We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Hampton Inn regular guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is not up to Hampton Inn standards. While the room layout was good and it was spacious, the walls were paper thin. We heard voices from the rooms on both sides of us and every footstep from the room above. Also, the hotel is located on the outskirts of town, and the odor from the farms in the area was, at times, overwhelming.

The breakfast (normally one of the strong points for Hampton Inns) was mediocre, at best. Limited selection, hot items that were not very hot, unappealing fresh fruit selection and they did not restock as breakfast items were depleted.

While we will not stop frequenting the Hampton Inn chain, we will not return to this hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2nevadatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Had the opportunity to stay on a weekend business trip. Room was clean, breakfast buffet was a little lacking compared to other Hampton breakfast buffets (no meat, eggs pretty bland). TV selection of HD channels was pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed for a week while catching up with family nearby. We had a suite (the sofa bed was very comfy) but, being on the top floor, an engine noise (must have been on the roof) seemed to cut in and out very 20 minutes or so. Only other "complaint" were the paper cups, paper plates and plastic cutlery in the room and breakfast area, as opposed to old fashioned glass, china and silver. Maybe paper and plastic is a new paradoxical way of being eco-friendly? Overall it was quite good value and the service was very friendly, helpful and welcoming (and far superior to the staff at the nearby Enterprise Car Rental at Rohnert Park branch). Plenty of good value places to eat nearby and I could actually do some laps in the hotel pool.

Room Tip: Go for the suite, but not on the top floor.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatwellhavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This Hampton Inn is exactly what you're looking for as a base for the vineyard rich area, or as a stop along the way to relax and refresh for more adventure.

I stayed here as I was attending an event a town over, which had no available lodging. While this was a 20-30 minute drive away from my destination, the beautiful pastures and farmlands of this part of California made that drive seem like ten minutes! So it worked out quite well for me.

Some important notes: You will need a car to get around to eat. Since most people will be already traveling when deciding to stay here, but please do be advised. There are a lot of big-box stores in the area (Target, Costco) which actually became very convenient as those California nights can get chilly! There's plenty of fast food, quite a few restaurant chains, and a sushi bar right nearby. I was told it was very good, but I didn't get a chance to try it.

The service was friendly - and kind. I ran into an issue during checkout with my company's card authorization, and Kelly made sure I was very comfortable while she took care of it. I didn't really have to lift a finger to do anything!

Parking is free. Windows open a little bit to let the fresh country air in. WiFi is free and works well. The rooms are big, clean, appointed in a common Hampton Inn theme of light, airy and plenty of desk space.

The breakfast buffet was good - nothing spectacular but always plentiful and a nice perk to the Hampton Inn Chain.

This was great for a business trip, as it had everything I need. There were a lot of families and solo travelers there as well.

Room Tip: There is some freeway noise for those it bothers.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We had reached the end of our tether after a long day and frustrating search for another hotel and are so glad we gave up looking and booked in here. The front desk staff were so pleasant and friendly, the room spotless and the most comfortable of our stay and so we ended up staying for three nights. Considering it was in the middle of a retail park surrounded by traffic it was very quiet so we were able to sleep, something which I find difficult in my own bed at home in the country. The foyer was large and comfortable with a computer and printer for guests to use and cookies and popcorn were provided in the evenings. This was the only hotel we stayed in during three weeks, all at similar prices, where we had somewhere comfortable to sit in the evenings and a decent breakfast with the option of hot food other than toast and waffles - eggs, bacon, sausage., etc. But PLEASE can't you supply cutlery that isn't plastic and china rather than disposable plates. They're horrible to use and wasteful. That was positively the only thing I could possibly grumble about. Alexandra and Heather deserve a special mention for their friendliness. This was definitely the best hotel we stayed in on our three week trip. Thank you. You made such a difference.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plantfanciers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

When I checked in, the staff had my reservation and HHonors member number in the system and gave me the standard king room that I had reserved. The room was adequate, but lacked a refrigerator and/or microwave in the room. The staff was very helpful overall. The amenities lacked value as compared to other Hampton Inns/Hilton family hotels and other hotels outside of Hilton in the surrounding area, The pool area is small, the exercise room only had 3 pieces of equipment, and the guest laundry has one standard set of equipment for the entire property. The suite shop and business centers were very small for the size of clientele it handles. The bedroom had an over sized shower instead of a combo tub as described in the hotel listing. The breakfast was very good and the location was within 1 mile/2km of my favorite shops and restaurants. The rate that I paid did not match the value that I expected from other hotel properties in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank techtourdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

hmmm...where do i start? we booked this place as our last resort, better than motel stay, because we are attending a wedding reception at doubletree hotel, which was sold out! my husband and i drove up from los angeles last night and got in at about 2am! we were checked in pretty quickly and smoothly and got a regular king bed room on the first floor right next to the complimentary breakfast!! our first thought: nice but...a bit small. i was looking forward to their comfortable beds, but i was a bit worried our feet would dangle!! (in our minds, a king bed is huge and fluffy, but it was small and regular fluff: like a square queen size bed instead!) by the time we got settled in, we heard little kids running around above us in the hallways...we ignored it, the pillows are like mush! and something smelled last night: the sheets?? i'm a little disgusted even typing this...yes, there's free internet access, a FLAT screen tv (that's small), soap and stuff in the restrooms, pretty clean in room overall. the sink in the bathroom is made for taller people, mind you, i'm about 5'4, and i have to tippy toe as i brush my teeth and wash my face so i don't get it all over the counter that rounds out and sticks out!? (bad design) other than the counter, the overall bathroom was updated a bit. anyways, as far as the breakfast, average, but better than running to mcdonald's fast food. i am big on coffee, and the coffee was pretty disappointing. (like free coffee you get at hospital cafeterias, not starbucks quality). i drank pickwick brand tea instead, i need something real dark in the am! my husband was like, they are just missing meat in the breakfast. which mean, there was a hot waffle maker to make fresh waffles, other common continental pastries: i.e. regular store bought muffins, bagels, toast, and english muffins. the homemade part was scrambled eggs and potatoes, that i didn't care for, maybe i was stuffed from the carb overload of a bagel and waffle! i wish they had an omelet buffet, but oh well. as far as price, this place charged us close to $200, we used a AAA discount, but u will see on your bill, u get charged an in-room occ tax? and a tour assessment?, anyhows, its like 10% off. we are staying at a hyatt tonight in fremont for half the cost, and we will get a buffet style breakfast with everything else this place offered. so, just expect to overpay to stay here, but i guess, its because we are in "wine country" area. on last thought, the temperature in the room doesn't fill in the room fast enough! we got in at 2, and it was like 50 degrees outside, we came in here, cranked it up the heater to like 80, and didn't feel warm until like an hour later. and this morning, it got stuffy fast. i guess, old places...but don't get me wrong, the room does look updated, alrightly, enjoy i guess. only stay here if it is last resort!! (as far as a "nicer" hotel)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesheavenlybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rohnert Park
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
0.5 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#4 of 10 in Rohnert Park
702 reviews
8.2 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
#3 of 10 in Rohnert Park
449 reviews
1.5 km away
Oxford Suites Sonoma County - Rohnert Park
14.0 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County

Address: 6248 Redwood Dr, Rohnert Park, CA 94928-2019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range: $185 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County hotel is near the Sonoma State University and the Kendall-Jackson Wine Estates in California. Enjoy a free and hot breakfast every morning (with a free beverage area), rooms with free WiFi, a multi-lingual staff, pool, fitness room, business center, meeting space and free parking at our non-smoking hotel. Upgrade to a suite with a spacious living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Rohnert Park
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing