We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but the others are right...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I recently concluded a 7-night stay for my first trip to Redondo Beach. I was impressed with the initial appearance of the hotel. We were offered a room with a "view"... it turned out to be about a 1-foot view of the marina--the rest of the view was just the roof (nice rocks, though.) Spa was nice, though a little loud; the massage therapists did a great job.

I was truly turned COMPLETELY off by all of the fees and hidden costs that I found AFTER I arrived. They charge you to park in front of the hotel in $15 min increments. I guess this is for people who have a lot of luggage (?) I had never seen that before. Also, their internet is $10 per day, PER DEVICE!! That's right. Per device. Also parking really is $23 to $28 per day, and there's no where to really park in the area for less than that.

Also, the rooms are outdated, true, but clean. The beds are very comfortable as well. The rooms really do have tube tv's which makes everything look like you're watching an 80's TV show. There was only one family channel (Disney)... the other 10 or so channels were news, foreign, and sports. There were like 4 or 5 local channels and a couple channels like History and Discovery. The selection was horrible. In looking through some of the paid features, I realized that HERE was where all the good TV was. You have to PAY for it. Yeah, they wanted $4.99 for a 22min episode of Family Guy and for a 45min episode of Glee. I couldn't believe it. So many hidden fees kept popping up, that I started to worry we'd be charged for sheets of toilet paper and use of the fridge.

The redeeming qualities of this hotel were its staff who were very friendly, and the cleanliness of the hotel overall. Bottom line? This is was my first and last trip to Redondo Beach. I just wasn't impressed enough to spend this amount of money again for so little in return.

Room Tip: Come with lots of money for parking and internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mocha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Mocha M,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry our parking charges as well as internet usage fees were higher than you expected. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Current reviews are very accurate in terms of the hotel needing a facelift and update. Hotel corridors are dark and drab and rooms although very clean require significant update and refurbishment, particularly as a new hotel "shades" is being built across the road and Best Westin and the Portofino Yacht Club are already rivals for business.
This being said, my wife and I really enjoyed our 3 night stay here prior to cruising the California coast. Staff were magnificent in all respects, the pool area was excellent for some afternoon sun and relaxation,free internet access via the Business Centre was a real bonus as was the complimentary use of the excellent Gold's Gym next door. The free shuttle bus to various local malls was brilliant and again another major plus.
We didn't eat at the hotel as we preferred to try some of the many local and excellent eateries - Ruby's was a favourite for breakfast and far superior Polly's in all respects.
I really hope therefore that the promised refurbishment takes place as promised - we will certainly return if it does. Many thanks from us for providing a great base for some great memories.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room at the front of the hotelon floor 3 which had a great view and was very bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank straightjohnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your favorable review. Yes, the renovation is confirmed to begin the first week of September and we are very excited about it! Glad that the staff took good care of you, and see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Everything about the hotel met our expectations--quiet and clean. It is a close walk to several restaurants, and we enjoyed walking across the street to the marina to see the sea lions barking away. However, I dislike it that they charge for WiFi, per device (we had 3 Smart Phones & a computer between the 4 of us)--that just seemed outrageous. Fortunately my husband is a rewards member, so they waived the charges. We found the breakfast buffet to be ridiculously expensive for dry pastries, toast and cereal. Meh.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBigTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you pointed out, we do charge for Wifi, but that charge is easily waived if you are a member of our Priority Club rewards program, which is free to join. Sorry that the breakfast buffet was not up to your expectations. Overall it seems that you were happy, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent Easter Weekend at the Crown Plaza, Redondo Beach. The hotel staff was excellent. Luis Vargas at the Hotel restaurant was a most professional and attentive waiter. Natalie Sayers supervised the restaurant well. Jimmy Angelo and his front desk staff were right on with dining ideas, with help from Jessica, Jason, and Miguel. Also note that William, the Bus Driver, is most attentive and will take you to shop at all the local malls. Great place to visit, walk the beach and boardwalk, dine, swim, and enjoy a holiday! I will visit again and bring a large family group next time! Redondo Beach and this Hotel is the way to go! Sincerely, LLL.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, the hotel was sold out this Easter Weekend, 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLLplayadelrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you. I especially appreciate that you mentioned so many of our staff by name, which allows me to give each of them a "Delivering On The Promise" award for their excellent customer service. See you with the big group next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We loved our stay in this place. We spent a week in the hotel and enjoyed the surrounding areas and the wonderful beaches. The hotel was excellent and clean with wonderful views of the ocean from a balcony. The staff were helpful, courteous and our room was spacious, well-kept and very clean and no noise from outside or other rooms. The hotel is in such a quiet location and close to a lot of attractions, restaurants. The open roof top swimming pool was great with an amazing view of the water and hills to the south and sauna facility was excellent. Redondo Beach is a very nice place and in this hotel you can ask for a room with a wonderful view of sunrise or sunset. The food, the service and the value in the restaurant (the Splash) was very good. Upon check in, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel lobby was kept up nice and is what you would expect from a beach resort. We went on some tours around LA and this was wonderful. The concierge was very helpful and the daily shuttle service to shopping centres and bookings of tours was very well managed. We would really like to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Pacific Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turaj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference in March 2012. Nothing great. Dated room with old tube TV (but they are apparently updating it). No gym in hotel but they give you free access to Gold's Gym (which was pretty icky). Location is good-- there's a Whole Foods a few blocks away, and you are right across from the marina, with many restaurants at all price ranges. There aren't many options for lodging in Redondo, and this is not a bad bet if you have to be there. But I would not go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear david_andrews,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great location. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27755297

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is well located and if lucky you can get a beach view. Rooms and amenities are good, comfy bed and mostly quiet rooms.

Within minutes you get to shopping areas, restaurants and beaches. Los Angeles Airport is less than 30 minutes away from the hotel.

Parking is very expensive, over 30 dollars per night, self parking. We took the advise from Tripadvisor members and parked 3 minutes away walking for only 5 dollars per day.

We did not eat or drink at this hotel, therefore cannot tell you about it.

All in all, you get you money worth.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CitizenoftheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 km away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
491 reviews
0.5 km away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
0.4 km away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
3.0 km away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
171 reviews
3.4 km away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Address: 300 N Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $181 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel. A full service southern California coastal hotel with resort style amenities. Conveniently located just 7 miles south of LAX, overlooking the Pacific Ocean between the King Harbor Marina and the Redondo Beach Pier. Complimentary WiFi for all guest rooms and public area; tennis court, Olympic size pool, and whirlpool on Harbor Terrace. Bike rental 7 days per week through concierge. Full 2-room fitness center. Completed $25M renovation of entire hotel in 2016 including guestrooms, lobby, meeting space, and new lobby bar – Harbor Bar+Bistro for light lunch and dinners. Breakfast in SOL. Choice of water view rooms, 350 sq ft, most with balcony. Selection of King or double Queen bedded rooms. Room safe and mini refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing