We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet View Lodge(Graeagle)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
34
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishfun activitiesevery mealsaloonweddinghorsespondgamescreeklodgegangsprint
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 44 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had an excellent stay here in Aug 2014.
The ranch has a huge amount of land in the Californian national forest land that is amazingly scenic. Rooms are lodges which are perfectly spacious and clean. Meals are served communally are very relaxed and well done.
The riding is extremely structured and organised. Nobody is allowed to loap (canter, 3rd gear) on the first day and you have to take a test before they let you go on the loap rides from the the 2nd day onwards.

Will definitely go again, if you're looking for a riding-based ranch holiday for families in idyllic surroundings - this place is absolutely perfect. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CM_London_Aug2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2014

My wife , daughter and I spent a little time here. What a great place.Scenic ,quiet ,fun for the family.The Very Friendly and Helpful staff made the stay .The horse ride was great . I Wish we had known about this place sooner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmicic1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2014

As part of our road trip through California we spent 4 days at the Greenhorn Ranch. It was awesome! We had such a lovely time - riding, fishing, meeting new people - we absolutely loved it! When we came back from 5 weeks of many exciting and interesting new experiences we all agreed that this was the highlight of our stay... what else can we say.

Thank you Greenhorn Gang - for your kind hospitality and even sending forgotten items all the way back to Switzerland for us. We all wish you were just around the corner for us and we would be there every year and we certainly want to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ekch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family and I (wife and 2 boys aged 14 & 11) spent 5 nights here in July as part of a bigger road trip around California and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it completely exceeded expectations.

Stay here if you want to: ride, fish, catch and race frogs, be fed 3 good healthy meals a day, enjoy the open forest land, meet new friends, give your children freedom, let your kids be kids again in a safe environment and finally relax!

We stayed in the the cabins/ lodges, number 2A and 2B. These were in a great position that enabled us to sit on the porch and look out to the fishing lake and surrounding green areas. Not all accommodation has this outlook, so worth requesting views on to the lake and BBQ /volley ball area if you don't want to be facing other ranch buildings. The cabins are basic but comfortable, this is not a luxurious ranch and it was all the better for it.

We originally planned to stay for 4 nights but we were all having such a great time we asked to extend our stay. To do this we had to move from 2A & 2B to the main lodge rooms (19 & 20) for 1 night.Our concensus was that although the lodge rooms were a bit more like hotel rooms, the cabins were better for us as they are overlooking the ranch and closer to the action where as the lodge rooms were away to one side with no terrace, balcony or porch area. Personal preference but we enjoyed being close to the main areas.

Because we were on the road for 23 days, we enjoyed not having to think about when and where the next meal was coming from. There were 3 meals a day and the meal times clearly displayed. The food was pleantiful, with no restriction on what you ate. Always opportunity for ample fruit and veg along with the meat. Firday night BBQ was great fun and an excellent way to meet new people.

The wranglers are great, making you feel welcome and safe. Special thanks to Catherine, Josh, Erica & Marty for looking after us.

the owners were always about on the ranch and entertained us with their camp fire singalongs.

In addition we met some really great people and made new friends from California and Europe.

Overall I can't speak highly enough of our Greenhorne Ranch experience and our children rated this their favourite place over our 3 1/2 week holiday, which included Universal and Disney, so this has to make it 5+

We'll be back, our kids have told us so!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife & I spent three days here in July 2014. We are moderate-to good riders who have been to similar dude ranches. From the owners all the way through the staff, everyone was friendly & helpful. The size of the ranch (I think the capacity is less than 100 guests) means that it is easy to meet other guests - especially during the rides and at the family-style meals. Special kudos to the wranglers - Marty, Jonathan, Katherine, Erica, Dani and the rest were all really, really wonderful.
There are other activities, but this is a place for horseback riding. Be sure everyone in your party wants to ride horses. The meals are hearty and good with no pretensions of fanciness. Our room was the Cary Grant room. It was clean & comfortable. Rooms don't have TVs or phones (yay!). The WiFi service was only in the lobby and maybe the immediate area beyond. It did not seem to work well, even when I was in the lobby. The area has limited cell phone coverage: folks with Sprint and Verizon had limited connectivity. Folks with AT&T & T-Mobile had none.
We loved making new friends, the long lope rides, learning more about keeping, training & riding horses. We will definitely be back - sure hope they have a hot-tub by then!

Room Tip: Rooms 19 through 22 are closer to the lobby and may have better WiFi connectivity.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif0rniaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews