We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay at; right on the Marina and water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, texas
Level Contributor
260 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at; right on the Marina and water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, nice place overlooking the Marina. Room had a great view of the water. Right across was a Ruby's diner(?) and inthe parking lot, there was 60's music playing and a older cars show (individuals bringing their well preserved cars to show). Very nice.
Be aware that check-in time is 4PM (we arrived at 3.30PM and had to wait for 15 minutes). Also, parking is fairly expensive at $25/night.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    477
    218
    74
    39
See reviews for
289
365
73
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Admittedly, we got a conference rate on our room, however, we were very impressed with the value of the Crowne Plaza. Only 7 miles from LAX, and located at Redondo beach and pier, more than half the rooms had a ocean view and balcony. I noted that Air France and Italia flight staff were staying there. The staff were helpful and the hotel wasn't an overcrowded zoo. There is a Ruby's and a Cheesecake factory restaurant within a block. The neighborhood is middle class, definitely not flashy, but not noisy and grubby either. Whale watching and fishing tours leave from the pier. A quiet, convenient, place to stay with access to the ocean.

Room Tip: The side rooms close to the front of the hotel are as good as the end room and cost a little less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallinanwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I reserved this hotel through Priceline while bidding on a 3.5 star. This hotel is definitely not a 3.5 star. We had just checked out of a 4 star in Glendale to spend 2 nights on the beach in Redondo. I was very sad upon arrival to our room to have left our nice room in Glendale for it. We were hit by a strong, gross odor upon walking into our room and I immediately called the front desk. They didn't have any other rooms to move us to and offered to send up an "ionizer" but we'd have to leave the room for 1.5 hours. No problem since it was dinner time. When we got back it still smelled bad. The front desk people were nice but this place is just not good if you are used to nicer places. Next time we'll go for the 4 star across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
My apologies for the odor in your room, and sorry that we did not measure up to your expectations. We normally offer the option of changing rooms when guests are unhappy with their accommodations. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future, especially since we are renovating all the rooms starting in September this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I just returned from my first time to the LA area. I'm here to tell you that the hotel staff will do EVERYTHING In Their Power to make your stay a delightful one! The lobby is spacious, regal and quite lovely. Tho' the rooms are aesthetically a bit 'dated'... DO NOT let that hold you back. As I was told come this fall (Sept. 2012) the hotel is planning a major room renovation and upgrade. And aesthetics is the ONLY reason why I did not give them five stars. The staff... their demeanor, their professionalism and genuine kindness for each individual staying there... if I could have I'd have given them TEN STARS! Case in point: There was a minor issue with the balcony furniture of the room I was initially booked into... OMG! Miguel at the front desk, felt SO BAD, that he upgraded me to a suite for the same price just because he was truly sorry about the patio furniture issues I brought to his attention! (WHO DOES THAT THESE DAYS!!!??!) And Maria, the Concierge she will make you feel like family. Anything she can do to make your stay just as you desire it to be... it will be done. The location is wonderful. You are literally right across the street from the Marina and the ocean is just beyond! Many things to do and see in that area of Redondo Beach. Take an early morning swim or jacuzz off the 2nd floor pool area... hit Gold's Gym (complimentary!) 1/2 block from the hotel... Also, take full advantage of the 'Body Etc.' Spa in-house..! I did. I had a pedicure, but wished I would have done the hot stones massage, or more! The staff was Wonderful and treated me like a Goddess with hot tea, fruit and cookies! The 'Aaaahhhh Factor' is Alive and Well at Body, Etc.!
Finally... I found myself having to cut my vacation short due to some issues back home, and the hotel was not only gracious, and understanding, but discounted my room charges beyond what I even expected... and without missing a beat! (Thank You Stephen!)
All in All... this hotel is at least a 4-star... and once the renovations are done... a '5' will be a given! The staff ... all who I came in contact with...were All TENS in my book! I would return to the Crowne Plaza at the Redondo Beach Marina without hesitation! Go walking... Go Biking (complimentary from the hotel!!) Go down to the Marina and just soak in all that Southern California has to offer. Indulge at their on-site restaurant 'Splash' or be a bit naughty and walk the 2 blocks to the Cheesecake Factory Restaurant. Anyway you slice it... This Hotel is truly a Slice of Heaven!!

Room Tip: I thought it initially was about 'the view'... it's not. It's about the room. Go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
What a wonderful review! I want to let you write our sales collateral. Seriously, I am so delighted to hear your comments regarding Miguel, Maria Elena, the spa staff, and Stephen. I am going to present each one of them with our "Delivering On The Promise" award due to your mentioning them.
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Great location - The hotel is right across from beach and walking distancee to some nice restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. We were not pleased to discover there was an added expensive fee for parking and internet when many other nearby hotels offered the same services for no fee.

The room was quiet and we were able to enjoy a good nights sleep.

I would stay at the hotel again, but I would consider the extra service fees when ccomparing nearby hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinnerguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear dinnerguest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the great location of our hotel as well as our comfortable room accommodations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your comments regarding our parking charges and wish to thank you for your feedback. We always welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed the last 4 days of April, and this is not a bad hotel, it is in a decent location, the room average,was not in it much! had a view of the roof, but better than seeing the power station with 4 massive chimneys in view. Not far from airport or the beach. Nothing to complain about, maybe reception staff could smile and greet you.(customer Service). Also the pool area was really nice and clean as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Angela W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have addressed the mater with the Front Desk staff in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Dirty, old, broken..a real dump.

We had three rooms in conjunction with a family event in the ballroom. The rooms were just awful. Everything was dated, dirty and barely working. We were assured the floor and the rooms were non-smoking but the rooms reeked of smoke and there was a sign on the back on the door which designated the room as a smoking room. We spoke with the manager (who fought us on the fact that there was a sign to this effect) and who’s only retort to our complaints were, we are undergoing a complete renovation in June we hope you’ll join us after.

One issue with the manager's suggestion, we were here as paying guests now, before the renovation.

Restaurant was overpriced for breakfast. Limited quality and options for $22+ tip and tax.

Pass this hotel by.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busdevoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear busdevoffice,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 km away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 km away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
2.2 km away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#7 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
3.0 km away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Property: Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Address: 300 N Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel. A full service southern California coastal hotel with resort style amenities. Conveniently located just 7 miles south of LAX, overlooking the Pacific Ocean between the King Harbor Marina and the Redondo Beach Pier. Complimentary WiFi for all guest rooms and public area; tennis court, Olympic size pool, and whirlpool on Harbor Terrace. Bike rental 7 days per week through concierge. Full 2-room fitness center. Completed $25M renovation of entire hotel in 2016 including guestrooms, lobby, meeting space, and new lobby bar – Harbor Bar+Bistro for light lunch and dinners. Breakfast in SOL. Choice of water view rooms, 350 sq ft, most with balcony. Selection of King or double Queen bedded rooms. Room safe and mini refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing