having such a great time we asked to extend our stay. To do this we had to move from 2A & 2B to the main lodge rooms (19 & 20) for 1 night.Our concensus was that although the lodge rooms were a bit more like hotel rooms, the cabins were better for us as they are overlooking the ranch and closer to the action where as the lodge rooms were away to one side with no terrace, balcony or porch area. Personal preference but we enjoyed being close to the main areas.

Because we were on the road for 23 days, we enjoyed not having to think about when and where the next meal was coming from. There were 3 meals a day and the meal times clearly displayed. The food was pleantiful, with no restriction on what you ate. Always opportunity for ample fruit and veg along with the meat. Firday night BBQ was great fun and an excellent way to meet new people.

The wranglers are great, making you feel welcome and safe. Special thanks to Catherine, Josh, Erica & Marty for looking after us.

the owners were always about on the ranch and entertained us with their camp fire singalongs.

In addition we met some really great people and made new friends from California and Europe.

Overall I can't speak highly enough of our Greenhorne Ranch experience and our children rated this their favourite place over our 3 1/2 week holiday, which included Universal and Disney, so this has to make it 5+

We'll be back, our kids have told us so!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife & I spent three days here in July 2014. We are moderate-to good riders who have been to similar dude ranches. From the owners all the way through the staff, everyone was friendly & helpful. The size of the ranch (I think the capacity is less than 100 guests) means that it is easy to meet other guests - especially during the rides and at the family-style meals. Special kudos to the wranglers - Marty, Jonathan, Katherine, Erica, Dani and the rest were all really, really wonderful.
There are other activities, but this is a place for horseback riding. Be sure everyone in your party wants to ride horses. The meals are hearty and good with no pretensions of fanciness. Our room was the Cary Grant room. It was clean & comfortable. Rooms don't have TVs or phones (yay!). The WiFi service was only in the lobby and maybe the immediate area beyond. It did not seem to work well, even when I was in the lobby. The area has limited cell phone coverage: folks with Sprint and Verizon had limited connectivity. Folks with AT&T & T-Mobile had none.
We loved making new friends, the long lope rides, learning more about keeping, training & riding horses. We will definitely be back - sure hope they have a hot-tub by then!

Room Tip: Rooms 19 through 22 are closer to the lobby and may have better WiFi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif0rniaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for two days to try it out. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We were there early in the season - late May - during the week, so there were only a few of us there as guests. We got royal treatment! The horses were in good condition, and made the trail rides quite enjoyable. I'd never ridden before, and enjoyed it very much. Accommodations are comfortable, very quite area. Everyone eats together in the dining room, so easy to meet and talk to the other guests and staff. Very nice, heated pool. So beautiful at the ranch. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There are lots of room types to choose from. I left it up to the Ranch to choose for us. We got a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555Ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
22.4 km away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
309 reviews
17.7 km away
Spanish Creek Motel
Spanish Creek Motel
#5 of 7 in Quincy
21 reviews
17.6 km away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 2116 Greenhorn Ranch Rd, Quincy, CA 95971-9204
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Quincy
Price Range: $101 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Night/3 day Starlight Package, $590 includes taxes, horseback rides, lodging, dining, and all resort activities at our rustic dude ranch in Quincy, California - the heart of the High Sierras in Northern California. Our horse ranch is set on 600 acres, with access to hundreds more acres of Plumas National Forest. We have one-bedroom and two bedroom cabins that can sleep from 2 - 7 people. We also have 10 rooms available in our western lodge. Greenhorn Ranch offers horseback riding, fishing, skeet shooting and hiking, and the property has the ideal terrain for mountain biking with views of the mountain ridges and clear snow melt creeks. Why do our guests say we are their favorite family vacation spot? Mostly because of the way they feel when they are here - just like family! Our all-inclusive rates include dining in the chuck house or at cookouts on the trail, campfire sing-alongs, country western line dancing, delicious bar-b-q, fun western activities for the kids and even frog racing. There is a fishing pong, bonfire pit, fully stocked saloon and dance hall.Greenhorn Ranch also offers Equine Guided Leadership and Therapy sessions, space for corporate retreats, and is an amazing venue for weddings and family reunions. the perfect setting for meetings, retreats, family reunions, weddings and other special events. The Ranch features Equine Guided Learning programs for families, business meetings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing