We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
79
72
34
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
72
34
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spaghetti factory front desk palm springs channel guide separate sitting area lots of counter space complimentary breakfast fruit water couple nights five minute drive within walking distance the hotel is clean the usual amenities outdoor mall restaurants and shops location is great check in was quick
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 204 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2018

The minute we drove up after getting our keys to the hotel room, and parked by the hotel pool area, we saw what is endemic of many hotels that do not enforce guest exclusivity; an open gate to the pool which was being held open for other non-hotel guests to come in and use the facilities. We saw people waiting in the parking lot for their friends or family members to use the pool facilities (even though they were not paying guests of the hotel). We closed the pool gate as we made our way into the hotel, thinking that it may have been propped open for some one who forgot their keys and had briefly gone away to get something. However, as we left the hotel to go get supper, propped it was again. And the pool area was littered with towels (folks didn't have the decency to clean up after themselves), food droppings, and on top of that, with a big NO SMOKING sign on the pool gate, this did not phase people to smoke there (even with children swimming). Absolutely didn't give a 2 cents! And as this fellow strategically took a corner seat at the pool area to gaze at the fairer ones.
We were given a room close to about 3 families that had booked 3 consecutive rooms and that is where our sleep went out the window. They had their metal door stoppers set out in order to not have the doors shut. So, with what seemed to be some communal dormitory, their doors would bang against the metal stoppers and the outside of their rooms was a party place. No respect for the people sleeping and talking and running around as if this was their private residence. Last ones to go to sleep (at the expense of other guests trying to sleep) and first to get up for breakfast (worried they would not find enough to fill their gluttonous appetites).
Though it was indicated to us that the place was a pet free room, our room smelt as though a dog had been washed in it and not been dried up. Pretty much smelt like wet dog hair. On top of that, there are NO fans in the hotel bathrooms. Do your number 2 and you are in a lose lose situation (if you have guests or people staying in the room); you close the bathroom door and the smell stays in the bathroom or you open the bathroom door and the smell envelopes the room!!
Finally, we had asked the front receptionist for an end room (on either floor) if possible, and she said she gave us an end room which, apparently to her understanding of "end room", is any room 5-6 doors away from the end room. Not friendly at all. What represents the hotel is what greets the guest at the front desk.
We also saw a used condom on the floor by the pool area. We had to keep our children on one side of the pool so they do not see that garbage! I would imagine that hotel staff or security would have a camera to the pool area and realize that the gate to access the pool was ajar...but again, these people that walk in from outside, might have been their very friends and/or relatives. The only positive to this hotel is it's proximity to shops/restaurants and parking seemed pretty good. The internet is finicky, as we also lost connectivity in the pool area and had to re-connect every now and then.
Finally, I WOULD NOT recommend staying at this hotel IF you have children, do not mind the noise at night, do not mind a pet smelling room, and sharing the pool area with non-paying guests and a smoking pool area.
We ended up staying at the hotel for one day out of the two we had booked for.
Very disappointed with this stay.

Room Tip: check rooms if possible before accepting keys, get END rooms if possible, get room away from pool area, higher floors better.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank james B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIERMStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Hey james B,

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback from your most recent stay with us. We also would like to wholeheartedly apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay. We strive our hardest to provide the best experiences possible for all our valued guests and you are no different. We have forwarded your concerns to the proper departments to be fully assessed for our future guests, and hopefully you as well sir should you ever come out to the Rancho Mirage area again. We would like you to please contact management directly so we can give you a very reasonable deal, as well as a better experience more along the lines of the expectations you've come to know and love from the Holiday Inn Express Brand.

We appreciate you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The pool was brilliant and there was a good selection of children's games in the reception area. It was just a short walk to shops and restaurants and we had a thoroughly good time at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was great to access the pool and barbecue area
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank norfolkmags2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIERMStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Thank you norfolkmags2017 for taking the time to share your experiences from your most recent stay with us. We're very happy to hear you were able to enjoy yourself overall and we'd love to have you again next time you're in the Rancho Mirage area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We stayed here for a couple nights during our families spring break. The service of the staff was really wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean but the sound was very loud. We could hear the sound of our neighbors next door and above us. The pool was clean and adequate. The complimentary breakfast had a lot of options and was good for my family. The location is wonderful with walking distance to Spaghetti factory, and The River with restaurants and shops. Thank you for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank momtodek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opera44, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you momtodek for taking the time to share your experiences from your most recent stay with us. We're happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay overall at our facility and surrounding area. We do want to apologize for the challenges you faced. We're hopeful next time you're in the Rancho Mirage area, you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Stayed here 5 nights. Hotel is 'old'. Upgrades done which makes it o.k. We were in a 2 room suite and the living room furniture is in need of a good shampoo. The door slamming is still going on and the management 'looking into it' is not solving the problem. The location is great for walking to 4 good restaurants but we will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from 203 it is next to a stairwell and the door slamming is too much.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GGSLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opera44, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you GGSLE for sharing your experiences with us. We want to apologize for the challenges you faced during your recent stay, and we have taken all your information to have them fully assessed. We want to thank you for staying with us. We have some really good news for the 2018 calendar season which we hope should you come back to the Rancho Mirage area, you can fully enjoy first hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

Very nice staff. Usual food. Don't take room 117 King Suite unless you want to wake up early and have a lukewarm shower. The room is next door to the laundry and despite front desk assurances that laundry doe not start until 9:00 am it started at 7:00 am. Now some people could sleep thru it but if your a light sleeper be warned.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank OsideMom2three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opera44, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Thank you OsideMom2three for taking the time to share your valued feedback. We want to first and foremost apologize for the challenges you faced during your most recent stay with us, and thank you for bringing them to our attention as they have been forwarded to the proper departments to be fully assessed.

We would love to extend an offer should you come to the Rancho Mirage area again to speak with management directly so we can provide you with a better overall experience. We want to thank you for choosing us for your hospitality needs and look forward to possibly having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews