We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding trip with my granddaughter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch
Reviewed 16 September 2016

My 11 year old granddaughter and I went on a Road Scholar Intergenerational Trip to this ranch. I can't say enough about how well the trip was organized by Road Scholar, and about how wonderful the people at this ranch are. The mountain setting (elev. about 4500 ft) is gorgeous. The trip was very well organized - sometimes we were with the kids but sometimes we weren't, and that was nice. The staff are all expert horsemen and women, and clearly enjoy teaching "greenhorns" to ride. They taught us a lot and were incredibly patient. There was a nice variety to the activities and our group of 14 became a little "family." The cabins are rustic but that was part of the fun. The meals were good and plentiful. My granddaughter, who is horse crazy, smiled non-stop for 5 days.!

Room Tip: Get a cabin, not a room in the lodge. They each have their own porch swing!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelBarb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Marketing Assistant to Trish at Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Howdy,
Good to hear from you. One of the dearest things to us is to see different generations ride together. Knowing that someone had a smile on their face the whole time, and enjoyed their adventure, is the best news for the Greenhorn Gang.

Visit again anytime you're ready. We do post specials on the website, so keep in touch with us there and on Facebook, too. We'd love to see some of your pictures.

Happy Trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2016

My father has taken my 11 year old son to the Greenhorn Ranch twice now, once in December 2015 and once in June 2016. Each time my son comes back with fantastic stories of campfires, great food, horseback riding, frog racing, and fishing. The staff even remembered my son on this latest visit and were very excited to see him. My son was able to ride up to three times in one day or opt out and participate in other ranch lifestyle activities. My son can't wait until he is older so he can go back and work on the ranch. Thank you all so much for being so wonderful to my son and father! We shall see you all soon!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Marketing Assistant to Trish at Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hey there,
We're happy to know that a Wrangler was born out of Greenhorn Ranch. Something else that makes us happy is seeing different generations hanging out together; making memories. It's kinda like life should be more like camp.
We love to see what folks were up to during their stay here. You can share pictures with us on Facebook at Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch.

Happy trails and happy memories,
The Greenhorn Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Having spent some time in San Francisco and Las Vegas, it was great to get to the ranch and unwind. Trish and Ralph were so welcoming, as were all the staff, they made sure we were well looked after.

Riding the trails was amazing, my partner is a great horse rider but as for me i was a little nervous about riding, however our wrangler Jonathan was great, made sure i was ok and gave me good advise and by the end of our stay i was much more confident on a horse.

Such a beautiful place, can't wait to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Streath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Marketing Assistant to Trish at Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi there,
Thanks for sharing that message. We really believe horses are good for the soul. We even started an equine therapy program. But, they're just cool to be around. So large and powerful, yet so wanting to belong and eternally watching.
Anytime you want to come back and put some chaps and a cowboy hat on, we'll be ready for ya. You can keep up with what we're doing on our website, greenhornranch.com or on our Facebook page: Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch.

Happy Trails from the Greenhorn Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Our family and 4 kids (ages 6, 8, 10, and 13) have absolutely loved our past 3 trips to Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch! The kids all definitely want to go back again next summer (2016).

We have been to Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch twice for one-week summer family vacations and once for a long weekend in the Fall because we all wanted to go back again as soon as possible before the winter. All of our trips have been filled with fantastic horse-back riding that has allowed our kids to advance their skills and increase their confidence in riding out in the beautiful Sierras, including trotting, loping and some pretty exciting off-trail bushwhacking and rodeo games.

The food has always been good with hot options for every meal, plus a yogurt/fruit/cereal bar at breakfast and a salad bar and sandwich station available at lunch and dinner in addition to the main courses which are served family style at dinner. They also were able to accommodate different dietary restrictions such as gluten-free and vegetarian choices. Three meals a day, plus early morning coffee, smores by the campfire at night, and snacks/beverages available all day in the saloon.

The ranch activities are all either centered around horse back riding or several outdoor activities by the pond and saloon area that are central to the ranch and steps away from the cabins or lodge. Our kids love to fish in the lagoon/pond, and the weekly frog-catching and frog-racing competition is a FANTASTIC evening event with the kids serving as 'jockeys' to get their frogs to race to the finish line on the floor of the saloon and then release them back in the pond until the next week's competition.

The cabins are rather rustic and 'no frills', but they are very comfortable and convenient to the riding and activities, and they include stall showers and bathrooms in each cabin/room.

My husband and I really enjoy these vacations because we get family time with the kids and a lot of relaxing time with each other without having to cook or plan activities. We simply get to focus on having a good time, and we know that our kids are in good hands whether they are with us, out on the trails or exploring the ranch with the wranglers, hanging out in the 'saloon', or hanging out with other kids that they meet each time we go. We sometimes choose to ride with the kids and also ride separately with other adults and the awesome wranglers whom we have grown to consider close friends.

It's a great family vacation in the unplugged outdoors that is a bit rustic, but our kids all love it, and my husband and I get to ride, relax and have fun without worrying about a thing.

Room Tip: Cabins are great for families - two rooms that connect if you have a larger family.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sand_and_sn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This was our 12th annual week at Greenhorn. We love being in the Sierra foothills for a week away from city life. The owners and staff are warm and welcoming; the wranglers are expert horse riders and teachers; the kitchen staff provide great food. It is a wonderful place to kick back and relax.

Room Tip: We prefer the cabins over the lodge
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oldermomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

I've been to many ranches in the States and all over Europe and this was one of the best places ever! If you love horses, cowboys, rustic country athmosphere, singing and dancing, this is definitely The Place to go. I went with a friend and we chose to go outside of high season, for our main focus was on horseback riding and didn't care too much about any other activities or evening enterntainment, which weren't available during the low season. Still managed to make the time fly (around the bonfire and in the Saloon) with the other guests and the most wonderful hosts Trish and Ralf and the amazing ranch staff and their family and friends.
On most advanced rides there were just the two of us with our wrangler so we literally ended up having our own private rides. The horses were super and so were the very versatile trails. The landscape was stunning, with lots of opportunities for long relaxing lopes. Our wranglers were fun and obviously very skilled with a loooong experience with horses. I learned a lot from them. I cannot think of enough superlatives of how to describe the overall experience.

Room Tip: I only saw 2 rooms and it seemed the rooms without bunkbeds are a little bigger.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annukka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

I recently visited the greenhorn creek guest ranch for a wedding and have to say it was an amazing time. The staff and owners were always there to help in any way to make the stay and experience pleasurable. They have a beautiful ranch with lots of activities for kids to adults such as fishing, horse back riding, quads, hiking and much more. The cabins were clean yet still had an old fashion feel and look to them. The chef, Nate, was amazing with his own homemade BBQ sauce. I will be returning in the future. Thank you again to the staff for a wonderful experience.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Tommy2Tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
22.4 km away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
293 reviews
17.6 km away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
40 reviews
24.4 km away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
19 reviews
34.8 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
24.5 km away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 2116 Greenhorn Ranch Rd, Quincy, CA 95971-9204
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Quincy
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Night/3 day Starlight Package, $590 includes taxes, horseback rides, lodging, dining, and all resort activities at our rustic dude ranch in Quincy, California - the heart of the High Sierras in Northern California. Our horse ranch is set on 600 acres, with access to hundreds more acres of Plumas National Forest. We have one-bedroom and two bedroom cabins that can sleep from 2 - 7 people. We also have 10 rooms available in our western lodge. Greenhorn Ranch offers horseback riding, fishing, skeet shooting and hiking, and the property has the ideal terrain for mountain biking with views of the mountain ridges and clear snow melt creeks. Why do our guests say we are their favorite family vacation spot? Mostly because of the way they feel when they are here - just like family! Our all-inclusive rates include dining in the chuck house or at cookouts on the trail, campfire sing-alongs, country western line dancing, delicious bar-b-q, fun western activities for the kids and even frog racing. There is a fishing pong, bonfire pit, fully stocked saloon and dance hall.Greenhorn Ranch also offers Equine Guided Leadership and Therapy sessions, space for corporate retreats, and is an amazing venue for weddings and family reunions. the perfect setting for meetings, retreats, family reunions, weddings and other special events. The Ranch features Equine Guided Learning programs for families, business meetings and retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing